Got an old 360, repairs needed. Advice?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Devil May Cry, Dec 18, 2010.

Dec 18, 2010
  1. Devil May Cry
    OP

Member Devil May Cry GBAtemp Fan

United States
    So thanks to a friend, I'm now the owner of an Xbox 360. I'm new to the 360 scene, so I don't really know the model of it (although it's not an S model, Elite, or presumably an Arcade). It mentions the Kinect on the dash, so I'm guessing its beyond JTAG (which is what I was hoping for). I want to get this thing reading some burned DL-DVDs ASAP, but the thing is that the darned thing won't read discs. i doesn't even register the disc in the slightest, 360 games or DVDs. Now, there are some things I'd like some help with regarding how I start about this.

Should I follow a dissassembly guide until the disc drive (to find out the model) and order a replacement drive? From what I've seen online, I can ever either flash the new drive or swap the logic boards between the drives. Which option should I take? After getting the drive to read discs, can someone suggest a solid guide for what I need to do to properly mod a 360, as well as getting a rig set up to rip 360 games (which I heard needs a special DVD drive)?

Any and all help would be appreciated.

P.S. If you read this FAST, please be link easy on me [​IMG]

2. FAST6191

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip
    United Kingdom
    If it has kinect on the dash it is way past JTAG. Still https://docs.google.com/View?id=dnfmv5h_30dw33vpf4 will tell you if you can JTAG it or not.

Burned DVDs- if the DVD drive is not taking discs that is not ideal (if it "works" until then that is a good sign) but moving forward. Yes pull the thing apart and find model numbers as they will be key in a few minutes.