Got my CycloDS - what are the next steps?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by sekhu, May 13, 2010.

May 13, 2010
  1. sekhu
    OP

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So my cart finally arrived, a month later than it should have been. I'm not sure what to do next. When I had my EZ Flash V I had to format the microsd using a cli because windows wouldn't format it right. Anyway, I have a CycloDS and a Class 4 8GB San Disk Ultra I believe. I'm on Win 7 Ultimate.

    I@ve read some of the topics, but I'm just looking for a quick guide to start as it didn't come with one.

    I assume it would be something like:

    1) Format Micro SD using Panasonic Formatter tool (google right?)
    2) Put ROMS on the microSD
    3) Update the firmware to the latest one (not sure how to do this yet - google again?)
    4) Add skins to microsd if desired (again not sure on this)

    I also want to know how to use RTS on the cart, as I believe it allows this function, yes? I Have 0 interest in cheats so that doesnt' bother me, homebrew is also not really of interest - I Have other devices that do what I want them to do better than the HB on the DS, so I am only using it for gaming.

    Any tips or links I Should check out in order to get back to playing DS games again (I haven't touched my DS in nearly two years, so I assume I've missed a couple of games).

    thanks in advance
     
  2. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Link. That is the latest (beta) firmware. Download it, and put the update.evo file in the root of your MicroSD card. For RTS, when you've selected the game you want it on, open the menu by tapping it on the touch screen, left bottom of the screen or by pressing the Y button. From there, Manage Saves, and use Create RTS. Launch the game. When you want to use RTS, press L, R, X, A, Y and B at the same time. Then use Realtime Save and Realtime Load.
     
  3. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
  4. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    to add games do I have to use the cyclods rom patcher for every game? or can I just copy them to the sd card?
     
  5. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    You dont have to patch anything.
     
  6. Ritsuki

    Member Ritsuki ORAORAORAORA

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Use vB.3 or v1.59 stable. The only difference is that the GUI has been improved in vB.3, but it's still in beta test phase
     
  7. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cool ok, I was wondering because I got that tool off their website
     
  8. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That was for the ancient slot 2 products. The Evolution doesn't need any patching tools.
     
  9. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sweet let the copying commence [​IMG]
     
  10. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry to be a pain in the ass, 2 last questions really

    when I copy games to the sd card do they have to be in root or can they be in a folder?
    when I format the sd card do I have to use the panasonic app or can I just format it fat32 or something, as I use linux not windows
     
  11. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The ROMs can be anywhere you want.
    You can format using any tool you want, even the built-in formatter.
     
  12. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for the prompty reply [​IMG]
     
  13. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, they can be in the root, or they can be in folders, but don't put them in the CycloDS folder, or any hidden/system folders, as you won't be able to access them.
     
  14. Njrg

    Banned Njrg Kinsoku Jikou Desu. ^.~

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    United States
    Personally I'd say skip the skin for now.

    Most skins made by fellow users today don't take into consideration of what should be correct backgrounds and the correct fonts.

    I can download a Miku-theme and the text/borders will be the same color as most of the background making it really tough to read.

    Yeah they look neat but I have to squint all the time on custom-skins. God help me if I want cheats.
     
  15. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well it was my sons birthday yesterday and after a couple of mins he can now use updated to 1.59 [​IMG]
     

Share This Page