[Guide] Community noob guide to Wii U hacking

Discussion in 'Wii U - Tutorials' started by Kafluke, Nov 29, 2016.

  1. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    21
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    I never used geckiine/cafiine/game modding tools.
    But it should work like this :

    1. I don't know if the patchers are working fine with haxchi or CBHC. they were released before haxchi existed, so it might include its own cfw patches and might not like having haxchi/cbhc already in memory. But it's just assumption, like I said I never used these tools.

    2. the principle is like this :

    On PC you run xcx (xenoblade modding tool), which will try to interact with the console.
    on the console, you run a background debugger tool (geckiine) which will act as communicator with the PC.
    then you launch the game, and in the background, the PC tool will tell the debugger to edit game's memory addresses (infinite HP, items, max power, etc.)

    in order for both to communicate, they need to know where to send commands to. either the PC needs your console's IP, or geckiine need the PC's IP.

    3. it's easier if you set fixed IP to both your console and PC, so you'll know the IP address to enter when asked for the "other device's IP".
    if not, then the tool sometime provide the "current IP of this device" that you need to specify in the other tool.
    for example, if homebrew tells you "your wiiu is 192.168.0.2" and xcx asks you the console's IP, this is the number you need to enter.
    on the other way, if homebrew asks you to enter the PC's IP, you need to know it. either xcx provides it, or you'll have to check your computer's info to get it if you didn't set fixed IP manually.


    4.
    so, apparently, when you launch geckiine it tells you "run cafiine with this IP".
    geckiine doesn't know you don't want to use cafiine, but want xcx instead. don't run cafiine on PC.
    run your xcx tool, and it should ask you the IP of the console to connect to. look at geckiine, it provided the IP you need to use in xcx.

    once everything is communicating with each other, launch the game.
    or launch the game before running xcx, I don't know.
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Jan 11, 2019
    Rodrigo2000 likes this.
  2. Escorpion

    Escorpion GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Aug 25, 2015
    Colombia
    Quindío
    Quick Question:
    On a Wii U (USA) with haxchi installed, can i install EUR eshop titles with no problems??

    Psdt: i want install Oddworld new ´n´ Tasty, which is only in EUR.
     
    Last edited by Escorpion, Jan 12, 2019
  3. jeannotte

    jeannotte GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    4
    Jun 15, 2016
    France
    Hello,

    @Escorpion :

    I advise you to use the titles in the origin of the Wii U.

    Normally you should find it in USA version with Wii U USBhelper.
     
  4. azy77

    azy77 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    3
    Apr 11, 2016
    @Escorpion I have a Pal WiiU with Haxchi and half my wiiu games are ntsc. Based on this, I don't think you'll have any issue...

    Btw New'n tastey has horrible slowdown in later levels almost like a slideshow.
     
  5. oldsk00l

    oldsk00l GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    Oct 22, 2015
    Gambia, The
    Thank you @Cyan & @Kafluke my old Friends =D. This guide helped me alot to bring me up to date.
     
    Kafluke likes this.
  6. Sheep83

    Sheep83 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 3, 2019
    United Kingdom
    Hi all, back again.

    So mostly everything is going fine with my USB HDD setup, but have had a few issues with specific games. I keep getting the 'USB device has been disconnected' error with the following games:
    • Yoshi's Woolly World
    • Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
    • Xenoblade Chronicles X
    The HDD has its own power supply and works perfectly with all other games I have tried. I ended up installing Yoshi and DK to the nand and they both work fine, so it's not a bad dump issue. I haven't tried Xenoblade on nand as it's too big.

    Also, BOTW would not work from the HDD with the DLC installed. It kept wanting to do a system update and erroring out because I have DNS blocking enabled. As soon as I uninstalled the DLC, it worked fine. I haven't tried this on nand either.

    Not a huge issue as I have plenty of games to keep me busy, just a minor irritation.

    Any ideas?
     
  7. Flaya

    Flaya GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    GBAtemp Patron
    Flaya is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Jul 15, 2015
    Make sure your HDD doesn't have spin-down. Can't remember how to disable it, but I remember having that issue before.

    Could try a different HDD otherwise.
     
  8. Sheep83

    Sheep83 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 3, 2019
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Flaya.

    I don't think it's a spin-down issue. The error happens at the exact same point with all games, less than a minute after loading. I have disabled HDD power saving through the Wii U's settings.

    I'm beginning to think it's a specific issue with the HDD. It's a fairly old Freecom 250Gb USB2.0.

    Definitely not a big enough issue to fork out for a new HDD.
     
