Got an Xbox 360 from the UK... I live in Canada..

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by popopola, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. popopola
    OP

    Member popopola GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm planning to mod it so I can play backups, but I can only play PAL and region free games...

    anyways, I'm planning to get my disc drive flashed with ixtreme 1.6. Is that good? Anyone here that uses it?
     
  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    lol hey popopola :3

    1.6 should be fine, but most people just stick with 1.51 since there might be glitches in 1.6, and many being lazy and see no point or dont know how to upgrade it
     
  3. popopola
    OP

    Member popopola GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Canada
    haha hey joe!

    1.51? what is the difference between 1.6 and 1.51 anyways?

    EDIT: ah I see, I'm thinking of flashing it myself... but I'm not so confident haha.
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,736
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1.6 added the ability to dump games in a more simple manner than previously occurred other than that nothing special.

    Note though that 1.5 and 1.51 differ in that 1.5 lacks support for wave3 games (long story short the disc layout changed and it caused the error detection of the pre 1.51 firmwares to flag it as a bad disc) which all games from a few months back now use.

    @Joe88 I should probably look for myself but bugs?
     
  5. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Just make sure before downloading game that it's either region-free or PAL version of the game.

    Even if you got a 360 from Canada, you'd still need to check if it works on NTSC/U so it's nothing special.
     
  6. popopola
    OP

    Member popopola GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Canada
    huh? really? can't 360's from canada play NTSC/U's?
     
  7. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Pay attention. He said he got the 360 unit from the UK.
     

Share This Page