Official hakchi2 - NES Mini very simple pimp tool

youngtune27

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
573
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
170
Country
United States
Hmmm… okay. Here’s the chronology:

When hakchi 2.12 was released, I updated immediately and installed retroarch .hmod from Cluster in my HDD -- let’s call this Folder A. At that time I had GB, GBC & Genesis worked well.

When I had issue about “too many roms” and tried to look for the cause (later was proven that it was my ignorance after all), in a separate folder (call it Folder B), I uninstalled the retroarch .hmod, flashed the original kernel back, reinstalled 2.12 again, but this time instead of Cluster’s .hmod, I installed pcm270’s retroarch .hmod and several .hmods for GBA and N64. As for the result, all NES and GBA roms run well, but with the issue of some original games are located at the root instead of inside the sub folders. I did not happy with the result, so I uninstalled all the .hmods and deleted the entire Folder B.

I got back to Folder A, fixed “too many roms” issue with the help from you and others as well as the previous custom folder issue. It was the last setting that I had, which none of GB, GBC & Genesis roms were able to load, while GBA rom is still playable.

Where did I mess things up? Thank you.
Since you installed pcms mod I really don't know. I still have clusters and just changed out cores myself. Have no idea what pcm has done to his mod. It's why I don't get other people's mod. I can change my core in just like 2 min.
 

maande80

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
202
Trophies
0
XP
222
Country
Indonesia
Since you installed pcms mod I really don't know. I still have clusters and just changed out cores myself. Have no idea what pcm has done to his mod. It's why I don't get other people's mod. I can change my core in just like 2 min.

Let’s say if I put pcm’s mods that I used in Folder B inside Folder A’s user_mods, then uninstall those mods, then flash the original kernel back, and start all over from the beginning, and install 2.12 along with what Cluster had provided, will this be solved?
 

nenned

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
36
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
40
Country
United States
Anyone else having sound effects issues with snes9x2005? Castlevania IV, in particular, is awful. The music is fine, but all the sound effects have been changed and are all of a far lesser quality. Sounded fine in 2010, but much worse in 2005
 
Last edited by nenned,

youngtune27

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
573
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
170
Country
United States
Let’s say if I put pcm’s mods that I used in Folder B inside Folder A’s user_mods, then uninstall those mods, then flash the original kernel back, and start all over from the beginning, and install 2.12 along with what Cluster had provided, will this be solved?
Depends on what cores you are wanting really
 

maande80

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
202
Trophies
0
XP
222
Country
Indonesia
Depends on what cores you are wanting really

I think I’ll be fine with just GB, GBC & Genesis roms, considering I don’t have a classic controller to play games with more buttons.


Can someone tell Cluster that window XP and Vista don't work with update 2.12

As far as I'm experiencing, Windows XP can open hakchi 2.12 window but fail to add games (it says "unhandled exception has occurred in your application").
 
Last edited by maande80,

stojan

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
38
Country
Slovenia
I have installed retroarch and use_nestopia mods.

Then i wrote " --retroarch" in the end of the command line of all My EU games.

When i try to start any of the EU games i just get black screen for a second and then im back in the menu... :(

What am i doing wrong?
try --retroarch --core nestopia
 
  • Like
Reactions: Maurobr76

chillmodious

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Messages
218
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
94
Country
United States
Let’s say if I put pcm’s mods that I used in Folder B inside Folder A’s user_mods, then uninstall those mods, then flash the original kernel back, and start all over from the beginning, and install 2.12 along with what Cluster had provided, will this be solved?
Look at pcm's comment to me and lakerfanalways on page 282. You might just want to uninstall hakchi (which it sounds like will remove all mods and cores too), then start over. Your game info should still all be in the hakchi program, and you'll just need to install the mod and cores you want again and then re-sync your games.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

In your case it's better to uninstall hakchi via Kernel —> Uninstall and keep the hacked kernel. Then just synchronize games, install retroarch.hmod, snes9x2010.hmod and gambatte.hmod (GB/C core). You can install them all at the same time unless you want to use "use_*.hmod" modules. These need to be installed separately after the cores.

I'm not sure what you mean by "keep the hacked kernel." Isn't the point of uninstalling to remove the hacked kernel? Or does the uninstall just wipe it (i.e. no need to flash original kernel)? Next, you're saying to sync the games before reinstalling the three hmod files, but don't the hmod files need to be installed through hakchi first? I also don't know what you mean by the "use_*.hmod" modules. I'm sure it's a simple answer, but aren't the modules what you just told me to install (retroarch.hmod, snes9x2010.hmod, gambatte.hmod)? Sorry I'm so confused over here, and thank you for taking the time to help everyone...Cluster spoiled a lot of us by making the prior versions virtually idiot-proof! 2.12 is awesome, but the add-ons and module system have introduced a lot of pitfalls (there's an unintended but great pun there lol).
 

Lakerfanalways

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
887
Trophies
0
XP
340
Country
United States
Look at pcm's comment to me and lakerfanalways on page 282. You might just want to uninstall hakchi (which it sounds like will remove all mods and cores too), then start over. Your game info should still all be in the hakchi program, and you'll just need to install the mod and cores you want again and then re-sync your games.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



I'm not sure what you mean by "keep the hacked kernel." Isn't the point of uninstalling to remove the hacked kernel? Or does the uninstall just wipe it (i.e. no need to flash original kernel)? Next, you're saying to sync the games before reinstalling the three hmod files, but don't the hmod files need to be installed through hakchi first? I also don't know what you mean by the "use_*.hmod" modules. I'm sure it's a simple answer, but aren't the modules what you just told me to install (retroarch.hmod, snes9x2010.hmod, gambatte.hmod)? Sorry I'm so confused over here, and thank you for taking the time to help everyone...Cluster spoiled a lot of us by making the prior versions virtually idiot-proof! 2.12 is awesome, but the add-ons and module system have introduced a lot of pitfalls (there's an unintended but great pun there lol).

