Hacks still will not load after running channel on Gecko OS

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by smashdude, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. smashdude
    OP

    Member smashdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    Hello someone told me that in order to run my downloaded SNES/N64 hacks I needed to run that channel on Gecko OS (the lastest one). Well I did that but the message said "SD card found no codes". Where am I supposed to put these codes? I have them in the codes folder. What else can I use for a solution to this? What are the different code applications that I can download (list the names please)? I have acclio and code downloader adn ocarina and mega code downloader but those don't seem to work. I want to load the codes badly. Do I need to re-configure the rebooter options and if so which ones do I change and to which status? Brawl+ works fine I believe.
     


  2. terminal_illness

    Member terminal_illness Dark Hadou Master

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Canada! Mah Fukas!
    Country:
    Canada
    you need 2 folders on root, "txtcodes" and "codes"

    the .txt files go in txtcodes.

    then you need to load up a program like "wiicm" that will turn the the codes you select in the .txt file into a .gct(wich goes in "codes" folder.
     
  3. smashdude
    OP

    Member smashdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    Is WiiCM 2.1 a good code downloader program? And if not tell me which one I should google and download please. I can turn the codes all on with one simple click right?
     
  4. terminal_illness

    Member terminal_illness Dark Hadou Master

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Canada! Mah Fukas!
    Country:
    Canada
    download them from http://geckocodes.org/ and transfer them to your sd card.

    codedownloader apps for wii dont work good... i havent found one that works well.
     
  5. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
  6. smashdude
    OP

    Member smashdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    Can't I get gecko codes on my wii then download them there? And after that I turn on "code manager"? I believe I already have txt codes but the SD card does not recognize them when I load them from gecko. Keep in mind I want n64/snes codes for my virtual console games.

    Guys I have Acclio hacks but there are so few games that work for codes. N64 ONLY has SSB and that doesn't even hae NTSC so I have to set the codes to region free and download both. What do I do? Can't I use get a geckocodes download folder off of HBC if that's what you mean?

    I HAVE them on my text codes folder but they still aren't loading. ARRRRRGH
     
  7. smashdude
    OP

    Member smashdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    What do I do guys? I have the codes already in my text codes folder but when I load them via gecko OS it shows no codes were found.
     
  8. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    The TXT files are just the code lists. They do nothing.

    Use something like Code Manager (you can get it from the homebrew browser) and turn the codes on. It will make a .GCT file in X:\codes.
    The GCT files are the ones Gecko OS loads. They are just the codes stored in hex.

    Hope I helped. If not, PM.
     
  9. smashdude
    OP

    Member smashdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    They are in codes folder too.
     
  10. guinness

    Member guinness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  11. smashdude
    OP

    Member smashdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    Have uploaded them via code manager.
     
  12. guinness

    Member guinness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Aaaaaaaaand, what? Please elaborate. Are the gct foles in the \codes folder?
     
  13. smashdude
    OP

    Member smashdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    Yep and it overwrote my brawl wiird codes since the downloaded codes included different ones. So I am confused on which codes it would take into account. I have code manager 1.1,
     
  14. guinness

    Member guinness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What are the filenames of the GCT files?
     
  15. smashdude
    OP

    Member smashdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    Some random letttering which I don't know what they correspond to.
     
  16. smashdude
    OP

    Member smashdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    They are inside folders within folders of the codes folder.
     
  17. guinness

    Member guinness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The random letters are the game ID.
    Move the GCT files to \codes folder. Play game. Done.
     
  18. smashdude
    OP

    Member smashdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    They are in the codes folder already but are in folders within folders and in different regions too.
     
  19. guinness

    Member guinness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  20. smashdude
    OP

    Member smashdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    The GCT is already IN the codes folder. They are just within files within the codes folder and some are taken out.
     

Share This Page