Tutorial [Guide] How to fix Switch games not booting after a FW/CFW update

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
OP
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,896
Trophies
1
XP
13,265
Country
Mexico
@ShadowOne333 Lifesaver,was having issues after updating to 10.0.1 to play crysis, but then my SPTFBW and AC black flag stopped working, searched for months for a solution and it turned out your method of converting to deepsea and those sigpatches did the trick.

Much appreciated
One more query - Rebel galaxy outlaw releasing today (still waiting) - would these sigpatches work above 10.0.01 if need be?

Thanks in advance
As long as the game runs under that FW version, they should work as well.
 

MarvBuster

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
29
Country
Germany
Aw man, i finally fixed my switch not playing any backups anymore! im posting it here, since this method is not part of this OP and some people might find it useful.
i installed atmosphere 0.14.4 on a previous installed atmosphere 0.14.3 and FW 10.2. Added sigpatches but thee atmosphere wouldnt start anymore (kernel panic on boot, when trying to load it via hekate, fatal error when trying to boot directly with fusee primary).

i could not get a fresh install of atmosphere to work. so i tried deepsea and it worked. but no games started and i could not reinstall them. i thought it might be the sigpatches, but just couldnt get my head around it.

today i've read about fixing the archive bit on files on the sd card. tl dr: files could get corrupted, when managing them with a mac, and i did a lot.
fixing that archive bit with hekate 5.3.3 (tools) did the trick. its working now. :)

best regards.marv
 
  • Like
Reactions: ShadowOne333

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
OP
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,896
Trophies
1
XP
13,265
Country
Mexico
Aw man, i finally fixed my switch not playing any backups anymore! im posting it here, since this method is not part of this OP and some people might find it useful.
i installed atmosphere 0.14.4 on a previous installed atmosphere 0.14.3 and FW 10.2. Added sigpatches but thee atmosphere wouldnt start anymore (kernel panic on boot, when trying to load it via hekate, fatal error when trying to boot directly with fusee primary).

i could not get a fresh install of atmosphere to work. so i tried deepsea and it worked. but no games started and i could not reinstall them. i thought it might be the sigpatches, but just couldnt get my head around it.

today i've read about fixing the archive bit on files on the sd card. tl dr: files could get corrupted, when managing them with a mac, and i did a lot.
fixing that archive bit with hekate 5.3.3 (tools) did the trick. its working now. :)

best regards.marv
Thanks for writing your solution!
I'll add it to the OP right away
 

Drewcifer

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 20, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
27
Country
United States
I tried initializing console, and it did not work for me. Do not do it unless you absolutely have to. What worked for me was backing up my SD card onto my computer, deleting all the files, downloading DeepSea (or Atmosphere if that's what you're more comfortable with), and putting all that on the SD card. I transferred my game saves back to my SD card, and it worked immediately.
 

Drewcifer

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 20, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
27
Country
United States
Here's what worked for me to save everyone the headache of initializing your console (which did not work):
1) backup your SD card
2) delete all files from SD card
3) download fresh copy of your CFW and Sig patches (I used DeepSea)
4) extract files and send everything to your SD card
5) put your backed up game save data back onto your SD card
6) put SD card back into Switch after safely ejecting from computer
7) enjoy working games again
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
OP
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,896
Trophies
1
XP
13,265
Country
Mexico
Here's what worked for me to save everyone the headache of initializing your console (which did not work):
1) backup your SD card
2) delete all files from SD card
3) download fresh copy of your CFW and Sig patches (I used DeepSea)
4) extract files and send everything to your SD card
5) put your backed up game save data back onto your SD card
6) put SD card back into Switch after safely ejecting from computer
7) enjoy working games again
Oh neat. I'll probably add these as a 2nd "Last Resort" solution, just vefore the Initialize console one, as it does seem quite troublesome to backup and restore everything.

