got my new 8800GT!!

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by juggernaut911, May 23, 2008.

May 23, 2008

got my new 8800GT!! by juggernaut911 at 6:20 PM (2,660 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    got it, installed it, reinstalled windows and it installed on E:\ which is gay, and ran the Lost Coast stress test, not even maxing out settings,
    i got 114.06 FPS!!!
    thats 114.06 more than I ever had! ginormous upgrade from Radeon X1300 Pro! NVIDIA FTW!

    just thought I'd share that
     


  2. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm glad for you dude.
    Just got my new graphics card yesterday as well. I'm downl;oading portal right now [​IMG]
     
  3. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    legally? lol


    I went up about 6-7 thousand on 3dmark!!!!! WOOT!
     
  4. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Nice one!

    I know a friend who bought an 8800GT to replace an X1300Pro too [​IMG]
     
  5. Lurick

    Newcomer Lurick Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Congratulations ... that's the same card I've got! It serves exceptionally well for the most part. The only qualm I have is that I have a widescreen flatpanel monitor, and I also tend to play a lot of older games in which higher resolutions and widescreen aspect ratios are not options. Registry edits can fix the resolution issue, but aspect ratios are another matter. In other words, the video card and monitor stretches the image out to look all squashed and ooky, just to fit the display's native resolution.

    Most modern video cards (including the 8800GT) have ways in which to preserve aspect ratio for older resolutions, but unfortunately, there's a major bug in nVidia's drivers, and that feature has been broken for going on two years now. If they'd fix that, I'd be 100% satisfied with it.

    If that's not going to be an issue for you, I'd say that you're set.
     
  6. ZPE

    Member ZPE GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do gfx cards need to be installed on your hard drive? I thought it was just a piece of card that processes graphical data.
     
  7. Flozem

    Member Flozem GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Netherlands
    got it, installed it, reinstalled windows and it installed on E:\

    No, but Windows generally is... [​IMG]
     
  8. Sn4k3X

    Newcomer Sn4k3X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Netherlands
    wow nice! 114 fps!
    a year ago i switched from a pentium 3 1 ghz pc to a dual core 2,6 pc
    with ati x1950 pro
    and i was like WOW!!!
    i can't even imagine how it would've been with the 8800gt man!

    congratulations with your card [​IMG]
     
  9. superkrm

    Member superkrm GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    a Rick Rolled Nation
    Country:
    United States
    i think ur setup is bugged.
    I'm having no problems running games at 4:3 on my 16:10.
    You might need to fiddle with settings a little bit. It took me awhile to get it right.

    And

    welcome to the club juggernaught
     
  10. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol piece of card
     
  11. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    yay! I can play my Knight of the Old Republic (best RPG of all time!!!) now. X1300 would crash on low settings before I could take a step. 8800G plays max like nothing!


    is there software I can use to view FPS?
     
  12. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try FRAPS
     
  13. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    doesnt fraps cost?
     
  14. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    "Registered users please visit the Members Area for the full version"

    Implies that download isn't the full version and paid customers use the full version and I've used it before and I think the full version isnt free.
     
  16. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    im soooooooo jealous!
     
  17. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Congrats [​IMG]
    Ive had a 8800GT for 4 months and i really love the card [​IMG]
     
  18. Lurick

    Newcomer Lurick Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    No, it's a very well-documented issue, and it's a topic of raging debate over on nVidia's official forums. Rather, I think what's going on in your case is one of the only known work-arounds for the issue -- certain monitors have the capability to adjust scaling for aspect ratios on their own. The newer drivers have the "use my display's built-in scaling" option set by default (check in the nVidia control panel to see). If your monitor is capable of it, then this will resolve the issue.

    Unfortunately, my Samsung Syncmaster relies on software scaling, so I'm a slave to whatever my video card can do. It's an excellent monitor otherwise, though.
     
  19. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] it crashed my computer.

    dang GMOD10


    is Forceware 175.16 the latest driver?
     
  20. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    I think so.
     

Share This Page