ROM Hack Has anyone been able to get Hyne to work with final fantasy 8 remastered?

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,151
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
2,932
Country
United States
It looks like the steam remastered version can load original PC saves if you copy them over. Not sure how that gets us to the Switch though.
 

Bigkahuna28

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
36
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
169
Country
United States
should be the same i can test if you all want
just need a save file

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

ff8 file type
 

Taz030485

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
32
Country
Australia
I have posted my switch save file to the qhimm forum where hyne is developed, so hopefully they can update it to support switch save files soon.
 

yuno89

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
140
Country
Italy
I was going to ask exactly the same thing: it would be awesome if they will update Hyne to use it with Switch's saves.
 

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,151
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
2,932
Country
United States
I guess the steam remaster was specifically programmed to convert the old PC version files, because they won't inject via Edizon properly, nor can Hyne open exported switch saves as PC saves.
 

Falo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2012
Messages
680
Trophies
2
XP
2,612
Country
Germany
Switch saves and PC saves of the remaster are identical.
the difference is, pc stores some data external, while on Switch it's build into the save.

to convert a Switch save to PC:

- open ff8slot00 with a hex editor
- look at the first 4 bytes, it tells you how big the save is
- select 0x04 - length from the first 4 bytes (example: first 4 = 0x8D4, then select 0x4 - 0x8D7)
- save the selection as a new file with the extension ".ff8"

then you can open the switch save with Hyne.
the reverse also works, but you need to calculate the first 4 bytes after editing.
 

IMnoob

Ps4 & Switch Code Maker
Member
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Website
youtube.com
XP
917
Country
Indonesia
Switch saves and PC saves of the remaster are identical.
the difference is, pc stores some data external, while on Switch it's build into the save.

to convert a Switch save to PC:

- open ff8slot00 with a hex editor
- look at the first 4 bytes, it tells you how big the save is
- select 0x04 - length from the first 4 bytes (example: first 4 = 0x8D4, then select 0x4 - 0x8D7)
- save the selection as a new file with the extension ".ff8"

then you can open the switch save with Hyne.
the reverse also works, but you need to calculate the first 4 bytes after editing.
thanks falo :D.for the guide. now i can edit my save. This also applies to other slots, right?
 
Last edited by IMnoob,

IMnoob

Ps4 & Switch Code Maker
Member
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Website
youtube.com
XP
917
Country
Indonesia
Lucky you :D I still trying to understand which are the first 4 bytes:D This could be the first time I use a Hex editor but, at least until now, I'm stuck.
4 byte means colloum 04 / 5 row from left. on hex editor there are colloum 00 01 02 03 04 09 0a 0b 0c 0e 0f. so for your btye is colloum 04 on uper left
 
Last edited by IMnoob,
  • Like
Reactions: yuno89

alxrite

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
86
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
303
Country
United States
I want to understand this and I would like to do it on my own. But, I am stuck.

My first 4 bytes are 26 09 00 00 which would be 2342 file size right? So from here, I am unsure of where to copy and make a new file. How are you getting where to start and where to end to make the new .ff8 file?

Then the matter will be, when I am done with that, I just have to enter the hex amount into the first 4 bytes again to set the new file size so the game knows where to read the save from?
HBTxYAF
 

Attachments

  • Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    43.8 KB · Views: 374

alxrite

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
86
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
303
Country
United States
Oh ok. I think I got the first part!

Let me edit this and reverse it and I will share how to do it and help those that need it. Give me a minute, figuring it all out.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Step 1: Open your Hex editor (Mine is HxD) and open your Switch file ff8slot00
step1.jpg
Step 2: Look at the first 4 bytes: this tells you how long your save file is, no need to convert: Mine is 26 09 00 00 (read right to left) 00 00 09 26 Mine is 926
(If yours is something like: 34 08 00 00, it will be, 00 00 08 34 = 834​
step2.jpg

Step 3: Select 04 (byte)
step1.jpg
Step 4: In HxD I can right click and "Select Block" a byte: type in 926 (yours will/could be different)
Capture2.JPG
Step 5: It will highlight a block of code. Copy this and Ctrl+N to make a new file
Capture3.JPG
Step 6: Paste the block
Capture4.JPG
Step 7: Save the file to ff8slot00.ff8
Capture5.JPG
Step 8: Open in hyne
Capture6.JPG
Edit how you like!

Figured it out!

Step 9: After you have made the changes to your save file in Hyne. You will open the save back into your hex editor.
Capture8.JPG
Step 10: You will see the new file size, mine is 00 00 09 21 = 921.
Capture8.JPG
Step 11: Copy all the info, Ctrl+A
Capture3.JPG
Step 12: Go to the ORIGINAL ff8slot00 file from Step 1.
step1.jpg
Step 13: On byte 04 in my ORIGINAL ff8slot00 the byte is 22. Highlight that.
step1.jpg
Step 14: you will now right click and "Select Block" again. Now I would type in 921 as that is my new file size.
Capture7.JPG
Step 15: Paste in the new info Ctrl+B (Paste Write)
Capture10.JPG
Step 16: This left me with 5 bytes of extra data that was now not needed. I just typed in 00 00 00 00 00. This cleared the info on the end of the save file.

Step 17: Load your save file and if you did it right, you should be able to play the game with your new edits.

