[GUIDE] How to play VC Wii Games on redNAND

Discussion in 'Wii U - Tutorials' started by victormr21, Feb 10, 2017.

Feb 10, 2017
  1. victormr21
    OP

    Member victormr21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    Spain
    Do this at your own risk, I am not responsible if you brick or something (it's very impossible but who knows...)

    Requirements
    • Dimok's redNAND fw.img file *
    • redNAND installed in your SD (Check that it works)
    • Dimok's IOSUhax fw.img file
    • An encrypted (.app, .h3...) VC Wii game
    • An USB
    * Note: I use this because I didn't try it with Mocha, if you do it, say me if it works and I will edit the post

    0.- If you are noob and you don't have the fw.img files you can compile them from here:

    https://github.com/dimok789/iosuhax
    To get IOSUhax file do in a command line make cfw if you need redNAND file do make redNAND

    1.- Open redNAND by CFW Booter or HaxChi
    2.- Go to System Config Tool and install it in the USB (the NAND is the default installation device, remember to change it)
    2.1.- Also you can install it with WUP Installer, WUP Installer GX2...
    3.- Turn off the Wii U
    4.- Extract your SD and connect it to your PC
    5.- Change the fw.img and put the IOSUhax one
    6.- Connect your SD to the Wii U
    7.- Load IOSUhax
    8.- Now install it
    AGAIN to the USB by your favourite installer
    9.-
    IMPORTANT STEP: Check that you can launch and play your game in IOSUhax, if you don't do it, it will not launch in redNAND
    9.1.- If your game has a different region that console you need to change one of them, if you have region free redNAND it will not launch too, if you have an EUR console and a lot of USA VC Wii games, the best method is change IOSUhax region


    10.- After this remove your SD, connect it to the PC put the redNAND fw.img and you will be able to play VC Wii games in redNAND!!

    Bye and Happy Hacking!

    PD: I will do a video tutorial soon™ :D
     
    iVcU, asper, Powerful and 1 other person like this.
  2. Powerful

    Member Powerful GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    This is very cool, and nicely detailed. Does this allow you to be able to use vWii as well or is that still a no go?
     
  3. victormr21
    OP

    Member victormr21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    Spain
    No at the moment, for use the cafe2wii we need a full dump of the NAND, vWii mode included and we haven't got a method to do this
     
    Last edited by victormr21, Feb 11, 2017
  4. Powerful

    Member Powerful GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    Okay cool. At least there's this lol
     
    victormr21 likes this.
  5. Home_Rowed

    Newcomer Home_Rowed Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United States
    Is redNAND required for this or can it be done solely on CBHC?
     
  6. Powerful

    Member Powerful GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    This question...wow. You can already use it on sysnand?
     
  7. Home_Rowed

    Newcomer Home_Rowed Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United States
    Did you mean to put a period at the end of your sentence and not a question mark? Because it sounds like you know in the first part, but then you're unsure at the end.
     
  8. zainman

    Newcomer zainman Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Indonesia
    First of all, Sorry for asking this noob question (but since i am a noob anyways, so....)

    I already instlall mocha to run on rednand. What should I do to make it able to run vWii? can I have a step by step explanation?
     
  9. victormr21
    OP

    Member victormr21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    Spain
    Practically you must do the same steps, and it should be the same too.
    Replace the redNAND fw.img file with Mocha's redNAND option
    And replace the IOSUhax fw.img file with Mocha's IOSUhax option (idk if this exist, if not, use the same IOSUhax file)
    I will add an explanation of the process soon, so you can see how this works and this will solve compatibility dudes
    Bye!
     
  10. Jinxpalm

    Newcomer Jinxpalm Newbie

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Can you guys explain to me in very noob terms how to do this. I installed cbhc rednand through Wii.guide. I would like to run Wii vc games but have no idea what these features.img files are or how to get them. I have mocha installed which I thought auto sign patches sysnand but I guess not.
     
  11. nexusmtz

    Member nexusmtz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    872
    Country:
    United States
    Instead of loading a patched fw.img into memory, Mocha patches an in-memory copy, so when you run Mocha, you don't need fw.img.

    Mocha has an option in its menu for turning redNAND on and off. It will sign-patch whichever NAND you boot.

    The problem you're trying to solve by doing a double install is that when you run a Wii VC title, it sets some information and tells the WiiU to reboot so it can get into Wii mode to run the actual game. When that special reboot takes place, it never gets to the point of running CBHC/Mocha/redNAND, so you're on your sysNAND. That means the title has to be known to redNAND so you can pick it, and also to sysNAND so it can run.
     
  12. Jinxpalm

    Newcomer Jinxpalm Newbie

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the reply so to launch mocha sysnand I just hold the b button when I see the mocha logo pop up on my tablet?
     
  13. nexusmtz

    Member nexusmtz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    872
    Country:
    United States
    You'll have to boot and figure out when you need to press B. When you get it right, you'll see the Mocha menu. (It's B for the menu, not B for sysnand.) The logo (picture) might be coming up as the system menu is reloaded, which would be after Mocha's menu would have loaded. Sorry, I can't test it right now.

    If you don't get the timing right, you'll just be in redNAND again. No big deal.
     

Share This Page