got XBOX 360!! now what??

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by C175R, Aug 13, 2010.

Aug 13, 2010

got XBOX 360!! now what?? by C175R at 11:24 PM (1,879 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

1. C175R
    OP

Member C175R GBAtemp Pirate

United States
    So I just got an xbox 360 (from craigist) but Im really new to this...
    apparently its not modded or banned.
    but when I try to connect it online it asks for an update. should I do it?
    if i do the update, will I still be able to softmod it?
    help pleaseee

2. amptor

Banned amptor Banned

United States
    if it is already updated beyond a certain date, then go for it on the update.. this late in the game, kinda doubtful that you'd be able to jtag it. just check your version in the system menu and do a google search to see what version you're able to jtag to.

if you want to play games online I'd suggest never modding it and just buying the games you like

if you mod the system and download too many games, you will never really play it. it will just sit powered down. just my experience.

3. Fudge

Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

United States
    I'm afraid of this. I hope I don't lose interest in my 360.

4. TwinRetro

Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

United States
    Piracy ruins the experience of a system. Tis the plight of the pirate.

5. C175R
    OP

United States
    the dashboard says
    i dont know what day is it tho. nor if thats a firmware lol

6. Delta517

Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

Norway
    To JTAG a Xbox 360, you have to have firmware 2.0.7371.0 or lower, which you don't, so updating for you is safe. [​IMG]

7. Livin in a box

Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

United Kingdom
    If you update you'll still be able to flash your DVD drive, it's just that taking a flashed DVD drive onto LIVE isn't safe and will most likely get your console banned.

8. C175R
    OP

United States