Hard Drive Sleeping

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Venko, May 10, 2009.

May 10, 2009

Hard Drive Sleeping by Venko at 1:08 AM (2,698 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Buffalo DriveStation™ TurboUSB with Power Saving Mode (link). I've checked the wiki (which has unfortunately been down for a while now) and this was reported to work fine with the USB loader. However when playing games it tends to go to sleep then wake up a second later causing the game to freeze and me to have to start again. There doesn't appear to be any pattern with this other than that it will happen at some point (sometimes 5 minutes into the game, sometimes an hour).

    I've downloaded the applications on the hard drive's website and tried:[*]Disabling the power saving settings[*]Setting power saving to sleep after an hour of inactivityNeither of those solve the problem. I do not get this problem when plugged into my laptop but it is not related to any Buffalo software because I used the applications under Windows and normally run Ubuntu GNU/Linux on my laptop. I've also tried hdparm but it seems the drive doesn't use standard drive spindown settings so I can't manage the power saving feature with it.

    My only conclusion is that it's a problem with the USB loader software as the problem does not occur with my laptop or any of my friend's computers. Is there any chance someone with knowledge of the USB loader's internals can take a look at this and point me in the right direction or perhaps solve the problem with the loader? I'm happy to assist by testing adaptions with my hard drive + Wii.
     


  2. dlxowhd

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    i was also gonna get the buffalo 2.5" 500gb one for usbloader (was on sale) but my friend got it first and it had the same problem you are talking about so i decided to go with something else and it has been great.
    my buddy also returned the buffalo and exchange it.. now all is well.
     
  3. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    It's not the loader since other people aren't having the same problems. Question: If you set the spindown to be off, disconnect the drive from your PC, then reconnect it, does the setting remain or does it need to be set again? Perhaps the setting is getting lost when it's disconnected from the PC?
     
  4. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, the setting remains. I have to insist that this is a problem with the loader as it doesn't occur on either Windows or GNU/Linux. Unfortunately I have no understanding of how the process works otherwise I'd attempt to modify the loader myself.

    What drive can lots of people recommend for use with the USB loader? I use my Buffalo drive for other things so could always buy a 200GB drive for the Wii but don't want to have similar problems. Thus I would appreciate it if a widely used and fully supported HDD could be referenced here. Thanks.
     
  5. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    Seagate FreeAgent Go if you want small and USB powered.
     
  6. denpanosekai

    Newcomer denpanosekai Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Canada
    God, I was JUST about to buy the drive when I saw this thread. Has no one found a solution for it? Why was it marked as working on the Wiki? and what the HELL is up with the wiki anyway???
     
  7. mickthestud

    Member mickthestud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Australia
    just go with the western digital my passport it works flawleessly no spin down issues whatsoever , its relatively cheep as an added bonus it comes in white to match your wii..
     
  8. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's odd. The western digital is the same price as the Seagate FreeAgent Go on Amazon.
     
  9. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    And the Seagate has a 5 year warranty vs. a 3 year for the WD. My WD Passport Essentials did have a spindown issue and I had to open it up to fix it. There's no reason in hell you should take a chance with the WD.
     
  10. dlxowhd

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    there have been countless reports of wd passport essentials spindown issues... and even youtube videos on how to fix them (you have to open your drive up).
     
  11. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ..the Seagate 320GB FreeAgent Go Portable Blue as they're the same price, it has a longer warranty and should work out of the box. Thanks for your help, everyone [​IMG]
     
  12. mestapho

    Member mestapho GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    United States
    Only on drives larger than 320 GB. The smaller drives work flawlessly straight from the box.
     
  13. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,350
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    give it some pep pills [​IMG]
     
  14. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can someone confirm that only happens with WD? The Seagate 320GB FreeAgent Go Portable Blue USB 2.0 that I'm going to buy will work fine, right?
     
  15. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,350
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i wouldn't recommend to buy any WD drives. some work and some don't and you can't tell which one your going to get before you buy it.
     
  16. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    The issue exists with ALL hard drives. The difference is that most Seagate and Maxtor drives can be fixed very easily by running a utility that turns off the spindown feature. So yes, it will work fine assuming you configure it to not go to sleep.
     
  17. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  18. denpanosekai

    Newcomer denpanosekai Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, wow. I am totally confused as to which drive I should buy now. I absolutely want one that's self-powered.
     
  19. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    why are you confused? The 100% best option is stillll the seagate freeagent go drives.. 320gb for example.. usb powered, sleep mode OFF, etc. Seagate is the ONLY one with a direct tool that works thru usb mode!
     
  20. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     

Share This Page