Good DIY electronics sites?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Switchy, Nov 4, 2007.

Nov 4, 2007

Good DIY electronics sites? by Switchy at 12:08 AM (1,421 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

1. Switchy
    OP

Member Switchy GBAtemp Fan

Belgium
    FIRST. I know Google. I've been there. All night.

I'm interested in doing a couple of projects: an USB-powered snake light with multiple LEDs and (realistically flickering) LED tea lights (even preferably rechargeable, if possible).
    I'll admit, I'm a complete noob when it comes to putting electronics together.
    I've been putting together a couple of electrical guitar effect pedals but that's easy.
    All you need to know is how to solder, which I do.

Is there anyone who can point me to good sites or even know how to make LEDS flicker or connect LEDs to an USB cable?

2. nintendofreak

Member nintendofreak Around. Shoot me a PM.

United States
    MEE!!!

Alrighty then sooo i'd suggest picking up a Multimeter before you go any further. It'll be useful for measuring all sorts of crap and stuff. Some are inexpensive (i bought mine for $10 [​IMG] )

USB ports run on 5.0 V DC. Find a LED that runs on 5 V and it should be fine. They also sell LED"s that flash (just plug them in and thats that!)

3. Switchy
    OP

Belgium
    My dad already gave me a multimeter [​IMG] so I have one.

Don't LEDs generally run at 2.2V? And if I do use 5V LEDs, can I just connect them in serial? (I already admitted to being a noob [​IMG])

As for the flashing LEDs.. that's not really what I'm looking for.
    They should flicker quite smoothly (as to look like a candle).

Thanks a lot for helping! [​IMG]

4. nintendofreak

Member nintendofreak Around. Shoot me a PM.

United States
    yess, LEDs tend to run at very low voltages.

Ive come up with a simple equation to choose the right resistor

Resistorneeded = (Vin - Vneeded)/Current needed in Amps.