Hacked To Life -- a Drawn To Life save tool

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by cracker, Oct 5, 2007.

Oct 5, 2007
  1. cracker
    OP

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    Hacked To Life is a program that allows you to manipulate Heroes from your Drawn To Life save file

    It supports:
    * Loading/saving Drawn To Life saves (raw .sav)
    * Importing pictures (.bmp, .jpeg, .gif)
    * Saving pictures (.bmp)
    * Importing/Exporting Hero data (.dtl)

    Usage:
    Load up a raw .sav file from Drawn To Life. On the left drag and drop pictures to use as parts
    to import into your Hero. On the right side drag and drop a picture to import the entire Hero.
    You can make the pixels of the same color transparent by right clicking on one of the pixels
    of that color. (Re)name your character if you want -- illegal names will show as strange
    tiles. Save the .sav and play with your new Hero!

    Notes:
    Use at your own risk. Always keep a backup of your original save file just in case!

    I spent a lot of time on this program and would appreciate any feedback, comments, etc.



    Download it here.
     


  2. Mars

    Member Mars Radioactive Propaganda Minister

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, awesome program, thanks. I'll try it out later today.
     
  3. shootme

    Newcomer shootme Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Norway
    Getting startup error: component 'comdlg32.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid

    running windows vista
     
  4. Remy669

    Member Remy669 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Netherlands
    "Component 'comdlg32.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid"

    [​IMG] Why doesn't it work? [​IMG]
     
  5. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I prayed for this and the lord Cracker gave it us.

    Getting the same error sadly though.
     
  6. alcaholjunkie

    Member alcaholjunkie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That looks like a vb runtime file to me. [​IMG] can easily just download the neccesary files the app needs. If it is vb runtimes, can downlaod the vb runtime pack from microsoft website.
     
  7. Neko

    Member Neko Been a while.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    #gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    Nice tool!

    Tried it but i got this error :

    Runtime Error "9":
    Subscript out of Range

    And before it tells me that my save is bigger.^^
    I use a 512kb one on my SCSD.
     
  8. VVoltz

    Member VVoltz The Pirate Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,727
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    Bolivia
    Great!

    Finally some good looking d*cks all over the game LOL.
     
  9. Tripp

    Member Tripp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    South East Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Very Cool, will try this when I get home... [​IMG]
     
  10. alcaholjunkie

    Member alcaholjunkie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The size of the save should be 256KB (2mbit save) which would be why it's saying that your save is bigger. [​IMG]
     
  11. cracker
    OP

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    I fixed the code causing the subscript out of range error. It was due to having a color loaded that was off the chart in terms of it's value. This indicates that the SC saves are more than just mere overdumps and that extra data is added to the beginning -- thus the address is not the same for these saves = it won't work on SC saves and they need to be converted. I could take a look at the save file if you want to send me it.
     
  12. Neko

    Member Neko Been a while.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    #gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    Here's my save if it's any use to you! [​IMG]

    DL


    Maybe someone could convert it for me ? ^^

    €dit:
    The fixed version works! (loading , got no time to try saving. [​IMG] )
     
  13. cracker
    OP

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    Actually DATA loaded up fine. [​IMG] So it will handle SC saves it looks like. Note that it will still save to a standard DTL save size (256K) so you will probably want to use a copy of your 512K .sav file to insert the new data into so your SC will take it.
     
  14. jelbo

    Member jelbo Ōkami!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Cool, nice tool:

    [​IMG]

    Shame the game kinda sucks. I'd love a Mario Kart DS logo editor ;P
     
  15. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    can we import a bmp for characters? ifso, this would rock

    Edit: Sorry, i'm an idiot:P

    i'm going to use this as soon as i get my ds back:)
    you could also try and figure out the way to edit the weapons and submarines and such
     
  16. KarmaUK

    Member KarmaUK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  17. cracker
    OP

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try to find where they are stored at once I get to the point where I can draw them. I just 'played' far enough to draw the Heroes and that was it. [​IMG]
     
  18. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    ok, cool:)

    if you dont mind me asking, how do you figure out this stuff? are the colours assigned valuses and you just make a block of white everytime and examine whats changed with some sort of comparer thing?
     
  19. cracker
    OP

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty close. I flood filled each body part with a different color and then looked at the save in a hex editor. I searched for the name of the Hero and it was easy to find the area of the save where the sprites are stored because they are just a bit down from that. It was a repeating string of characters up until where it changed to the next body part so I figured it was stored on a bit level. I looked at the values in bits and then figured out it was using 5 bits per pixel with the indexes of the color palette being set up the same as they are in the chart in the game. Then just had to figure out how many bits were for each part, offsets to use, and placements of all the parts. The binary manipulation is what takes a bit of time between slot switching, loading, saving BTW. VB isn't good at real binary manipulation unfortunately. [​IMG] But sure saves a lot of time in other areas of programming.
     
  20. Scytheandsickle

    Member Scytheandsickle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Same, then it closes without exporting the hero. Is there a way to import the BMP?
     

Share This Page