Notes: Your save file should be 10,244 when you are done editing. If it is lower or higher, you will need to go in just after your save info and add/delete some bytes. 1 byte per 1 you are off from 10,244. This should fix it if it is not loading or you are getting an error trying to boot the game. This is what happened to me and this is what I did to remedy it.

I hope this helps. Please feel free to message me if you need help!
 

Attachments

  • Capture9.JPG
    Capture9.JPG
    55.1 KB · Views: 279
Last edited by alxrite,

RazorDin

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
151
Country
United States
Oh ok. I think I got the first part!

Let me edit this and reverse it and I will share how to do it and help those that need it. Give me a minute, figuring it all out.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Step 1: Open your Hex editor (Mine is HxD) and open your Switch file ff8slot00
View attachment 178470
Step 2: Look at the first 4 bytes: this tells you how long your save file is, no need to convert: Mine is 26 09 00 00 (read right to left) 00 00 09 26 Mine is 926
(If yours is something like: 34 08 00 00, it will be, 00 00 08 34 = 834)​
View attachment 178471

Step 3: Select 04 (byte)
View attachment 178470
Step 4: In HxD I can right click and "Select Block" a byte: type in 926 (yours will/could be different)
View attachment 178472
Step 5: It will highlight a block of code. Copy this and Ctrl+N to make a new file
View attachment 178473
Step 6: Paste the block
View attachment 178474
Step 7: Save the file to ff8slot00.ff8
View attachment 178475
Step 8: Open in hyne
View attachment 178476
Edit how you like!

After I figure out how to reverse it, I will post it.

Thanks! Much easier to understand!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Khalyus

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,151
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
2,932
Country
United States
I'll leave alxrite to make a nice guide but...

The trick to importing a save into switch, aside from filling the first four bytes with the size of the actual save data, is you need to pad out the rest of the file. I think the idea is that all Switch ff8 save files must be the same size, which is 10,244 bytes. Edit: you can just insert a huge amount of 00s after the data to fill the file to end on hex offset 2803. Then I was able to import the save through Edizon and play it.

Also be sure to zero any custom controls or wierd configs inside your save with Hyne, the Switch doesn't have access to all the config options!
 
Last edited by Rahkeesh,
  • Like
Reactions: IMnoob

alxrite

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
86
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
303
Country
United States
actually there is an easy way , example my save
this is start offset for your save. always on colloum 4.



highligt / block all your offset from your 4 byte into end of line behind 00 00, after that copy those all and make new file. paste on it , rename it to what ever with extension.ff8
and open that new file on hyne, edit what ever u want. after finish editing on hyne, paste back your new file into your save,

If I do mine from my example, which would be 922 hyne will not open the new file with that info I paste as in the save I am missing 4 bytes of info. But, if I use 926, hyne opens the file and I can edit it. I am still figuring this out, so any info helps for sure.

I am able to edit it, I am just now trying to reverse it. I came back with 902 file size after editing. I pasted it in the switch file and erased the rest of the bytes with 00s. The game boots and I can pick the save, but the game freezes and I get green artifacts all over the screen. I am guessing I just need to leave the "junk" at the end of the file? Going to try some things now.

I'll leave alxrite to make a nice guide but...

The trick to importing a save into switch, aside from filling the first four bytes with the size of the actual save data, is you need to pad out the rest of the file. I think the idea is that all Switch ff8 save files must be the same size, which is 10,244 bytes. I don't know if you can use random junk or not, I just grabbed all the data from a PC save made by hyne (actually converted from my PS1 save) and put it at the end of my save to be converted. Then I deleted data from the very end to trim it down to 10,244 bytes, which is hex 2803. Then I was able to import the save through Edizon and play it.

Hey, any help is always appreciated. I am just trying to figure this out on my own and help out if I can. I like to learn things as I go so this is fun for me.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Ok... so I was able to edit mine and reverse it. But, I am not sure how I did it? I got lost and messed up my original save. Trying to repair it (because I was an idiot and didn't back it up) I was able to load the edit which before I was unable to do so. So, now I am going to try to figure out what I did.
 
  • Like
Reactions: IMnoob

IMnoob

Ps4 & Switch Code Maker
Member
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Website
youtube.com
XP
917
Country
Indonesia
If I do mine from my example, which would be 922 hyne will not open the new file with that info I paste as in the save I am missing 4 bytes of info. But, if I use 926, hyne opens the file and I can edit it. I am still figuring this out, so any info helps for sure.

I am able to edit it, I am just now trying to reverse it. I came back with 902 file size after editing. I pasted it in the switch file and erased the rest of the bytes with 00s. The game boots and I can pick the save, but the game freezes and I get green artifacts all over the screen. I am guessing I just need to leave the "junk" at the end of the file? Going to try some things now.



Hey, any help is always appreciated. I am just trying to figure this out on my own and help out if I can. I like to learn things as I go so this is fun for me.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Ok... so I was able to edit mine and reverse it. But, I am not sure how I did it? I got lost and messed up my original save. Trying to repair it (because I was an idiot and didn't back it up) I was able to load the edit which before I was unable to do so. So, now I am going to try to figure out what I did.
902 cant not be opened?
 
Last edited by IMnoob,

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: H