1. danyboy666

    danyboy666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    yes it is. i did put back it's original battery but it does seem to work on its own. I get a white screen with a message that tells me to power on the wiiu. If i press the pad's sync button it does show me the pairing sequence so i don't really know what to check anymore. I did make sure every wires were back in place but i want to make sure everything works before screwing everything back.
     
  2. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,575
    Country:
    United States
    I dunno what could be wrong. maybe @SundayWarrior has a suggestion.
     
  3. danyboy666

    danyboy666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    Last edited by danyboy666, Apr 22, 2021
  4. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,575
    Country:
    United States
    I've read a post by fix94, the developer of cbhc or at least the installer for it, that cbhc can sometimes fail to install. it shouldn't cause the system to brick, just relaunch the installer. as far as something like that above post happening, I dunno. I use my wii u almost daily, and I've had cbhc installed for four or five years, and I've never had any real issues with it. I've done almost every hack on both systems except for indexiine and ios 80 patching on the virtual wii, and so far everything has gone well. I've also uninstalled cbhc when I was going to switch from yoshi's island ds to brain age. never had an issue there. I deleted yoshi's island ds and redownloaded it from the eshop.
     
  5. danyboy666

    danyboy666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    I usually don't have any issue when modding my console. I also mod about just everything I touch. The only console i havent is the switch.

    The WiiU was more of a temporary console. It had multiple owners before me. I did do a format originaly so i'm pretty sure nothing was wrong with the NAND. It was bought when nintendo already discontinued it. So i modded it with brain age. Imported everything that was on my old wii. modded the wii side also. Also didn't have any issue Just that i wanted something more permanent to load my isos without having to open another app to enable a mod. Anywais long story short i'm here with a halfway restore wiiu lool.

    I did read brick happened if you formatted the console without removing the brain age hack or whatever the mod was called. I think I recall it was redNAND.

    .I guess i'll call it and sell it as is. I,ll include the SD card with opt.bin and the original slc.bin i exported. It should still get a decent value with it's box and everything.
     
    godreborn likes this.
  6. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,575
    Country:
    United States
    I've used rednand (even have the nand backup from it, which is the first one I showed you without the syshax.xml, since it had no cbhc). I too haven't modded the switch at all. I don't really want to be a part of any scenes after the ps4 scene, and it's mostly the ps3 and the ps4 scenes that have made me feel that way. it's full of a bunch of ungrateful children and efame whores.
     
    danyboy666 likes this.
  7. danyboy666

    danyboy666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    you're absolutely right about that. I've seen the whole 3.41-3.55 CFW deblacle also the GTAV modding scene
     
    godreborn likes this.
  8. SundayWarrior

    SundayWarrior GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Russia
    Check what all subboard and coax cables connect correctly.
    Maybe system.xml edit not propertly (lost some strokes or etc.), firstly check correct assembly
     
    danyboy666 likes this.
  9. danyboy666

    danyboy666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    everything is working now. I rechecked the console wireless module. That one in front with the USB ports. It came lose a bit. There is always an easy explanation.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    yes it was an 101 error. again. i'm too dumb for this shit lol. Thank you guys and thank you very much for that tool omg what a life saver that was.
     
    Last edited by danyboy666, Apr 22, 2021
  10. SundayWarrior

    SundayWarrior GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Russia
    All good if you know what you do. Anyway im against the cbhc - after boot not so hard launch pathed ds game - if something go wrong you not get 160-0103
     
    danyboy666 likes this.
  11. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,575
    Country:
    United States
    so the gamepad now connects?
     
    danyboy666 likes this.
  12. danyboy666

    danyboy666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    yes everything is ok now it was mecanical. The wireless connector came a bit lose.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Say what you will but a mod that bricks your console if you format it is pretty dumb imho.
     
    godreborn likes this.
  13. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,575
    Country:
    United States
    it's a pretty ridiculous exploit. there's supposed to be something else coming out called aroma, which installs to one of the system apps, like health and safety instead of needing a ds game. I don't know if it's a cbhc replacement or just haxchi though. I only learned about it recently.
     
    danyboy666 likes this.
  14. danyboy666

    danyboy666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    That's what I don't understand is why that late in the game have a system breaking mod as the main exploit. I do get that there are warning everywhere when you follow those guides but still. I don't read about this stuff every day so when it comes down to it i have to remeber what I did like 4-5 years earlier to be certain not to brick a system? idsk man ..The tutorial I followed was up to date when i read i'm sure about it. I bought that console the year the switch came out btw. idk i might not know enough to see the whole picture but still i'm gald everythng worked out with this guide. Considering this was the ONLY guide out there i'm pretty lucky to have revived my odd brick lol.
     
    Last edited by danyboy666, Apr 22, 2021
    godreborn likes this.
  15. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,575
    Country:
    United States
    it kinda reminds me of some early exploits for other consoles. I've been with the vita since the beginning, and originally, to use homebrew, you had to use unity and velf files wirelessly from the the pc. the license for it had to be renewed daily. you could renvew it days later, so you didn't have to renew every day, just when you were going to use it. and, it was unstable as hell.
     
    danyboy666 likes this.
  16. danyboy666

    danyboy666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    oh yes that must have been something. This stuff is easier tho when you stay around it. I've been in and out so i don't really stay up to date with the modding scenes.
     
    godreborn likes this.
  17. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,575
    Country:
    United States
    definitely. I still dread the 200+ steps of installing a9lh on the 3ds, when that was a thing. it took me about 6 hours on each of my 2 3ds. one is still using it, but I don't play it at all. it's an o3ds. I use a majora's mask n3ds xl. funny thing is that I spend so much time exploiting these systems, and backing things up, that I never play any games. with the wii u, which is the only system I play games on aside from the switch, I always play the same five games.
     
    Subtle Demise and danyboy666 like this.
  18. danyboy666

    danyboy666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada

    that's exactly my case too. I setup everything up pack the system up to the brim then leave it sleeping for half a decade. I just sold a hyrule edition which i modded and reverted back. It went smoother since I bricked my wiiu half an hour earlier lol I did take the time to read up before formatting.
     
    Last edited by danyboy666, Apr 23, 2021
    godreborn likes this.
  19. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,575
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know why it even had you setup the gamepad again. I think the wiiu and the wii has a syscon file that contains pairings for all controllers. I only learned about it from Cyan, when I mentioned that a pro controller I had synced after creating a neek emunand would unsync after loading a game with neek. I thought I'd have to redo the neek emunand with the new pairing. not really a problem since I only have two games on there, and they're both backed up in my wiiware database. anyway, he mentioned injecting the syscon into the neek nand, which I did by changing the custom path to neek in usb loader gx, then injecting the syscon into it. it worked. so, I think there's some sort of syscon file somewhere that affects both the wii u and the virtual wii. I assume the gamepad is in there as well, but I don't know for sure.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Kaflukes, [Guide], HardMod