Grand theft auto chinatown wars

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Bently, Mar 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Mar 14, 2010

Grand theft auto chinatown wars by Bently at 1:50 AM (1,121 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, so I know this game might be old but for some reason GTA Chinatown wars ROM that I put on my Kingston 4GB SDHC card
    for the M3 Real seems to slow down quite often (frames problem), and also the multiplayer doesn't seem to work. Is there fixes
    for these problems? (Im running the newest system firmware found on the M3 Sakura FAQs topic [03/06/10])

    More Info:
    The GTA rom is clean to my knowledge.
     
  2. MaGosT

    Member MaGosT GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Sweden
    What class is ur sd card?
     
  3. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Class 4, but I don't see how that makes much difference to gameplay speed, or multiplayer issues...
     
  4. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    The class basically says how fast your micro sd will be able to communicate with your m3i zero. So if your m3i zero needs certain data from the rom, it needs to read the microsd and grab it from the rom. The faster it does this the smoother the game will play.

    Sometimes the classes aren't an exact representation of how fast your microsd can be accessed. I have a class 4 Kingston and I have no slowdown problems at all for GTA, so it might be that it's more of a class 5 card. It just depends, look into getting a class 6 micosd (I have a class 6 Transcend and I never have any freezes or slowdowns in roms that normally have these problems).
     
  5. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    I have no slowdowns on my MicroSD 4gb class 2. Using latest Sakura.
     
  6. MaGosT

    Member MaGosT GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Sweden
    have u tryed twewy intro movie with ur class 2 ^?
     
  7. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, but I have tried the Castlevania movie thing and it lagged badly. But didn't lag on my Acekard.
     
  8. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Does the amount of space used contribute to the slowdown?
    Because i have about 300MB left.. (i think) I could try deleting
    some games i dont play and the movie 300.
     
  9. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Amount of space left counts on hard drives, so it might on memory cards too.
     
  10. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I see, im going to try freeing up some space on my memory card and
    I will post my results. ^^
     
  11. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok so i deleted about 900MB worth of games and now have 1.03GB free space,
    I tried the game and it seems a tad bit faster but there are still noticeable frame
    rate issues, not much difference from when I had 100MB of space. Well it was
    worth a try anyways, now what about the multiplayer problems? They still
    exist.
     
  12. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    The multiplayer should work, make sure your rom is absolutely clean.
     
  13. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright then, thanks for you're help.
    Now i need to request a mod to close this.
     
  14. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page