[Graphic_Mod] Dying Light

Neffin

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
97
Country
France
Hi everyone,
I'd like to know if it is possible to enhance graphics in Dying Light.
Is it possible to get a config.txt from the game ?
Thanks
 

mattyxarope

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
538
Trophies
0
XP
1,748
Country
United States
"The Switch version of Dying Light's modding capabilities are bad. At least I did not find any obvious ways to sew a different config after a cursory examination of the dump."
 

Neffin

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
97
Country
France
"The Switch version of Dying Light's modding capabilities are bad. At least I did not find any obvious ways to sew a different config after a cursory examination of the dump."
Too bad, I would have loved better resolution at least.
Thanks for the answer
 

Falo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2012
Messages
656
Trophies
1
XP
2,389
Country
Germany
Modding Dying Light on Switch works the same way as on PC, so far any PC mod that i tested also works on Switch.

For configuration mods, unpack "romfs\DW\Data0.pak" and "romfs\DW\Data3.pak" from the latest update.
use 7zip to open Data0.pak and place any modified file into Data3.pak, the folder structure MUST be the same as Data0.pak.

all *.pak files are just renamed zip files.

just an example: unpack "data\skills\default_levels.xml" from Data0.pak and mod these values:
<prop n="BluntWpnDurabilityLoss" v="1.0"/> <prop n="CutWpnDurabilityLoss" v="1.0"/>
to
<prop n="BluntWpnDurabilityLoss" v="0.0"/> <prop n="CutWpnDurabilityLoss" v="0.0"/>
Then repack it into Data3.pak, place it into your sd card to "atmosphere\contents\01008C8012920000\romfs\DW\Data3.pak"
and you will have unlimited weapon durability.

I don't know if you can mod the resolution, but i would not recommend it, the game runs great for the limited hardware, but some stuff is just too much for the switch.
 

pwjpssdfvqyuhweuxx

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
99
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
216
Country
Senegal
Modding Dying Light on Switch works the same way as on PC, so far any PC mod that i tested also works on Switch.

For configuration mods, unpack "romfs\DW\Data0.pak" and "romfs\DW\Data3.pak" from the latest update.
use 7zip to open Data0.pak and place any modified file into Data3.pak, the folder structure MUST be the same as Data0.pak.

all *.pak files are just renamed zip files.

just an example: unpack "data\skills\default_levels.xml" from Data0.pak and mod these values:
<prop n="BluntWpnDurabilityLoss" v="1.0"/> <prop n="CutWpnDurabilityLoss" v="1.0"/>
to
<prop n="BluntWpnDurabilityLoss" v="0.0"/> <prop n="CutWpnDurabilityLoss" v="0.0"/>
Then repack it into Data3.pak, place it into your sd card to "atmosphere\contents\01008C8012920000\romfs\DW\Data3.pak"
and you will have unlimited weapon durability.

I don't know if you can mod the resolution, but i would not recommend it, the game runs great for the limited hardware, but some stuff is just too much for the switch.
oh that is great. thanks for the info!
I just wanted to look into how to increase the render distance a little bit.
 

Angel-Myers

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 4, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
13
Country
Mexico
Modding Dying Light on Switch works the same way as on PC, so far any PC mod that i tested also works on Switch.

For configuration mods, unpack "romfs\DW\Data0.pak" and "romfs\DW\Data3.pak" from the latest update.
use 7zip to open Data0.pak and place any modified file into Data3.pak, the folder structure MUST be the same as Data0.pak.

all *.pak files are just renamed zip files.

just an example: unpack "data\skills\default_levels.xml" from Data0.pak and mod these values:
<prop n="BluntWpnDurabilityLoss" v="1.0"/> <prop n="CutWpnDurabilityLoss" v="1.0"/>
to
<prop n="BluntWpnDurabilityLoss" v="0.0"/> <prop n="CutWpnDurabilityLoss" v="0.0"/>
Then repack it into Data3.pak, place it into your sd card to "atmosphere\contents\01008C8012920000\romfs\DW\Data3.pak"
and you will have unlimited weapon durability.

I don't know if you can mod the resolution, but i would not recommend it, the game runs great for the limited hardware, but some stuff is just too much for the switch.
So do you have any modded weapon on switch?
Modding Dying Light on Switch works the same way as on PC, so far any PC mod that i tested also works on Switch.

