Guitar Hero DS Customization?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Rebound, May 14, 2008.

May 14, 2008

Guitar Hero DS Customization? by Rebound at 12:36 PM (1,687 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Rebound
    OP

    Member Rebound GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Country:
    Australia
    Is there a chance that this will be possible? It would be fantastic if it was [​IMG]
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    The game is not even out... So there's no way to know it [​IMG]

    Wait for the game to be out, and then someone will extract the ROM and analyze the possibilities of custom songs [​IMG]
     
  3. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    we'll find out when it's released
     
  4. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure there will be a homebrew created ala Frets on Fire that uses the hardware.
    Imagine how many songs you can store on an 8 gig MicroSD!
     
  5. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Wouldn't it be hard to customize the cart because you'd need another tool (probably via GBA like Firelink) and I doubt Nintendo would be willing to have that kind of DS cart - GBA slot kit - PC connection around when they already suffer from piracy.

    Maybe the next gen of Nintendo handheld would come with few gigs of internal storage so you can get DLCs and customizations and stuff.
     
  6. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think that's what they meant, I think they meant as in making a crack of the game with the option to play extra songs...
    I am right? aren't I...
     
  7. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    you are right.
     
  8. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    A game requires some serious optimizations if it's going to play music flies (especially a compressed format like mp3) and have a 'track' move smoothly on the screen on the DS. Note the lag when moving a window around in moonshell while playing an mp3 file. A commercial project would probably be our only hope.
     
  9. Dylan

    Member Dylan 100 MILES AND RUNNIN'

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I have high hopes for homebrew utilizing the add on. Would be so good.
     
  10. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    Your comparison is specious and those two things have absolutely nothing to do with each other. At all.
     
  11. MagNetCZ

    Member MagNetCZ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Location:
    Prague
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    The ARM7 can do MP3 decoding in real time with no probs at all. It could even be just an edited AmplituDS (I know that one plays tracked music).
     
  12. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    Apologies, I have no idea what I was thinking. Although I had no idea the arm7 could do mp3 decoding by itself, I had completely forgotten about it altogether. Now I feel silly [​IMG] If the DS only had one processor and has as much trouble with menus as it does in moonshell, software rendered or not, it would have some trouble doing a guitar hero-esque game [​IMG], but yea, my bad
     

Share This Page