Got lot of questions about my sky3ds

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by hentaiprane, Aug 11, 2015.

  1. hentaiprane
    OP

    hentaiprane Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 11, 2015
    Macau
    Hi guys
    First im sorry if my english isn't that good i'm not an english speaker

    I've got last 2 weeks a sky3ds , used it to play lot of games in this holidays with just playing 3ds us games

    But recently i m trying to do something more with it like playing all regions games , play those ' cia ' games ( don't understand what it is if you can explain me please ) running rom hack games and playing online

    So i did some researches and i found some things like emunand , ninjhax , region three but i can't really understand how it works , all the tutorials are talking about specific system versions like more than 9
    But my version is 8.1.0-12U

    I will really apreciate if someone explained me what possibilities i have with this sky 3ds and how i can manage to make it work on my 3ds
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. ChaosEternal

    ChaosEternal GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    100
    29
    Jul 27, 2015
    United States
    Okay, so you can't do anything except play roms on a Sky3DS. However, since you have a 3DS with a firmware that is 9.2 or lower, you do have several options. Is your 3DS and original 3DS or a "New" 3DS?
     
  3. hentaiprane
    OP

    hentaiprane Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 11, 2015
    Macau
    My 3ds is an original 3ds the blue lagoon one
     
  4. ChaosEternal

    ChaosEternal GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    100
    29
    Jul 27, 2015
    United States
    Okay, awesome. That means things will be pretty easy. My recommendation would be to install rxTools using this guide. You can use either the "No gateway or Cubic Ninja" sections of the guide or you can use the "Cubic Ninja" sections of the guide since you have a Sky3DS. Either will work in the end, although the Cubic Ninja method may be slightly easier.
     
    ChengCheng and Quantumcat like this.
  5. hentaiprane
    OP

    hentaiprane Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 11, 2015
    Macau
    Sorry for my late answer
    in this tutorial i must install ninjhax but i heard that there is ninjhax 2.0 so what should i do ?
    And there is step 4a and step 4b , can i use step 4a if i don't have physical version of cubic ninja but just the game in my sky3ds ?
    And before i do all this can someone explain me what all this does sorry i'm a newbie
     
  6. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Member
    10,421
    5,499
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Use Ninjhax 1.1, 2.0 doesn't allow any CFW, it is for those on later firmwares wanting to use homebrew or region free.

    Sky3DS with a cubic ninja rom is just as good as a real cartridge. Just make sure you get a rom of the same region as your 3ds.
     
  7. hentaiprane
    OP

    hentaiprane Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 11, 2015
    Macau
    Hi again
    In the ninjhax site when i choose my firmware the page with qr code won't load
    does that mean that they dont have for my version ?
    EDIT : after many tries an image is finally there but its not a qr code , it just says sorry version unsupported :(
     
    Last edited by hentaiprane, Aug 13, 2015
  8. tony_2018

    tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,106
    1,050
    Jan 3, 2014
    United States
    Can you populate a qr code for any other firmware version? Just need to see if the site is functioning like it should.
     
  9. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,824
    4,994
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    Site is not loading for me.
    Your version should be supported. Make sure you pick "OLD" rather than "NEW". Using this page: http://smealum.net/ninjhax
    If for some reason 8.1 isn't supported, you can use a 9.2 ROM with the Sky to update. Go to http://3dsdb.com and type 9.2 in the search box to see games with that firmware.

    Whatever you do, don't ever update past 9.2. You can use an emuNAND with rxTools and update that, but if you update your sysNAND you'll forever lose the ability to use CFW and all the nice things that come with it. Just mentioning it, as many people seem to think they have no other option than updating the 3DS if they want to use eShop or newer games, but with emuNAND you can do all that and still have a hackable firmware. Plus you need CFW to run games with the new AP as it blocks Sky.
     
    Last edited by The Real Jdbye, Aug 13, 2015
  10. tony_2018

    tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,106
    1,050
    Jan 3, 2014
    United States
    That probably explains why he is having issues.
     
  11. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,824
    4,994
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    Probably. Well, the site loaded now, but the firmware version boxes were empty.
     
  12. tony_2018

    tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,106
    1,050
    Jan 3, 2014
    United States
    Site maintenance...or redundancy has failed.
     
  13. hentaiprane
    OP

    hentaiprane Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 11, 2015
    Macau
    Thank for your answers
    yeah the site isn't working good so i will wait until it works

    The real jdbye i didn't understand this part :

    Actually i didn't understand all this , all those words seems complicated i'm new to 3ds
    when i will install rxtools what it will do ? what is emunand and cfw
     
  14. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,824
    4,994
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    sysNAND is the firmware built in to your 3DS.
    emuNAND is a copy of the firmware on your SD card that you can use with rxTools ("emulated" hence emuNAND), and update without changing your built in firmware.
    CFW = custom firmware, like rxTools, PastaCFW and a few others, it's what you use to install/run CIA files among other things.
    CFW can be used with both sysNAND and emuNAND, they are not directly related other than the fact that you need a CFW to be able to use emuNAND at all. However, if you don't use emuNAND then you won't have the ability to update to the latest firmware while keeping your 3DS hackable.
     
  15. hentaiprane
    OP

    hentaiprane Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 11, 2015
    Macau
    Thanks for your reply
    I have a 2gb sd card so i want after all the installing to use my 32 go micro sd in my sky3ds to run those cia , can i ?
     
  16. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,824
    4,994
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    You would have to switch the card back and forth between your 3DS and your Sky, it's probably best to get another card for the 3DS. Since you'll probably be using the Sky for most of the games it doesn't have to be a very big card, maybe 16 or 32 GB, those cards are pretty cheap too.
     
  17. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,824
    4,994
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    I managed to load the site and create the QR code for OLD 8.1.0-12U now so it definitely works. It's pretty slow though.
     
  18. hentaiprane
    OP

    hentaiprane Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 11, 2015
    Macau
    Thank you i will do it right now

    But for the sd card i can't buy a new one so it means i can't use the 3ds properly ? no solution to use the micro sd on sky 3ds ?
    I don't need complicated functions , just play online and region free games . And cia games if possible
     
  19. hentaiprane
    OP

    hentaiprane Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 11, 2015
    Macau
    Up guys
    I didn't do those manipulations just to be sure if i can do some things , i heard about pasta cfw so i can run cia files with sky 3ds , can some one help me do it ?