HackmMii Installer 0.7 conspiracy? (kinda)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Fudge, Jul 27, 2010.

Jul 27, 2010
  1. Fudge
    OP

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't write this, taken from another forum, but I thought it would be cool to share with you guys.

     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Uhh, no.
     
  3. Kryptical

    Member Kryptical GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I didn't update yet because of that reason. It seems to break Waninkoko's CIOS and thats about it.

    Thanks for the theory!
     
  4. LocoRoco

    Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Australia
    it doesnt affect anything .....except priiloader ability to boot into hbc...since the title id was changed for hbc
     
  5. Kryptical

    Member Kryptical GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I was reading other people's posts and seems like some people had to reinstall Waninkoko and Hermes. I don't know, i'll just wait on this.
     
  6. megazig

    Member megazig SU

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    this is why I find gbafail hilarious. TT even left a nice feature that removes the need for cIOS and people still compain and make false accusations
     
  7. Fudge
    OP

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I installed it. Nothing different yet, but I really want to know what the surprise is.
     
  8. crwys

    Member crwys GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't have to reinstall anything and cios, ect. still works. This includes installing wads and bla bla bla. Theres nothing wrong with it >.>
     
  9. Kryptical

    Member Kryptical GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I have 2 Wii's. One of them I had to reinstall Waninkoko's CIOS the other one is not updated yet.
     
  10. twig123

    Member twig123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    United States
  11. helaciouscrumb

    Newcomer helaciouscrumb Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    LOL, contradict yourself much. C'mon people this is nothing but a good thing, no need to fuel any rumors.
     
  12. twig123

    Member twig123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    United States
    Apparently 15min (between first and last post) was enough time to reconsider and try installing it...
     
  13. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    No need to reinstall cios, no need to reinstall any forwarder... why it should???

    People are inventing problems and then fixing I guess, If they get corrupted cios how they are reinstalling them by the way?
     
  14. luminalace

    Member luminalace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Country:
    Australia
    So priiloader won't boot into new HBC? I don't know if I should wait for new piiloader or take the plunge and see what all the fuss is about!
     
  15. bwillb

    Member bwillb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    If you're that paranoid, you should just completely uninstall HBC and bootmii. I mean, they could have put hidden code in old versions and not mentioned it!
     
  16. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    people are idiots, the less they understand things, the more they think they know

    incompatibilities are most likely due to user errors
    off course they changed title ID so it's gonna broke some stuff
     
  17. s3phir0th115

    Member s3phir0th115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt they'd go that far. If they did they'd be no better than Nintendo, deciding what one should or shouldn't have on their Wii. (A past statement of theirs proves that they share the same idea.)

    With regards to needing a clean IOS for the homebrew channel, un-needed at best, but even with that and the hackmii installer, they still did not decide to axe a system's cios content if it was found before. I doubt they'd start now.

    If they replaced DVDX, I'm sure they have other interesting ideas in store.
     
  18. ChokeD

    Member ChokeD The Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    967
    Country:
    United States
    I got no side effects and I jumped balls in first. On my test Wii. [​IMG]
     
  19. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    Absolutely no problems with installing WADs or using USB backups on the new Homebrew Channel. cIOS Rev 17, by the way.
     

Share This Page