1. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,472
    Country:
    Mexico
    You didn't have to reinstall the games?
     
  2. Loltag22

    Loltag22 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Italy
    No, I copy paste the old nintendo folder and all worked properly. I think the problem is in the haruko's patch maybe? I don't know, I'm sure the file were correctly inserted in the SD (tried the same package in another switch and all worked istantly, but on mine no)
     
    ShadowOne333 likes this.
  3. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,472
    Country:
    Mexico
    I'm thinking some file corruption on the NAND side of sorts, but who knows.
    It's helpful to know that copying the Nintendo folder can make it work too.
     
  4. Hardback247

    Hardback247 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    ShadowOne333, I'm new to this site, so I don't know how to send a private message to you. I feel like it's important to tell you. Could you please help me?
     
    ShadowOne333 likes this.
  5. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,472
    Country:
    Mexico
    You can reply here with all freedom :)
    What can I help you out with?
     
  6. Hardback247

    Hardback247 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I found your Twitter account, and I sent a message to you through that. It has to do with the Yoshi's Island: Super Mario Advance 3 SNES color restoration patch you made.
     
  7. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,472
    Country:
    Mexico
    Oh huh, I haven't checked Twitter much lately, much less the inbox.
    It's a little of topic, but if you want tell me quickly about it and I'll respond here.
     
  8. Hardback247

    Hardback247 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I realized that I need to make five posts in order to submit these photos to show you.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    There is something I feel you should fix on that Yoshi's Island GBA color restoration patch you made. Many of the coins that are supposed to be regular yellow coins still have a slight red tint, and many of the coins that are red don't have that red tint before collecting them. It happens a lot throughout the game. Could you please fix it?
     
    Last edited by Hardback247, Jun 5, 2020
  9. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,472
    Country:
    Mexico
    Mmmm that was years ago, but from what I remember, I think the palette itself is shared with other assets/sprites, so if I were to modify the palette, other things might end up being recoloured.
    I think I also had some trouble with the 3D objects' palette.
    I'll see what I can do about it, but I can't guarantee a fix for it if that is indeed the case.
     
  10. Hardback247

    Hardback247 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Left: The original SNES.

    Middle: Your GBA patch. Notice how the middle line of coins doesn't have the red tint.

    Right: Your GBA patch. The coins being carried by the balloon have a red tint, but they aren't red coins.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Hardback247, Jun 5, 2020
  11. Hardback247

    Hardback247 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    You know what? I played the game on the Switch just now, and it turns out, the colors are correct! Never mind. However, I have another question. The color restoration ROM for the first Super Mario Advance has never been finished. Think you could try and finish it? The programs used for it are under the "Read Me" file.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2124/
     
    ShadowOne333 likes this.
  12. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,472
    Country:
    Mexico
    I'd recommend created a new topic, and if you want, tag me in it so we can continue there.
     
  13. Hardback247

    Hardback247 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    How do I tag you?
     
  14. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,472
    Country:
    Mexico
    @ and then my nickname
     
  15. Hardback247

    Hardback247 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    ShadowOne333 likes this.
  16. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,472
    Country:
    Mexico
  17. scorpiotaisho

    scorpiotaisho Harmoknight
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Chile
    Do you initialize the console while on Atmosphere or are you required to boot stock?
    Also, is there an issue if you have autoRCM on? Thanks!
     
    ShadowOne333 likes this.
  18. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,472
    Country:
    Mexico
    I initialized while on Atmosphere, and with AutoRCM enabled.
     
    Lupi likes this.
  19. hiroakihsu

    hiroakihsu SUPREME LURKER OF THE WORLD
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    527
    Country:
    United States
    @ShadowOne333 Thanks a lot for writing this guide! A couple of things in the guide you might want to update though:

    1. Kosmos and Haruko's sigpatches thread are both dead/outdated; you might want to replace those with Deepsea and your new sigpatch thread.
    2. Devmenu no longer works on firmware 10 or greater.
     
    Last edited by hiroakihsu, Sep 2, 2020
    Lupi and ShadowOne333 like this.
  20. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,472
    Country:
    Mexico
    Thanks for pointing that out!
    I have updated the OP to reflect the latest changes.
     
    Lupi and hiroakihsu like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Guide], booting, Switch