Yeah I went ahead and did that..did the uninstall and started all over again..then I went into modules to install the modules..I installed picodrive, snes9x2010, retroarch, snes9x2005 and I synced the NES..now Im assuming I have to go back into modules and install the ones that have USE, like USE_Nestopia, USE_picodrive, and USE_snes9x2005?
Edit: Just for curiosity I went back into Install new modules..and even though I did install picodrive, snes9x2010, retroarch, snes9x2005 it still shows up on the list..so its not like I have to check them off again right..just go ahead and click on the USE ones and press OK?
 
Last edited by Lakerfanalways,

uncas

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
24
Country
United States
RetroArch module and cores were updated:
https://github.com/pcm720/retroarch-clover/releases/tag/0.4-extra
Changes:
  • A lot of FDS fixes and shell optimizations (including the ones from Cluster)
  • Some cores were updated from Lakka distribution for RPi 2/3
  • Added PicoDrive, SNES9x2005, DOSBox, MAME 2000, MAME 2003 and Mednafen NGP cores.
Thank @asper for MAME 2003, DOSBox and NGP and @nesito for MAME 2000, DOSBox and Caprice32 update

As always, read the instructions.
If you're having troubles with this release, try to uninstall hakchi completely. To do this, in Hakchi2, press Kernel —> Uninstall, do not restore the original kernel.
Synchronize your games and then install the modules you need.

@pcm720 First, I have to say thanks for all this work. This is amazing and I'll donate to you, Cluster and madmonkey this week. I went modded my NESCE for the first time using your mod, added retroarch and core mods I wanted, then added the 3 use_* mods and then added ROMs with custom folders. It went pretty smooth although I ran into a slight issue with my 3d box art and number of ROMs but the space warning told me trim the list. In the end, I was able to load 342 games total:
- 1 32X game
- 6 N64 games
- 246 NES games
- 58 Genesis games
- 30 SNES games

I do have a minor issue. I can go into Retroarch and see the 6 cores I added via mods in addition to the Nestopia and FCEUmm cores. However, I am not sure the use_* mods worked. My Star Wars Arcade 32X game when started from the menu goes to black screen and immediately back to menu But it can load from Retroarch if I go load the picodrive core and then load the game from Retroarch. So I am not sure if I did something wrong when trying to install use_picodrive and am not sure if other use_* mods are installed. Here is what I did for my first time through the process:

1. Used Hachki to dump my initial/stock kernel.
2. Flashed hacked kernel.
3. Sync'd just default games (didn't add any).
4. Added retroarch and 6 cores via install mods and sync'd.
5. Tried to add use_* mods for 3 default cores (nestopia, snes9x2005, picodrive) and sync'd.
6. Installed CloverApp, all my games and custom folders (with custom folder art).
7. Final sync games.

Is there a way to verify they are installed? Or if I need to install again, how do I do that? Do I have uninstall them somehow before installing again or just select to install a second time? The Hachki never shows what mods I have installed currently. It always shows blank checkmarks for all mods in the install mods menu. So I am not sure if repeating a mod install is a problem.

Finally, N64 games are sluggish so I assume the only way to set default GLupeN64 core for all those games is to add "--retroarch --core glupen64" to the end of the command arguments for each game, correct?

Thanks in advance for the assistance.
 

chillmodious

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Messages
218
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
94
Country
United States
Yeah I went ahead and did that..did the uninstall and started all over again..then I went into modules to install the modules..I installed picodrive, snes9x2010, retroarch, snes9x2005 and I synced the NES..now Im assuming I have to go back into modules and install the ones that have USE, like USE_Nestopia, USE_picodrive, and USE_snes9x2005?
Edit: Just for curiosity I went back into Install new modules..and even though I did install picodrive, snes9x2010, retroarch, snes9x2005 it still shows up on the list..so its not like I have to check them off again right..just go ahead and click on the USE ones and press OK?

See this is exactly where I get confused time and again. I'm unclear on the whole USE_**** thing. Didn't you already install the modules with the cores you wanted? Why do it again? And regarding your last question, all hmod files/folders in the user_mods folder will show up unchecked every time you go to the Install new modules menu, so you need to keep track of what you've already installed.
 

maande80

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
202
Trophies
0
XP
222
Country
Indonesia
Look at pcm's comment to me and lakerfanalways on page 282. You might just want to uninstall hakchi (which it sounds like will remove all mods and cores too), then start over. Your game info should still all be in the hakchi program, and you'll just need to install the mod and cores you want again and then re-sync your games.

In my case, uninstalling hakchi2 2.12 still left me some mods that were used in my second time of installation. Gotta test for every single possibility, though. Thanks.
 

youngtune27

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
573
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
170
Country
United States
My nes just maxed out. Said 321mb was too much so deleted a few games and I believe it's around 310mb before it let me sync again
 

ZaMaster

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Age
45
Location
Netherlands
Website
www.gamestalker.nl
XP
770
Country
Netherlands
Got it to work was CRT that did it for me :( and thats sad because i think the games look better with that. And have a bit of "lag" with nestopia. But atleast the games works fine.

I'm not sure if the .glsl shaders are going to work with this Retroarch setup, but I'm going to try out CRT-Royale and CRT-Geom and see if those will work.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://piunikaweb.com/2022/01/15/nvidia-shield-tv-plex-and-other-apps-not-working-after-android-...