Goomba Colour is widdleing on my chips

Discussion in 'GBA - Game Development, ROM Hacks and Translations' started by 8BitWalugi, Oct 22, 2008.

Oct 22, 2008
  1. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    Goomba colour is really confusing. can someone please help me out. i get this runtime error when i try to rename some files and it's really annoying. can someone help?
     
  2. Gore

    Member Gore GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Country:
    United States
    I assume you're actually talking about Goomba Color Front.
    That would be the compiler to actually make the .gba file with the games on it.
    For one, the .gb .gbc files (the roms) need to be in the same folder as everything else of the program.
    Then, I'm pretty sure names of files can only be 10 characters long.
    I know it's a low number.. just give acronym names if possible or shorten it somehow.
    Like Metal Gear Solid : Ghost Babel

    MGS:GB
    You get previews of the games before you pick them in the emulator anyways, they don't even need titles.
     
  3. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    so... there is no point to renaming the games? huh... well, thats good!
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The Goomba Frontend should work fine with longer file names as long as they don't contain any weird characters (like the accented characters in the Pokémon titles).
     
  5. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    in goomba colour is there a limit to the roms? because i dont see all the roms i have in it...
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The limit is 32 MBytes, as is the limit for any other GBA file. If you need more than this, you'll need to make separate compilations.

    If your output file is less than 32 MB and you still don't see all of your games, then one of them is probably corrupted, most likely the last one you see in the list or the one that's supposed to come right after that. Make sure you've got a clean, untrimmed GBC rom.
     
  7. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    ok... does it count if the rom is patched? and what does it mean when the rom has (N/A) in the compiler?
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Patched roms shouldn't make too much of a difference, though you must be certain that the roms are not trimmed at all. Thus, the filesize should be a power of two (in bytes). The only way that compressed games will work with Goomba Color is if you use the GBC trimmer application included in the Goomba Color download. But I'd try without it first to make sure the games work in the first place.

    (N/A) simply means the game doesn't save any data. Probably uses a password system, if anything.
     
  9. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    huh... now im really confused. is there a gba gb emulator that doesnt need to be compiled? oh and thats something the creator should consider!
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Very few GBA applications have support for filesystems because very few GBA devices even had filesystems back then. GBC emulators for the DS don't require compiling, but that's because filesystem access is a much more common occurrence there.

    What exactly are you confused about? Are you still having troubles getting all your games to show up?
     
  11. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes! thats exactly the problem!
     
  12. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried removing the last game that shows up correctly and the game that would be placed directly after it?
     
  13. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    Woah! that worked! thanks! [​IMG]
     
  14. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Then it's one of those two games that's screwing it up. Get new copies of both of them and see if you still have the same issue.
     

Share This Page