Guide To Make YSMenu Work On The R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Spec2K, Jul 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jul 28, 2008
  1. Spec2K
    OP

    Newcomer Spec2K Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Canada
    Guide To Make YSMenu Work On The R4

    1. Download latest version of YSMenu firmware here: http://home.usay.jp/pc/etc/nds/

    2. Extract the files to a folder.

    3. Locate YSMenu.nds and patch using a R4 Dldi patching tool download here:

    DLDI Patching Tool: http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/downl...l-win32-gui.zip

    R4 DLDI: http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/downloads/r4tf.dldi

    4. Delete akextract.exe out of the files you've extracted, you don't need it.

    5. Download latest version of DSTT firmware here: www.gbatemp.net (Search for it.)

    6. Extract files to the same folder as YSMenu, let's call this the YSMenu and DSTT directory, shall we?

    7. Now run ttextract.exe, that will generate ttpatch.dat, ttdldi.dat, r4patch.dat, then delete ttextract.exe.

    8. Edit the YSmenu.ini, "LITERALS=LITERALS_JAP" to "LITERALS=LITERALS_ENG". enable by removing the colon.

    9. Download r4crypt here: http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/NDS_Projects/r4crypt.zip

    10. Extract the files to a folder of its own, let's call it the r4crypt directory.

    11. Copy the following code into notepad:

    =================================================
     
    1 person likes this.


  2. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    The last version of YSMenu does not generate the r4patch.dat file. You must use the previous one.

    You might want to fix that.
     
  3. Spec2K
    OP

    Newcomer Spec2K Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Canada
    YSMenu v08.05.22.22.22 is the one I patched isn't that the latest one?

    That's the latest I've seen on Yasu's site. and it did generate a r4patch.dat
     
  4. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't generate for me either
     
  5. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    My bad.

    Yeah, you're right. That's the last one.

    The older version is placed above the last one and it's easy to get confused.

    That's the one you should use.

    The latest one (again) is this one (v08.05.22.22.22).
     
  6. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    I don't suppose someone could put all the files (already patched and named) in a zip or rar file cause for the life of me the GUI.BAT,r4crypt parts of all this doesn't work.... gui just doesn't work right (yes I copied it correctly) and r4crypt crashes upon start up every time......
     
  7. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    i have a question . why would you need the YSMenu on the R4 ? if it's for cheats i would understand but if it's just for no reason ? you are just wasting space on your SD Card ?

    YSMenu is practically identical to the R4 Menu but isn't skinnable ? any reason why ?
     
  8. DarkDragonLord

    Newcomer DarkDragonLord Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Brazil
    YSMenu is a replacement for the R4 Firmware, if im not wrong.
     
  9. SylvWolf

    Member SylvWolf Ave Dominus Nox

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT: Link removed because I was asked. Pendor, can you remove the quote from your post?
     
  10. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    The file is from omgomg. But that patch was build with an older DSTT firmware.

    The one I uploaded today, instead, was build with the latest one and compatibility is higher.

    Edit: I erased the file because of what I heard about Yasu. This steps posted on this thread should be more than enough for everyone willing to patch ysmenu for the R4.
     
  11. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    seems useless to me. the r4 menu id fine, r4s only fault is hardware specific.
     
  12. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    I know what you mean. That's what I said in the other thread about Custom R4 Firmware.
    Call me stupid, but I like the R4 firmware and to me it's better than this alternative (and yes, I did previously try this using omgomg's upload in the other thread).

    Now, to flog a dead horse, if someone was to show me a fully functional Sakura on the R4, then I'd ditch the R4 firmware in a millisecond! [​IMG]
     
  13. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm it doesn't seem to like FF IV but I could of swore it worked before......
     
  14. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't Yasu ask not to direct link to downloads?
     
  15. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes,
    Yasu doesn't like people hosting mirrors of his software.

    Heres what happened before.
     
  16. HoTsHoT89

    Member HoTsHoT89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Does this mean that YSMenu for the R4 will have the same game compatibility as the current DSTT firmware?
     
  17. chrishull

    Newcomer chrishull Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well Hulk and Carnival work without the arm7 patch. I leave the YSMENU.nds on the card and run it when I have a game that wont run on the R4. Just go`s to show that the R4 card can run the games it`s just a firmware issue.
     
  18. beve

    Banned beve Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks for the mirror [​IMG]

    this would of been a help long ago (yesterday)
     
  19. HoTsHoT89

    Member HoTsHoT89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I don't understand something. Why does YSMenu treat game ROMs and homebrews differently, when they are basically the same? Aren't homebrews .nds files with the same contents of a game ROM, only the difference is by developer?
     
  20. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Homebrew usually required DLDI patching for file access, commercial games use a totally different file system and require far better compatibility. Thats why you CAN'T load commercial games with a homebrew loader. Also homebrew games/apps have custom arm7 binaries which may or may not come into it, i'm no expert.

    As for the other stuff in this thread, I have had ysmenu working on R4 sinse it was discovered that the extractor creates and R4 file, i think everyone assumed that it wouldn't work so didnt try. I wouldn't set it as a replacement for the R4 firmware though as you will loose homebrew loading (which some of us use way more than commercial loading), just make sure you use the 2nd r4 dldi and no-patch it so the dldi cant be re-patched, and just use it instead of moonshell.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page