Hard drives wont work on wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by kjb1686, Feb 8, 2011.

Feb 8, 2011

Hard drives wont work on wii by kjb1686 at 2:49 PM (1,930 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't know where to put this so here it is. Okay i have two hard drives a 320 seagate freeagent go and a 500 western digital passport both listed as working on the list on gbatemp. Okay heres my problem i plug in my western digital and wiiflow, cfg usb loader and usbloader gx wont recognize it also it makes a weird clicking noise on my wii but when i plug it into my computer it works fine. My freeagent also doesn't work but only on mplayer on usb loaders it works fine. I have defragmented both and that hasn't work. I have no idea what to do please help. Also in geexbox i got the freeagent to be recognized however as soon as i tried to open a folder it became unrecoginzed.
     
  2. Donkey Plonk

    Member Donkey Plonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And what exactly have you done to your wii? Do you have a cios installed. What do the loaders do? Just bring up partiton select screen? Or say usb not connected?

    I have a 500gb WD my passport, they work fine.

    Sounds like you should post up a sysCheck so we can see what you have installed as theres no reason it shouldn't work.
     
  3. RPG_Lover

    Newcomer RPG_Lover Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried other drives/devices with your wii's usb ports? Could be a port problem instead of a drive problem...
     
  4. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    As Donkey Plonk said, run sysCheck and paste the results here.
     
  5. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Okay i will run syscheck and then post the results sorry about the delay in my response i am on a slow internet connection. Edit i will do that in a couple hours i am going to go shovel my driveway.
     
  6. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Here is my report from syscheck

    sysCheck v2.0.1 by Double_A
    ...runs on IOS61 (rev 5405).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.2U (v481)
    Hollywood v0x21
    Console ID: 92666480
    Boot2 v4

    Found 155 titles.
    Found 39 IOS on this console. 9 of them are stub.

    IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 778): Trucha Bug
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS12 (rev 269): Trucha Bug
    IOS13 (rev 273): Trucha Bug
    IOS14 (rev 520): Trucha Bug
    IOS15 (rev 523): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 775): Trucha Bug
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 782): Trucha Bug
    IOS22 (rev 1037): Trucha Bug
    IOS28 (rev 1550): Trucha Bug
    IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
    IOS31 (rev 3349): Trucha Bug
    IOS33 (rev 3091): Trucha Bug
    IOS34 (rev 3348): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3349): Trucha Bug
    IOS36 (rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 3869): Trucha Bug
    IOS38 (rev 3867): Trucha Bug
    IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5406): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS55 (rev 5406): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS56 (rev 5405): Trucha Bug
    IOS57 (rev 5661): Trucha Bug
    IOS60 (rev 6174): No Patches
    IOS61 (rev 5405): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 6687): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS202 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS224 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS249 (rev 19): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250 (rev 20): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10

    Report generated on 2011/02/08.
     
  7. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
  8. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Im saying my cfg loader is up to date and that only my western digital isn't working and my seagate does work in usb loaders only. When i try to use it on a media player it doesn't read it.
     
  9. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried WiiMC?

    Edit: I noticed you don't have IOS58 installed. It is required for WiiMC.
     
  10. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    I have but it crashes to a code dump every time i have tried to use it so i gave up on it. Also i tried to install ios 58 using dop mii.
     
  11. gqzang

    Newcomer gqzang Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    What kind of file system are you using? NTFS or FAT32? I have two HDD, which if I use NTFS files system, WiiMC will crashes, and WiiMC works fine if I format them into FAT32. It seems that IOS58 is unstable on NTFS system.
     
  12. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i am running on ntfs on both drives. Edit i just installed cios v21 d2x v2 and ios 58 v6176 and it still doesn't work. It still makes the clicking noise only on my western digital and only on my wii not computer. I might order another cable and see if that is the problem
     
  13. gqzang

    Newcomer gqzang Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    One of my HDD also makes clicking noise when connected to Wii if it is Formatted into NTFS, but works fine with computer. I then formatted it into FAT32, it works well with WiiMC and WiiXplorer, where both of the applications use IOS58. The IOS58 on my Wii is v6175.
     
  14. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    NTFS is still troublesome for many applications....FAT32 is the way to go for the Wii. Also make sure you're using the correct usb port on the Wii.
     
  15. PE06MCG

    Newcomer PE06MCG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have both a WD and a Seagate 1TB HDD's working ok with wbfs, FAT or NTFS formatted partitions.
    Hopefully you have them externally powered and not usb powered?

    Make sure the selected partitions are 'primary' and also make sure your partition letter is still available (I sometimes lose its letter so it can't be seen by the Wii).
    Just create one in your preferred software (it will show as a question mark).

    Spent weeks blaming IOS this and that before realising my port #0 was iffy (sometimes it works, other times it won't)
    Ensure it is powered (the light on your card reader should show) if ok.
    If ok, great. Then plug in your HDD.

    If still no luck, try uLoader and use it to read via port 1.
    Amazing what IOS 222 etc can do for the Wii.
    I believe USB Loader GX v2.1 can also do this but needs to start from port0 first (unlike uLoader).
     
  16. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    um okay but this topic is more than a month old and i figured out the problem long ago (it was my cable) so okay i don't know why your posting in this topic now.
     
  17. PE06MCG

    Newcomer PE06MCG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pardon me.

    Please educate me, what is the time limit on posts?
     

Share This Page