I'll add it during the day.
It seems the link I gave you is no longer being updated with latest version of DBI...The new link is as follows:

https://github.com/rashevskyv/dbi/releases
Thanks for the update! I'll add it too :)
 

jesus96

Pinkboi
Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
311
Trophies
0
XP
822
Country
Mexico
Currently im having a problem with the game kirby star allies in the last update 4.0,without the update the game boots but with it the error message appears,i have everything update so I don't know what to do,is there any fix?
 

Jakopp

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 5, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
25
Country
Austria
Thanks for this guide. I had a few games (smash bros, MH rise) not starting after I updated FW and CFW and could resolve it with the steps listed here. Games run with no issues after deleting the game tickets.
 

Anshar_

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 19, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
23
Country
Italy
I'm having a problem with Pokémon Sword: before updating to 12.0 it worked flawlessly but, after updating, the game had a "Corrupted data" error forcing me to delete it. After re-installing it with the same files it worked perfectly until I installed the dlc, after that the game would get stuck at the loading screen and boot me out with a error message. I've tried all the methods in this guide (except the "Last Resort" ones, since I can still play it on yuzu and don't think this is such a huge deal that I have to clean my sd card) but it gives me the same result as before: works fine withut dlc, instantly crashes with.
Any idea of what could be the reason of this problem?
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
OP
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,896
Trophies
1
XP
13,265
Country
Mexico
I'm having a problem with Pokémon Sword: before updating to 12.0 it worked flawlessly but, after updating, the game had a "Corrupted data" error forcing me to delete it. After re-installing it with the same files it worked perfectly until I installed the dlc, after that the game would get stuck at the loading screen and boot me out with a error message. I've tried all the methods in this guide (except the "Last Resort" ones, since I can still play it on yuzu and don't think this is such a huge deal that I have to clean my sd card) but it gives me the same result as before: works fine withut dlc, instantly crashes with.
Any idea of what could be the reason of this problem?
Try deleting the base game and reinstalling it, while the DLC is installed first. Otherwise, try deleting the tickets.
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
OP
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,896
Trophies
1
XP
13,265
Country
Mexico
I did, and both the old one and new one work flawlessy on yuzu but not on switch
Have you updated the signature patches properly? Try doing a clean Atmosphere+Hekate+Sigpatches installation.
Remove or backup both the /atmosphere/ and /bootloader/ folders, and download the newest Atmos, Hekate and sigpatches fresh, installing first Atmosphere, then Hekate and then the sigpatches.

Also, try checking with both fusee-primary and fusee-secondary, see if they boot with one or the other.
 

Anshar_

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 19, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
23
Country
Italy
Have you updated the signature patches properly? Try doing a clean Atmosphere+Hekate+Sigpatches installation.
Remove or backup both the /atmosphere/ and /bootloader/ folders, and download the newest Atmos, Hekate and sigpatches fresh, installing first Atmosphere, then Hekate and then the sigpatches.

Also, try checking with both fusee-primary and fusee-secondary, see if they boot with one or the other.
I can happily confirm that by doing a clean installation and using fusee-secondary it works, I haven't checked with fusee-primary yet but thank you so much!
 
  • Like
Reactions: ShadowOne333
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    The thing is that the IATA rules impose a pretty hard limit of 100Wh on battery sizes for lithium batteries - and it doesn't look like Li is going away soon
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    So if you want (say) 4 hours of runtime you need a maximum system-level power consumption of 25W
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah but we already have AAA titles looking fine on tablet form 1080p displays
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Human eye can only tell so much of a difference
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    For reference, the PS5 is rated at 350W and the Xbox series X at 275W - and that's console only, without any display
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But the future always holds performance never know what the aliens will donate from their left over tech
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Maybe :) - but batteries have turned out to be a pretty hard problem
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Like I said most that will truly care will already be hard core gaming pcers
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    And DF subscribers :)
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I bet you could find a neighbor with a ps5 and they'd have no idea what the word spec means
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah probably - people on forums seem to care a lot, but they are heavily self-selected
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Most on forums try to get a good learning of actual tech
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Papaya, so good
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Only 13 more titles to go on ps3 yay
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I still have a remnant of the taste of the papaya
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PS3 had horrible speeds off the drive
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs