Homebrew WIP GZDoom for Switch

Purple_Shyguy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,770
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Republic of Ireland
XP
3,050
Country

fgsfds

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
421
Trophies
0
Age
121
XP
2,664
Country
Russia
You can use the console to enter cheats and other commands, like mentioned above.
Rumble is technically possible, but in practice rumble commands would have to be supplied by game/mod code because that's what ultimately controls the weapons/damage/whatever, and since games and mods are all vastly different that would make it kinda difficult.
 

Cyka_Delik

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
157
Country
United States
Just to suggest something cool

So I messed around with this one with some interesting results.

When I put the .ipk3 file into the gzdoom folder and run GZdoom from the homebrew menu...the game runs flawlessly.
When I change the file from .ipk3 to .pk3 and put it in the pwad folder and run it as a file on DOOM 2, it has framedrop issues...similar to how Brutal Doom has framedrop issues when I load it the same way.

I'd really like to get this sorted out so I can play the CastleVania and BrutalDoom mods to their full potential.

Also, the GZLauncher doesn't seem to recognize the CastleVania 3 trilogy .wad file in the IWADS folder as executable. What's up with that?

I'm very new to using GZDoom, so hopefully I'm just fucking up something simple.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Gunstorm

Cyka_Delik

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
157
Country
United States
I don't recall what the fuck kind of UI I made for that thing, but I think you need to create a new profile for custom IWADs.
Hey that worked! Thanks!
Got everything running smoothly after messing with display settings too. I turned off stuff we obviously don’t need like 60+ FPS and VSync.
Pretty sweet app. Thanks for your hard work!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Gunstorm and fgsfds

ElectricJelly

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
70
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
353
Country
United States
Got a feature\functionality request that I hope will be easy to implement, if you wish to do so. It's sorting PWADs into seperate folders e.g. by corresponding IWAD, whether they're Boom compatible or need a source-port, etc.

I previously managed WADs manually by using Joel16's NXShell, but it doesn't seem to run on Atmosphere 13.X, and he's currently busy with other stuff (which is totally fine and I appreciate his work).
 

UltimateBagman

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 7, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
22
Country
Ghana
is there a way to save options? Have to turn jump and free look off every time haha

Exit using the Quit Game button in the main menu and not the Home button.

I just encountered the same problem, and no, this method does not work. Turns out GZDoom doesn't save Gameplay options, and you have to use an autoexec.cfg file with "dmflags <#>" and "dmflags2 <#>" commands in it, but it doesn't seem to work on Switch. Any workarounds?
 

helvetinperkeles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
122
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
239
Country
Finland
Hi! Is there a way to activate cheats? I typed different cheats on Doom using console commands but everytime i get unknown command error. Same thing with Hexen.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Thorhax

WNC12k

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2022
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
16
Country
Russia
Hello! I have a problem (error) when running Gzdum from homebrew menu, namely:
Error code: 2168-0002 (0x4a8)
Program: 010000000000100D
Firmware: 13.1.0 (version 1.2.3-master-ecdbc76f)

Can you help me figure out how to run it? Thanks!
 

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,127
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,829
Country
Russia
Hello! I have a problem (error) when running Gzdum from homebrew menu, namely:
Error code: 2168-0002 (0x4a8)
Program: 010000000000100D
Firmware: 13.1.0 (version 1.2.3-master-ecdbc76f)

Can you help me figure out how to run it? Thanks!
Are you using title redirection?
 

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,127
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,829
Country
Russia
...did you even read the first post, how to install and stuff?
  • GZDoom (especially some more complex mods) may require more RAM than is available in applet mode, so better use another title instead of the Album for HBMenu override, or use NSP HBMenu;
 

WNC12k

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2022
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
16
Country
Russia
...did you even read the first post, how to install and stuff?
  • GZDoom (especially some more complex mods) may require more RAM than is available in applet mode, so better use another title instead of the Album for HBMenu override, or use NSP HBMenu;
Oh, I am a brand new Switch user. Therefore, I can get confused in concepts. But it looks like I'm using the Applet Mod. And I don't understand how to do it differently in the case of GZDoom. Can you tell me?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: Corporation is the new corporation.