Graphical corruption after WiiKey install

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by t0ad, Apr 1, 2007.

Apr 1, 2007
  1. t0ad
    OP

Newcomer t0ad Newbie

United States
    Hey all. After wrestling with my Wii for a couple hours, I finally managed to get all 6 wires soldered into place and the chip tucked away. Definitely not a pretty install as I'm a soldering noob, but it looks functional. Put it back together and brought it inside.. booted it up .. and.. I get random little flashing pixels on screen in the system menu. D'oh. I pop in the WiiKey setup disc and it fires right up and looks fine, which is good. However, I put an original copy of Twilight Princess in and I get some definitely noticeable corruption..

Pics:

http://www.softwarepirate.net/pics/wiiglitches1.jpg
    http://www.softwarepirate.net/pics/wiiglitches2.jpg

You can see them pretty clearly there. It's rather annoying since the modchip seems to be working (have no backups to test .. yet). I took it back apart and touched up a few places with a bit more solder as well as scraped in between all connections to make sure nothing was touching, but the graphical glitches remain. Anyone seen this before? Should just I attempt to pull it off and see if it's alright without the chip? Hopefully I didn't screw the whole console up [​IMG]

2. kristijan08

Member kristijan08 GBAtemp Fan

Australia
    Ah dude sucks to be you, my mate had this problem and we ended up working out it was a common problem. Its an overheating problem with the GPU (graphics processor unit). You can look it up on google, it has nothing to do with your install or your wiikey. Why it sucks is because the only way to fix it is to take your wii back to nintendo, but presumably you have voided your warranty now....

let us know what happens

3. t0ad
    OP

Newcomer t0ad Newbie

United States