Got a x360 elite

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Chotaz, Nov 30, 2007.

Nov 30, 2007

Got a x360 elite by Chotaz at 1:35 PM (1,350 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Chotaz
    OP

    Member Chotaz I'm back! :D

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Portugal
    i just got my xbox360, the elite version, and I have the following question/s\:

    what should i do in order to be able to play backups, and wich is the best/saffest solution against brickings?

    sorry for the question, but meh, forget a noob once [​IMG]

    PS. add any comments on things i should get like, fixes for anything, acessories and stuff like that
     
  2. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In order to play backups , you need to flash the drive. So you first have to know which drive you have as it will change what you need. An elite will either have a benq drive or a hitachi.

    If you have a benq , you'll need either a nforce sata controller or via controller + the hacked firmware and the flashing program (dosflash/dosflash32). Then you are good to go , instructions for creating the hacked firmware are in the nfo for it , and the readme for dosflash tells you how to flash. It's basically read original firmware from drive , use that to create hacked firmware with your key , flash firmware to drive.

    If you have a hitachi drive , then you have to find out what revision. If it's a 79FK/L (which it probably will be), then you need to buy a passkey and solder that in before you can flash. So need to know that first.

    Pictures of the drives

    http://www.xbox-scene.com/xbox1data/sep/EE...lpEEfSZefFv.php
     
  3. Chotaz
    OP

    Member Chotaz I'm back! :D

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Portugal
    My drive is a Benq VAD 6038, what should i do now?
     
  4. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah most Elites come with BenQ if not all, they're the quitest drives and best stability.
    If you're gonna flash it yourself, you'll need to spend some time reading tutorials and watching videos.
    Honestly, go watch a tutorial video, and if you are not sure about some things tutorial guy says in the video (For example, torx screw, I thought it was called torques at first and when I read tutorial PDF it was torx =P) refer to the written tutorial.

    Video tells a thousand words.
     
  5. Chotaz
    OP

    Member Chotaz I'm back! :D

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Portugal
    can any of you point me to a video?


    just one question: will i lose online playing if i flash my drive?
     
  6. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    It's possible , ixtreme is as safe as you can get , as it will only boot stealth backups , but it cannot verify the backup is 100% match to the original. Loads got banned a while back for bad backups as a few scene releases were not correct and had bad crc compared to the original. Some places have started to add a section for crc (matches , bad , needs fixing etc) for scene releases along with region free entries. You can also check the backups with something like XDVDMulleter , which will say if they are stealth and can also do a online check of the disc against their database , how ever unless there is a confirmed retail entry to check against , it doesn't really help.
     
  7. Chotaz
    OP

    Member Chotaz I'm back! :D

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Portugal
    can you provide me some of that sites, where i can check if my dumps are stealth or not?
     
  8. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    if you have iXtreme then the game will only play if it is stealthed. And 99.9% of releases are stealthed. If you still feel like you need to check them though then download XDVDMulleter.

    Also, if you can find someone near you, it may be worth it to pay them a couple bucks to flash it for you. Opening the system can be a right pain in and of itself.
     
  9. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    www.360mods.net
    www.xbox-scene.com

    These two sites were enough for educating me with Sammy drive flash [​IMG]
     
  10. Chotaz
    OP

    Member Chotaz I'm back! :D

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Portugal
    from what i understood till noow, i'll only be banned from online if i dont use 100% stealthed isos, and ixtreme only pays the games if they're 100% stealthed, wich mean that if i use ixtreme i wont get banned from live
     
  11. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No. ixtreme will play anything that has all the necessary sectors. How ever it cannot verify the disc is a match to original 100%. Protocals fear , stealth , but bad sectors. Guitar hero 3 scene release , stealth , but bad sectors. Both had ppf patches to correct.
    Loads of people got banned using ixtreme a while back because of discs that were stealth , but had bad sectors etc and didn't match original disc (certain scene releases).

    You can use XDVDMulleter to check the releases against their online database and it should tell you if the discs crc is what it should be (same as original) or not , and can correct. (assuming the database has a entry for that game).
     
  12. Chotaz
    OP

    Member Chotaz I'm back! :D

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Portugal
    thanks for being supporting me in this, i think ill try the flash process today, from what i got XDVDMulleter, checks the stealth'ness' of the release, and if it doesnt match 100% with the original, it corrects the release to 100% match the original game?
     
  13. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes , that be what it does. Also there is no 100% safe from live , for now correct backups =safe [​IMG] , but in future , who knows , microsoft might find a way to detect again.
     
  14. Chotaz
    OP

    Member Chotaz I'm back! :D

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Portugal
    and coders and h4ck3rs may find a way to solve it ^^,

    thanks for everything ill start my flashing procedure now, ill have to disassembly the console first, lets see what i can do witout screwing my console :\
     
  15. Duke_Jay

    Member Duke_Jay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Good luck, im gonna let my Elite get flashed wednesday for 35 bucks.
    I would like to do it myself but i'll probably screw it up. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page