For configuration mods, unpack "romfs\DW\Data0.pak" and "romfs\DW\Data3.pak" from the latest update.
use 7zip to open Data0.pak and place any modified file into Data3.pak, the folder structure MUST be the same as Data0.pak.

all *.pak files are just renamed zip files.

just an example: unpack "data\skills\default_levels.xml" from Data0.pak and mod these values:
<prop n="BluntWpnDurabilityLoss" v="1.0"/> <prop n="CutWpnDurabilityLoss" v="1.0"/>
to
<prop n="BluntWpnDurabilityLoss" v="0.0"/> <prop n="CutWpnDurabilityLoss" v="0.0"/>
Then repack it into Data3.pak, place it into your sd card to "atmosphere\contents\01008C8012920000\romfs\DW\Data3.pak"
and you will have unlimited weapon durability.

I don't know if you can mod the resolution, but i would not recommend it, the game runs great for the limited hardware, but some stuff is just too much for the switch.
Hi bro , do you have some modded weapons on switch ? Or can you get them using pc Data ?
 

Falo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2012
Messages
656
Trophies
1
XP
2,389
Country
Germany
So do you have any modded weapon on switch?

Hi bro , do you have some modded weapons on switch ? Or can you get them using pc Data ?

Switch is on Version 1.43.0, so if you install that PC Version you can freely transfer any save data between PC and Switch.
(Latest PC Version is 1.45.0, the 3rd Hellraid Update / Van Crane DLC, which is NOT compatible with Switch)

As i said any mod that works on PC, also works on Switch, this includes weapon mods, i don't have any on my current save/mods, but i tested adding the Grappling Hook to the Hellraid Inventory via PC Memory Editing and it works perfectly.
 

Gav1n4t0r

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 13, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
3
Country
Philippines
Switch is on Version 1.43.0, so if you install that PC Version you can freely transfer any save data between PC and Switch.
(Latest PC Version is 1.45.0, the 3rd Hellraid Update / Van Crane DLC, which is NOT compatible with Switch)

As i said any mod that works on PC, also works on Switch, this includes weapon mods, i don't have any on my current save/mods, but i tested adding the Grappling Hook to the Hellraid Inventory via PC Memory Editing and it works perfectly.
How do I access the paks when I tried to get to them, all there was were Album, content, and save, in the album file, it was full of pictures, in the Content, there were two files, placehld and registered, inside them were numbered files that had files within them holding sometimes up to 4 GB, and in the save file, it was just two files with numbers on them, how do I get to the paks?
 

Slluxx

GBATemp Mayor
Developer
Joined
Jul 17, 2019
Messages
341
Trophies
0
XP
1,032
Country
Germany
How do I access the paks when I tried to get to them, all there was were Album, content, and save, in the album file, it was full of pictures, in the Content, there were two files, placehld and registered, inside them were numbered files that had files within them holding sometimes up to 4 GB, and in the save file, it was just two files with numbers on them, how do I get to the paks?
you have to use nxdumptool to dump the files from RomFS (not nintendo folder or savegame) and after editing, put it to the location Falo has said
 

Gav1n4t0r

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 13, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
3
Country
Philippines
you have to use nxdumptool to dump the files from RomFS (not nintendo folder or savegame) and after editing, put it to the location Falo has said
How do I use nxdumptool? And is there anywhere I can download it? Also, what's RomFS?
 

Terrorize420

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
94
Trophies
0
XP
1,131
Country
United States
I use the dev menu on switch and it has some settings for graphics i never messed with them mostly just used the all skills unlocked

But i would like to know if anyone got the item menu in dev menu to work on switch or if some one knows whats needed to fix it on switch
 

gcseed

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2016
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
47
Country
United States
Switch is on Version 1.43.0, so if you install that PC Version you can freely transfer any save data between PC and Switch.
(Latest PC Version is 1.45.0, the 3rd Hellraid Update / Van Crane DLC, which is NOT compatible with Switch)

As i said any mod that works on PC, also works on Switch, this includes weapon mods, i don't have any on my current save/mods, but i tested adding the Grappling Hook to the Hellraid Inventory via PC Memory Editing and it works perfectly.
Hi Falo, so I tried PC version 1.43.0. However, Switch version 1.0.3 introduced Hellraid update, which makes the PC version unable to read the switch file (It will show as incompatible).. but the PC save from 1.43 does work on Switch, just not the other way around unfortunately. Do you know if there's any work around for now because Switch can't read any saves from neither 1.44 nor 1.45 of the PC version unfortunately...
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: On y dit oui