Got my "N5 Revolution card" got some questions.

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Xandu, Mar 11, 2008.

Mar 11, 2008
  1. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Just got my "N5 Revolution card" and I heard it's a clone/rip off of R4. But it doesn't have the same interface, does it?

    [​IMG]

    What cart is that ripoff?

    Ok some questions,
    -Moonshell boots up but, it gives "not support adapter?" on .NDS files.
    -Can I somehow run another card's OS on it?
    -What are the disadvantages of this card?
    -What games won't run on this?
    -What must-have DS programs/games should I get? Since this is my first DS Flash Cart.

    Thanks, more questions will be added later (when I think of them [​IMG]).
     


  2. Fieryshadowz

    Member Fieryshadowz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Country:
    United States
    That is the same interface as the R4 / M3S
     
  3. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last I checked you can't run NDS files straight from Moonshell.

    Also, it's an R4 Clone. Same interface too, lazy cloners.
     
  4. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    it does look like the R4 interface, and the inability to load executables from Moonshell is shared with the R4.
     
  5. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Hmm, can I run Opera without any additional Expantion pak?
     
  6. Kaos

    Member Kaos Good show!

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    No. No flashcard can do that.

    You'll need the official expansion pak or a compatible Slot-2 card to run the Opera browser.
     
  7. arsehat

    Member arsehat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes, it does. Exactly the same - except this uses an unencrypted kernel, whereas the R4's is encrypted. Oh, and there's also the small matter of changing "R4DS" in the kernel to "N5DS". Huge changes, and an enormous development effort [​IMG]

    Decrypt the R4's _DS_MENU.DAT using Yasu's r4dec.exe and it'll work perfectly on these. You can find it in the downloads section.

    There are obvious hardware differences between this and the R4 - the R4 has one smallish chip, this thing has one smallish and one bloody huge one as they appear to have tried to emulate the R4's chip's functionality with what they could get their hands on. Depending on how perfect that emulation is, there's a possibility that Team R4 might be able to find a way to stop future version of their kernel working on the n5 - because the n5's makers aren't developing their own software, there's a chance these things could be orphaned.

    These things are relatively cheap, but I'm not sure I'd let my friends get one until we've seen a few R4 kernel updates that continue to work on them. If you're happy with the compatibility that the R4 kernel gives you today, then these might be an okay purchase. Just don't count on these continuing to work with R4 kernel 1.17 or beyond, because if I was Team R4 I'd be doing everything in my power to stop my kernel working on these things. These things aren't a near-identical implemenation like the WiiKey clones - these are the result of reverse-engineering and use of different components, and there's a chance that they're a less-perfect implementation than their designers hoped.

    Of course, there's the possibility that there's nothing Team R4 can do and these things will work properly with all future updates of the R4 kernel, or that it might take them a few updates to find something in the n5 they can exploit without breaking compatibility with all the legitimate R4 and M3Simply variants - but it's too early to tell just yet.
     
  8. Seina

    Newcomer Seina Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry. My sincerest condolences. Let us know if you get SDHC and/or 8GB cards working on it.
     
  9. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    I really like this part:
    Now thats good stuff.
     
  10. xinster

    Newcomer xinster Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I have gotten sdhc on my n5 (i got the microsd from microcenter)
    the only issue i've gotten with this card was that i ordered an edge card but gave me this
    and also the cheats are displayed in chinese
    oh yeah they didn't give me a installation cd either =.= they said that "since we come up with frequent updates we find it it unnecessary to send you one sorry for the inconvenience"
    any help?
     
  11. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I feel sorry for you dude. This cart is a bad one.....
     
  12. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Lets just hope your ds still works after you've used it for a while.
     
  13. ozzymud

    Member ozzymud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    It will MOST certainly fry the fuse in his DS after using for a while, there is a known problem with the MicroSD slot... ANY N5 user should see THIS LINK and either STOP using the N5 or make the nessacery repairs.

    This is the only card that i can confirm as being an R4 clone that WILL "brick" your DS. I've found no evidence of any other clone doing it.
     
  14. mad567

    Member mad567 D. Gregar

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    Greece
    Congratulations [​IMG]...............................You just got the Biggest CRAP [​IMG]
     
  15. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Can't the N5 brick your DS?
     
  16. ozzymud

    Member ozzymud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    read like 2 posts up from your question, yes, it has an issue with pins underneath the sd slot pushing into the pcb, but for those that insist on a fix, just need some soldering skills and a dremel to shorten the pins.
     
  17. tKo HaXoR

    Member tKo HaXoR GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    well actually, the pins might be an issue, but atleast they actually updated their firmware.. jk, it solves a dumb problem with a french game that nobody will ever play!
     
  18. ozzymud

    Member ozzymud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    heh, it looks like all R4 hexedit/injects/whatever will only ever solve problems with games most (well americans) wont play

    Looking at an R4 game compatibility list wiki, it appears that mostly (J) or (K) games have issues, some (E)uropean, but those have (US) versions that are fine on R4. And even then, the ones ive tested that that site says need arm7 patching seem to work fine on my clone III.
     
  19. agentgamma

    Member agentgamma I dont know what to put here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Whats the poijnt when an N5 costs $142.76 (when your NDS bricks you will understand!) and that doesn't come with the MicroSD card!! =(
     
  20. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What happens if another game is released with similar protection to FF:CC. There's no way that any of the clone makers will be able to fix the problem.
     

Share This Page