1. fromusofa

    OP fromusofa Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi,

    So recently I tried to install /hbg/ shop on my nintendo switch which was hardmodded (with kosmos), I wanted to update my cfw to the latest version to ensure that the nsp would install correctly as it was giving me an error that my fw was too low, after I updated the firmware from 8.0.1 to 9.1.0 with ChoiDujourNX, I rebooted my switch and it only got past the hekate boot screen but displayed a black screen after the Nintendo Switch logo and nothing else, rebooting didn't help either. I've also reinstalled Kosmos and /hbg/ shop entirely on my SD card but nothing works. Please help, I hardmodded my switch and am worried that I bricked it, I also don't have a backup.

    Thank you
     
  2. kylum

    kylum GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try replacing all contents of atmosphere and hekate to the latest. It’s best to update atmosphere and hekate; making sure everything works before updating the firmware. Also don’t forget to update patches as well(sweet patches & Kosmos/acid patches). I’ve been lazy and didn’t update to latest until last night and the whole process took like 5 mins.

    Not sure how exactly you are utilizing the modchip. What works best for me/ my preference is having the modchip load hekate as payload.bin then have hekate launch fusee-primary.bin. I don’t use kosmos. Although, how your using the modchip shouldn't have anything to do with your issue.
     
    Last edited by kylum, Jan 29, 2020
  3. bad361

    bad361 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    519
    Country:
    Russia
    Is your sd card formatted as fat32? If not, then have you checked "exfat" option while updating with choi?
     
    fromusofa and wiifii like this.
  4. ucef

    ucef GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Morocco
    i think you deleted the exfat support with choixdujour,you need a fat32 sd card to redo the update and choosing the exfat support
     
  5. fromusofa

    OP fromusofa Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    I've updated everything but Kosmos still doesn't work

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I never thought that I could have corrupted my exfat with installing a newer firmware in FAT32 mode. I'll try it! Thanks! :)
     
  6. bad361

    bad361 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    519
    Country:
    Russia
    Nothing got corrupted. You just installed a firmware without exfat support and thus atmos can't launch cause your sd is exfat.
     
    fromusofa likes this.
  7. sillz

    sillz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Canada
    Are you saying that when updating using ChoixdujoirNX with a FAT32 card, your still supposed to choose the exFAT option?
     
  8. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,549
    Country:
    Australia
    It's useful for helping debugging....
    It's recommended to use a fat32 card but to install with the exfat support incase the card is exfat

    From what it sounds like your card is in exfat format but the switch doesn't have exfat support at the moment

    Solution 1) Use a second SD card in fat32 to reinstall the firmware with choidujourNX as the exfat option

    Solution 2) backup your sd card, reformat it to fat32 using guiformat, then copy stuff back (files over 4gb won't copy, but games can be installed by usb now as the recommended method)
     
  9. fromusofa

    OP fromusofa Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    I see. Thanks!
     
  10. kylum

    kylum GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    Didn’t even think about that. You should definitely switch to Fat32 whether if that’s your problem or not. Hope you get it sorted!
     
  11. ucef

    ucef GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Morocco
    Of you start with a exfat one
     
  12. sillz

    sillz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Canada
    well that would make sence but I am not starting with a exFAT one, its FAT32. Would I still choose exFAT option?
     
  13. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,549
    Country:
    Australia
     
  14. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,573
    Country:
    United States
    There’s no reason not to, it doesn’t cause any issues, only reason not to use it is if you want to save a tiny bit of system memory for whatever reason I guess :P
    I always use it despite using a fat32 card (partially because I use the online updater which downloads exfat for me kek) unless I’m messing with firms that don’t have exfat or am hand making package2 partition images and forget the 81B title exists
     
  15. ucef

    ucef GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Morocco
    delete the "titles" folder inside the atmosphere folder
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Hardmodded, updating, firmware