  9. Rodrigo2000

    Rodrigo2000 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 4, 2017
    Brazil
    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    It worked for me. Thanks. Instead of running geckiine, I just went with tpc gecko and connected to xcx tool and it worked.
    Unfortunately, it seems I can't modify the achievements, which was my main concern. But I could do a lot of things anyway.
    Thanks for the help
     
    Cyan likes this.
  10. chrisa1978

    chrisa1978 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 19, 2019
    Australia
    Hi sheep83. Ive soft modded my wii u and installed homebrew. I have 4gb SD card with all the files on to mod and i have a 2tb hdd powered hard drive ready to go. I have a website to download games off. Not sure whats the best method next. I modded a wii which was simple enougb but dont want to brick the wii u. Just some advice really. Im running at 5.5.3 also can i run snes/gamecube games off the hdd with the wii u games ? Thanks very much

    Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk
     
  11. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    21
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    I updated the guide to use 5.5.3 as default (new stable browser exploit).
    I changed only the first two steps.
    I didn't re-read others yet.

    I hope I wrote things properly, and didn't made any mistake.
    if someone can proofread, it would be great.
    I tried to rewrite the hacking steps in correct orders (update first, then browser hax before haxchi, haxchi next, NNU only if needed before buying game, DNS blocking at the end)
    I added a "how to use haxchi" section. it's probably not looking nice, but it's a quick write.

    More steps will require updates, some section need to be added (injecting VCWii games)
    I'd like to change the graphic too, as it contains wrong direction and options for lot of months now. But I don't have it, maybe Kafluke does?
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Jan 19, 2019
    ca032769 likes this.
  12. Flaya

    Flaya GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    GBAtemp Patron
    Flaya is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Jul 15, 2015
    Saw the update ~10 mins ago.

    Looks good.

    Actually followed the new steps for my brothers WiiU just now, and it went fast and smooth.

    :)
     
  13. Glomgold

    Glomgold Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Apr 2, 2016
    Norway
    Thank you for all your work.

    When HaxChi is installed will HBL function without a SD card inserted into the Wii U?
     
  14. OzKenny1983

    OzKenny1983 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 19, 2019
    Australia
    I second that motion...with a vengeance! (lol gotta love old Homer, not the crack-smoking one).

    HBL itself will work if you have it installed as a channel, either on USB or NAND. But your homebrew obviously won't show up if it's all on your SD card.

    Without the HBL channel, the quick and simple answer is no.

    EDIT: Just realised your post is almost 3 years old, so I apologise for not noticing that earlier...I'm sure in that time you've probably worked it out yourself!
     
    Last edited by OzKenny1983, Jan 19, 2019
  15. Flaya

    Flaya GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    GBAtemp Patron
    Flaya is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Jul 15, 2015
    Something's wrong!!

    I posted this Jan 19 2019 and it says Jul 15 2005
     
  16. OzKenny1983

    OzKenny1983 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 19, 2019
    Australia
    Is that a stab at my stupidity or a legitimate comment?? P.S. I freaking love your sig lol
     
  17. Flaya

    Flaya GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    GBAtemp Patron
    Flaya is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Jul 15, 2015
    It's legitimate, I swear.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    LOL... I think you looked at the Join date, not the post date.

    And you made me confused of it as well... Guess I had one to many today. :P
     
    OzKenny1983 likes this.
  18. OzKenny1983

    OzKenny1983 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 19, 2019
    Australia
    lmfao yeah at least I have the excuse of being a n00b here (and to forums in general, never posted more than a couple of times on any forum)! :P

    OK so @Glomgold's post was only a little over an hour ago...phew! I feel much less silly and much more helpful now lol
     
    Glomgold and Flaya like this.
  19. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    21
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    I've read the guide I wrote, and noticed some issues, I'll fix them later.
    Like : I let the user choose to stay on 5.5.1 or update to 5.5.3, but didn't explain to block DNS if they want to stay on 5.5.1 before accessing eshop game. they should already have the DNS enabled if they still are on 5.5.1, but I don't like keeping that info implied. I prefer properly written information.
     
    Flaya likes this.
  20. OzKenny1983

    OzKenny1983 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 19, 2019
    Australia
    Don't we all? In fact, IMHO there's nothing worse than trying to read and understand a guide that assumes you already know half of the relevant stuff...I won't name names, but a few tempers are guilty of this!

    Don't get me wrong, I appreciate the time and effort that those ppl put into writing a guide at all, but I believe that you shouldn't waste your time or others' if you aren't going to do it properly.
     
    Last edited by OzKenny1983, Jan 19, 2019
Loading...