GTAIV

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Lyuse, Apr 29, 2008.

Apr 29, 2008

GTAIV by Lyuse at 8:20 AM (6,894 Views / 0 Likes) 95 replies

  1. Lyuse
    OP

    Lyuse Newbie

    I just got it from the post office and I'm ready to play I got 2 weeks off and I'm planning to use them [​IMG]

    Who else got got it ? [​IMG]
     


  2. Dominator

    Member Dominator the world end without you

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    Location:
    Not on the earth
    Country:
    France
    i order it on amzone, its shipped yesterday but i don't receive it this moring, i have to wait for tomorow T-T that hard,
     
  3. cherryduck

    Member cherryduck GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    The far side of the moon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did! Been playing incessantly, I'm pretty far in but I haven't got to fly a chopper yet [​IMG]

    Oh and just to make you jealous I've had it since last Thursday [​IMG]

    Got it on special pre-order.
     
  4. Lyuse
    OP

    Lyuse Newbie

    I heard the SIXAXIS control sucks with choppers

    I wouldn't use it anyway, I'm gonna go out and buy a DS3 just to feel the bullets [​IMG]
     
  5. cherryduck

    Member cherryduck GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    The far side of the moon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got it on the Xbox 360, whats a DS3?
     
  6. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom


    i know i am happy [​IMG] amazon FTW, will be using them again [​IMG]
     
  7. Lyuse
    OP

    Lyuse Newbie

    DualShock 3

    btw haven't played it yet its still in that little plastic wrapping I just bought a DS3 and got loads of snacks and I'm ready to start my GTA marathon

    Goodbye world see you in two weeks

    GTA FTW
     
  8. greyhound

    Member greyhound GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just got home to find it on the mat [​IMG]
     
  9. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hoorah!
     
  10. greyhound

    Member greyhound GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    oops
     
  11. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Really? I suppose I should break open my special edition, which I received this morning, but which is still sealed, and sat on a shelf ... that's what happens when you donwload games, when you already have them on per-order ...
     
  12. neveras

    Member neveras GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    Picked up the ps3 version this morning [​IMG]
    Haven't had a chance to play until now
     
  13. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    According to pixel counters, the PS3 version runs at a lower resolution than the 360 and according to forum members there is a lot of freezing [​IMG]
     
  14. neveras

    Member neveras GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    and I was about to add that seeing a forum topic about this without console fanboyism was nice.
    But whoops.

    Also, I've seen that article too, and the way he comes to that conclusion is a little odd. 620p? Also. lol wut.

    Edit #3 - PSN Id is - Neveras07 if anyone wants to add me for potential multiplayer in the future.
     
  15. Alerek

    Member Alerek GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    What I've played is great...Makes me really sad though, hearing the conversations of most of the people in line.

    I love it when people boast about their modded ps3s.
     
  16. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    I've actually heard the opposite. That it runs better on the PS3 but this is because it has to be installed onto the HDD. And that the graphics are slightly improved. But no downloadable content for PS3 only 360. I'm sure the graphical differences are hardly noticeable if at all though.
     
  17. neveras

    Member neveras GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    There is downloadable content for the ps3, it's just the 360 is getting exclusive content in the co-op missions mode. From what I've seen of the two demo units they had in store, the ps3 version feels sharper although that leads it to be a bit plasticky, while the 360 is a bit cartoony? Hard to put it any other way. It's not bad though. Comes down to preference.
     
  18. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah i've been playing the 360 version thanks to iXtreme for the past few days and it is a tiny bit cartoony.
    I have an unopened PS3 sitting next to me that I bought yesterday but I have no games for it so I can't compare.
     
  19. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Saw the same article I think, also:

    "PS3 owners of GTA IV are reporting that they are receiving errors when trying to connect online with the game to play a multi-player game. They have been receiving the following message: "Cannot connect to game provider, please try again."

    Rockstar: If game freezes, erase game data and start over
    According to a chap over at the US PlayStation forums, a Rockstar has said that those who are experiencing problems with GTA IV freezing should "erase the game data (the original install and the game saves) and then start over." This apparently solves the issue.


    PS3 GTA IV runs at 640p *UPDATE*

    After receiving some better ps3 screens, Quaz51 from the beyond3d forum has concluded that the PS3 version of GTA IV does indeed run at 640p w/o AA. However a "good post-process filter on PS3 version do a good job for hide aliasing and improve visual." The 360 version runs at 720p + 2AA. (Thanks Artur) UPDATE: Also, one site has found that "there is no full-screen video mode for in-game TV in the Xbox 360 version." The PS3 version does has this option but with the 360 you are forced to "view what's on the box in a small viewing area."

    quote:

    Good news, dot50cal send me very good screenshot (thanks) and finally it's 1152x640p (and no AA) exactly like Halo3, perfect Dark or Dark sector PS3
    even though i has clearly identified 7/8 recurrence on many different edge and screenshot but insufficient edge lenght and bad screenshot lead astray me, sorry, it's finally 8/9 and 9/10 recurrence, it's the final result!

    quote:

    Originally Posted by GAZOman
    I think it would be nice if someone would just add all the info into one post because the thing gets kind of confusing.

    well, I have both versions at home - its GTA so I would like to have the best version anyway.

    I don't need to count pixels to tell you that neither of the versions is native 720p - 360 is NOT 720p and has almost as much aliasing as halo3 did. just compare a real 720p game to the 360 version of GTA4 side by side and you could end all the speculation within a second.

    if you ask me, the differences are very minor - I will look into it tonight again. one thing is for sure: the PS3 has not better AA like IGN and other reviews were implying and the framerate in general is horrible in both versions. after the dithering debate I will mostly look into that, the HDR thing and of course a deep comparison of framerates.

    PS: this thread is up on eurogamer and n4g
    http://www.eurogamer.net/article.php?article_id=134736

    no, 360 version is clearly 720p AAx2 but good post-process filter on PS3 version do a good job for hide aliasing and imrove visual, and the little more blurry aspect with more hot tint make a more cinematic feeling, probably what some tester like on PS3 version, and with less pop-in, finally every version is good (phew.... it's delicate topic )

    News Source: beyond3d and beyond3d

    News Source: videogamer



    Not seen anything about the 360 version except this:
    Reps from Rockstar called the Opie and Anthony radio show today to talk about GTA IV. Rockstar said on the show that they are already working on the Xbox 360 DLC and that it may be released as soon as this summer (earlier than Microsoft's announcement that it will be coming of this Autumn).


    Not saying the 360 version is better, decide that for yourself, just spreading news [​IMG]
    Currently at 27% completion.
     
  20. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    After doing some googling it seems that only the 60gb version of ps3 is being affected by the freezing issue? Weird.. Maybe rockstar will fix it or maybe a firmware update?
     

Share This Page