Hack xBox via firmware

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Rikai, Jun 10, 2011.

Jun 10, 2011

Hack xBox via firmware by Rikai at 2:53 PM (1,143 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Rikai
    OP

    Newcomer Rikai Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Soon to be FT Jackson
    Country:
    United States
    All I would like to do is play some backed up games (my brothers ringed my MW2 and my black ops) and i was wanting to flash the firmware to allow that. But I only have a laptop [​IMG]

    Is there a way to do it via laptop? Its an xBox 360 Elite bought Christmas of '09.





    Also. Has anyone have any issues after the last update? My xBox won't read a few discs, no matter what I do. Even newly purchased ones
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,747
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Christmas of '09 means little. Chances are it is some form of liteon though but I would not like to guess what one without knowing manufacture date (it will be on the back with the barcode).

    Can you do it on a laptop- sure PCMCIA via 6421 sata cards exist (the main chipset people use to flash things) although you will pay a premium for them. I will say do try to find a PC though- if it runs XP reasonably well and has a PCI slot get a PCI card instead as it is usually a lot less hassle.

    Minor problem- normally it would be fine but MS unleashed protections on Modern Warfare 2 and Black ops in the previous update to the current one and improved it again last update (you need to be up to date to play on live).
    You are going to have to use the hacked firmware known as LT+ (something that only really bothers people with an existing collection of backups) but those can not be run until we have new patches and to my knowledge those have not been generated yet (waiting on new backup firmwares). All the other games aside from those two, Halo Reach, need for speed hot pursuit, Assassin's creed brotherhood and Fable 3 will work though.
    Also if you care about live we are waiting on a hacked firmware update to try and make it safe for live use (the present version will work but is not safe any more).
    Normally it is fine but you have chosen to join the hacked firmware world at an interesting time.

    You can recover scratched discs however and if not go rent/borrow a copy, install that to the hard drive and use the scratched discs as authentication tokens.

    Edit: also what Armadillo says. Can't believe I forgot about that.
     
  3. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can always go with the x360usb pro and do it over usb if they must use the laptop and can't find a via card for it. Although I'd probably go for the x360usb pro anyway, designed for the job, so no chance of it being stupid like sata setups can (not detecting drive, freezing etc).
     
  4. neotank19

    Member neotank19 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
  5. Rikai
    OP

    Newcomer Rikai Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Soon to be FT Jackson
    Country:
    United States
    a dekstop PC is outta the question for me, unless a 533MHz with 128mb of RAM counts [​IMG]. but it runs XP! [​IMG]

    I don't really care if it fails live detection and is banned; I'm getting a new console after basic anyway. It was manufactured 10/9, if I'm reading this correctly
     

Share This Page