[Hacking] New to the Nintendo DS/3DS Hacking Scene!

Discussion in '3DS - ROM Hacking, Translations and Utilities' started by [GBATemp]~IceStorm, Aug 5, 2015.

1. [GBATemp]~IceStorm
    OP

[GBATemp]~IceStorm Banned

Banned
    Oct 29, 2013
    United States
    yo mama's house
    I am new to the Nintendo DS/3DS Hacking scene. I want to know more about the DS and 3DS consoles, their internal structure (both hardware and software). The main reason is I want to create exploits and homebrew applications. However, I am not a complete noob. I know about flashcarts and I have a thorough knowledge in C++ and I am beginning to learn devkitARM and libnds.

Does anyone have any links where I can learn about the 3DS/DS, preferably a link for a beginner AND a more advanced link about both the hardware and software aspects of these two consoles for exploiting?

(Please Note: I know pretty much nothing about the hardware or software of these consoles; I didn't even know how many cores the DS had [1] or what NAND was)

2. [GBATemp]~IceStorm
    OP

Banned
    Oct 29, 2013
    United States
    yo mama's house
    EDIT: Does this work on version 9.9?

3. gunner007

gunner007 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

Dec 31, 2013
    United States
    It's a hardware modification to the NAND. System Menu version is irrelevant. Well it's relevant in the fact that you can't do anything on 9.9.

You should read up on ARM assembly and get to learn how it operates, registers, ROP, and have a general understanding of assembly code and other basic computer programming skills (heap, arrays, etc...)

You're better off finding a 9.2 or less console, as your 9.9 is useless, even with the mod as you have no way of decrypting anything you dump.