Guitar Hero grip with a rom?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Ducky, Jun 28, 2008.

Jun 28, 2008

Guitar Hero grip with a rom? by Ducky at 8:07 AM (5,177 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. Ducky
    OP

    Member Ducky QUACKJECTION!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Duckling Land!
    Country:
    Israel
    I thought about it.. And I might wanna get JUST the Grip and not the game , And instead download the rom and play it that way..

    Do you think it works?
    Or its like what happens with the Rom of Opera Browser and the Real Expansion Pak..


    If someone with the grip could check it , I'll be thanking you more then... God for making ducks.


    Edit : To make it more clear.

    Can I play the Guitar Hero ROM with the Guitar Grip? And not a patch or something?

    Because I know

    Real Opera Browser + Expansion Pak = Works
    Rom Opera Browser + Expansion Pak = Not working

    now.. :

    Real Guitar Hero + Guitar Grip = Works
    Rom Guitar Hero + Guitar Grip = Works? or not?
     


  2. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    how can you only get the grip?
     
  3. Dylan

    Member Dylan 100 MILES AND RUNNIN'

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't understand. There is some kind of paradox in this thread.
     
  4. Ducky
    OP

    Member Ducky QUACKJECTION!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Duckling Land!
    Country:
    Israel
    Lets say I can.. I dont know how but I will find a way.. Is it playable.. anyway?
     
  5. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    yes but think an r4 user had a problem but i heard it works
     
  6. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Just buy the game but then just play the rom.
     
  7. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the grip is 100% certain to work in combination with the game on an m3real, but should also work on other flashcards.

    if you want proof that it works, just look at any of the GH:ot trailers.
    they used m3real for those.
     
  8. Aznhiga13

    Newcomer Aznhiga13 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I have a R4 with firmware 1.17 and the guitar hero grip and the rom work perfectly. Havent run into problems yet. I think the person with the problem has firmware 1.18. I dont know if that really is the problem or not.
     
  9. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    I can confirm it works fine with CycloDS... Of course though, what doesn't? [​IMG]

    Good luck finding a grip without the game. You'd need to find a non-pirate who bought the game, something happened to the cartridge so they can't play anymore, and then they sell their grip. Good luck [​IMG] It may well be more worth it to just buy the game if you really want the guitar grip. It's a small price to pay and it won't kill you.
     
  10. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Cheats? ;p One thing about the CycloDS that turns me off is the cheat support it has. :/


    At any rate, to get back on topic. Yes, the ROM does indeed work with the actual Guitar Hero hardware. This way you don't need the actual cartridge to play the game. Also patching the ROM also works to play the game using the ABXY buttons.
     
  11. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think the grip would work on Slot-2 cards, no place to plug it in. Like the RAM or rumble packs.
     
  12. pepsibluehawk87

    Member pepsibluehawk87 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Everywhere yet nowhere
    Country:
    United States
    I think it should work. So long as you have a good flashcart like anything besides the r4.
     
  13. Ducky
    OP

    Member Ducky QUACKJECTION!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Duckling Land!
    Country:
    Israel
    Thanks! ... Now I need to wait for nintendo or something to sell this alone.. They must sell it alone cus .. if it becomes broken you need to get a new one but you already have the game.. Im sure nitendo will sell it alone. =P

    Hopefully.
     
  14. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    It's not Nintendo who sells it. It's Activision.

    And no, they won't sell it alone. Why would they do that when they can make you buy the game if you want the grip?
     
  15. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,445
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Maybe if they're planning a sequel. I bet they'll sell the sequel and the grip separately.
     
  16. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    Where's the instant gratification in that? [​IMG]
     
  17. Gagarin

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. I had problems with my r4ds and 1.18. Now it works.
    Roms + grip work fine with other cards (I tested it on Ace 2 and Supercard).

    As far as I know there will be a sequel (GH 4 is scheduled for DS) so probably you will be able to buy game + grip or just a game. Perhaps somebody in China will make the grip off the market (the device is patented).

    I hope the homebrew scene will come with some swaping songs from previous GH games (just like PC Frets on Fire) or maybe a separate game?
    Who knows [​IMG]
     
  18. emoo55

    Banned emoo55 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Yes Ive seen news about guitar hero 4 being on ds. People dont get confused. This version is called guitar hero ON TOUR, not WORLD TOUR. and for some reason they are not gunna use the touch screen this time?
     
  19. pokemongalaxy

    Banned pokemongalaxy Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    Canada
    thats is a possibility
     
  20. Unchi-san

    Member Unchi-san Unchi on a stick! yay~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    526
    Country:
    United States
    i really can't see them sell the grip seperately even if a sequel comes out. The likely scenario (if a sequel comes out) is that they will sell the grip+game bundle or just the game. Owners of GH:OT will already have the grip (and will not want to purchase another grip if they wanted to buy the sequel game), so they would sell the game seperately to those owners.
     

Share This Page