Has anyone experienced lags with Acekard 2 ?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by wilsonramal, Mar 20, 2009.

Mar 20, 2009
  1. wilsonramal
    OP

    Newcomer wilsonramal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Earth?
    Country:
    Peru
    Any lag or problematic game i should worry about when using acekard 2? (planning to buy one).

    °°|| I've heard many people saying GTA lags! [​IMG]
     
  2. geek_power

    Newcomer geek_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    Use AKAIO with a class 6 SDHC memory card, and you shouldn't have any lag problem.
     
  3. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    The AK2 loader doesn't lag, but AKAIO sometimes lags on the simplest things - I've gotten lag on AKAIO from running freaking Pheonix Wright but Grand Theft Auto runs smooth and fine...?
     
  4. Agent007

    Member Agent007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    theres no lag on acekard except that sometimes the loading is slow
     
  5. wilsonramal
    OP

    Newcomer wilsonramal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Earth?
    Country:
    Peru
    Cool! What about GTA ?
     
  6. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i've never had lag with anything using akaio and my ak2, ak2.1s, rpg. a list of games that people have lag with and save files would be nice =). gta runs smooth, i've had no issues at all. i'm using the dma-quicksave mode by default and all patches on with an 8gb transcend class6.

    -another world
     
  7. Nintendo DS Play

    Newcomer Nintendo DS Play Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Well i have 2 cards right now, a R4 and Acekard 2i
    so far, my R4 have not dissapoint me at all, i've never had problems with it and my games loads fine, lag free
    but when i got the Acekard 2i, i noticed lags in GTA. Not much but enough to be noticed, usually when i am moving around fast
    if i load GTA on my R4, no lags at all
    i've noticed the same difference in Ryuusei no Rockman 3 also, but the lag is inbetween the loading time such as battles or resets
    it just stays on a white screen for 2 to 10 seconds
    but not to say that Acekard 2i is a bad flash card, it plays my other games fine too
    i am just suspecting my micro sd card, or maybe the rom i downloaded but the lag really spoils the game for me =/
     
  8. radorn

    Newcomer radorn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Spain
    I have experienced lags in ak2.1 with 3 different microsd cards:
    8gb silicon power class4
    4gb transcend class6
    2gb kingston

    in both suikoden tierkreis and phantasy star 0, videos lag.
    audio finishes earlier than video in a manner unlike the originals.
    Some games may present small "gaps" where action stops for a split second when the game loads something from cart during gameplay. In my case I tried Kim Possible Kimmunicator. didn't like game, but in any case, during gameplay, in the lower screen, theres a menu that displays some "live" info, like messages and tips, and seems like they are loaded live from cart. Each time a new one is displayed, the game locks for a split second cuasing "stutter".

    The fun fact is I have a friend with a DSTT and the same card (2gb kingston), and in his case, the video in suikoden tierkreis suffers from audio lag instead, or maybe it's the video that plays too fast. however it may be, the video finishes early and the audio is cut off :|
     
  9. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    Use the panasonic sd formatter to fix any 'lag' youre experiencing.
     
  10. DoS

    Member DoS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Brazil
    I have a 4GB Transcend Class 6, an AK2i, and I do have some lag when killing multiple monsters in Castlevania OoE, and in Pokemon, and in GTA.

    Running in my R4 everything is much smoother, no lag at all.

    So yeah, I think Acekards do lag more than other cards, that's just the way it is.
     
  11. radorn

    Newcomer radorn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Spain
    did that, thanks, and didn't solve it.
     
  12. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    well you guys must be doing something wrong, ive had no lag ever
     
  13. gryto

    Member gryto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    New Zealand
  14. rumblesushi

    Newcomer rumblesushi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's strange that people seem to be reporting lag more with AK2 than other cards.

    However I tried GTA on my AK2.1, and it seems to run just as smooth as my DSTT, no slowdown, no jerkiness.

    This is using a 4gb class 4 card, with a 15mb/s transfer rate, and 1.5 second random access.
     
  15. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm using a class 2 8 gig sandisk. I.e. slowest and cheapest.
    No lag here.
     

Share This Page