1. MaxNuker

    MaxNuker GBATemp's Official Shinigami Substitute
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    619
    Country:
    Portugal
    im thinking about getting a new psp 3000 from a retail store ( maybe game or gamestop or FNAC [dont know if you know the last one, its a mutimedia shop, sells books, music cd's, consoles,etc]) what are the chances i get a 9g and even if i get one, what are the chances of getting one that has firmware >6.35? :S
     
  2. mollekemiel

    mollekemiel Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    @hunter291

    in short, psp (motherboard ?-) moddels needs a minimum ofw.
    its a drivers "issue". lower fw doesnt contains the drivers for that type of motherboard (and FW's are backwards compatible so the newer ones contains drivers for all the older types of psps)

    for the 300x "9g" (9e generation) moddels this is 6.30.
    if you try to install an OFW lower than de mininum you can brick your toy.

    complete list here : http://forums.pspslimhacks.com/tutorials/9...y-firmware.html

    So if you buy a new (300x)psp and it contains OFW 6.3O, changes are high you have a 9g moddel and you cannot downgrade to 6.20 to install 6.20 PROB5 and you can only use the 6.35 PROB5

    Or use the psp module checker to be sure
     
  3. hunter291

    OP hunter291 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    780
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    thanks for mollekemiel for helping me so much with my tutorial [​IMG] Max, if you buy a new one, the chances it is 9g is very high. if your psp comes with fw 6.30, don't downgarde, as mollekemiel said. in this case, you can only install the 6.35 PRO-B5
     
  4. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045
    Country:
    Italy


    WOW......................I just got my PSP3000............Just WOW.........!
    First, I checked the firmware, and to my surprise and delight, it was 6.20 !!!!!!!!!!!
    Second, I installed the 6.20 Pro B5 (worked like a charm ) and checked the motherboard type, and..............it was 0.4g [​IMG] !!!!!!!
    Next , I applied the permanent patch, and now my shiny new PSP3000 is fully hacked !
    There are no words to describe how happy I am, I was already accepting the fact that I was lucky if I was gonna get a 6.35 and semi hack it, now I just can't believe my luck !!!!!!
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  5. hunter291

    OP hunter291 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    780
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Cool [​IMG] I hope my tutorial helped you a bit with it [​IMG]
     
  6. .Chris

    .Chris Clueless
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,197
    Country:
    United States
    Nice guide!
    Maybe you can separate each section or so into some spoilers.
    Code:
    [spoiler] (Insert text here) [/spoiler]
    (Insert text here)

    And the text in the spoilers like this:
    Code:
    [spoiler][title:[size=2][b][u]Example Title[/u][/b][/size]]
    [p= ]
    Example text 
    Example text 
    Example text 
    Example text 
    [/p]
    [/spoiler]


    Example text
    Example text
    Example text
    Example text
    [/p]
     
  7. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045
    Country:
    Italy
    Your guide helped me A LOT WITH IT !
    Thank you very much !
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Slimmmmmm

    Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,770
    Country:
    I've had 2 psps gathering dust for a while, so I gave this guide a go.

    I opted for the 6.20 perm patch, tested a few things and everything works fine [​IMG]
    I managed to follow the guide in about 5-10 minutes total with no problems.

    Now, I have a question, say I've got a game that when you go to play it it requires a higher firmware version than 6.20.
    What would I do ?
    Update to 6.3#, then 6.3 cfw, then play the game, then if I want to go back to 6.20cfw...I need to downgrade and install the lower 6.2 cfw?
    or can games be patched to ignore what fw version your psp has (no idea btw, only modded the psp as your guide was so short and easy to follow) [​IMG]
     
  9. 8BitWalugi

    8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,445
    Country:
    Australia
  10. hunter291

    OP hunter291 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    780
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    20 days later than me. but thanks for the link.


    I just wanted to say that I updated the guide for 6.39. The 6.39 PRO-B6 is available now. Anyone knows how to change the topics name ?
     
  11. .Chris

    .Chris Clueless
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,197
    Country:
    United States
    Very nice guide!

    Offtopic: In this pic [​IMG] , what's that app with the PS3 on the icon?
     
  12. hunter291

    OP hunter291 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    780
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    It is called PS3Jig. It was used to put the PSP in the "dongle" like state when the ps3 homebrew was still with this dongle stuff and everything xD I was never realy in the ps3 stuff, but now the ps3 has custom firmwares and everything if I read it right. I just wanted to have it on my psp in case [​IMG]
     
  13. adammay02

    adammay02 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    sucsussfully modded my release day PSP 1000 Phat first time with CFW 6.39 PRO-B6 first time.
    works great, so now I can emulate my old games as on the DS its a bit hit and miss, gonna see if teh compatibility is better on the PSP
     
  14. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    PSP's MUCH more powerful than the DS, it's got much better emulation.
     
  15. [M]artin

    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,661
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for this guide, helped out a ton! Quick and easy, painless if you follow the instructions. THANKS! [​IMG]
     
  16. gameandmatch

    gameandmatch GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Country:
    United States
    I'm a beginner in this. I have psp 3001, I got the light firmware for 6.39. The only problem I am having is where to put the ISO folder. The psp keep seeing the folder as a coruptted file. At the moment it is at PSP/GAME/ISO. Is this where it suppose to be at or somewhere else?
     
  17. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    In the root.

    Beginner questions like this are in the stickied FAQ in the hacking section (though of course that can't cover everything).
     
  18. Sc4rFac3d

    Sc4rFac3d GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,629
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for this tut. Just did a new PSPgo 6.39. Emulators working wonderfully. Just having a problem with the ISOs. I'm putting them in the ISO folder (in root ofcourse) just like with regular PSPs but going to Game-Systemstorage the iso just shows as a corrupted file. Do I need additional files?

    Thanks

    edit, NVM. The iso itself was corrupt. Thanks again
     
  19. hunter291

    OP hunter291 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    780
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Haha [​IMG] No problem. Good to hear that the tutorial helped you [​IMG]

    Updated the guide to version PRO-B7
     
  20. mucusmembrane2

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Well i'm a stoned beginner like your dad i've looked everywhere for this stickie FAQ & other answers got the 6.39 pro installed no problem but like I said i'm stoned and have 2 root folders(MP_ROOT & MLN_ROOT)where exactly do the iso & cso go to play do I need a launcherhelp please!!!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Firmware, every,