Gonna buy flash hardware. A bit confused

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by sinful, Jun 25, 2007.

Jun 25, 2007
  1. sinful
    OP

    Newcomer sinful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Norway
    Im looking to buy a flash combo for my European DS light.
    Have been reading up on some of the different products,
    but all the speccs and different products are making me
    confused.

    So I'd like to turn to you for some expert advice [​IMG]

    What I want to know is what is the best combo of
    slot 1 and 2 device who workes with the most amount
    of DS and GBA backups, and at the same time has no
    problems running homebrew. The other important aspect
    beeing storage. I'd like to carry as many games with
    me on the two devices as possible.

    What are your oppinions on this? Money is not that
    important, I want the "best" solution [​IMG]

    And what micro SD cards would you recommend.

    If anyone would take the time to answer these
    questions Id be very grateful [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance peeps
     
  2. jargus

    Member jargus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    Country:
    United States
    For Slot 1 get an R4/M3 or Cyclo DS. Kingston and Sandisk seem to be the preferred micro SD brands. I'm not too knowledgeable on Slot2's.
     
  3. DEF-

    Member DEF- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    I can recommend my current combo.

    Slot 1 = R4DS + 1GB Kingston MicroSD Japan (works with POR).
    Slot 2 = M3 Lite + 1GB Sandisk Ultra II MicroSD (you can get 2GB too).

    That gives 3GB of space, should be enough. Both solutions work great with DS games, and the M3 Lite plays GBA games very well (think its almost 100% compability).

    Why only 1GB for the Slot 1 you may ask? The 2GB variants does not work with Castlevania: POR, only the 1GB Japan made one work.
     
  4. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No problem! If you need more help I'm sure other members will help you and I'll check back soon.

    Here's some links to reviews on the flashcarts I've recommended:
    GBAtempCycloDS Evolution review
    GBAtemp R4 review
    RomNet (my site's) R4 review
    GBAtemp EZ-Flash IV Lite review

    - Sam
     
  5. sinful
    OP

    Newcomer sinful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Norway
    Thanks for the feedback guys.

    Think Ill go for the Cyclo, but I have another
    question.

    I've tried to read up on this, and from what I gather
    it would work as a bootdevice for slot 2 aswell. Right?
    The question then, is the evolution compatible with all
    slot 2 cartridges or just a select few?

    Sorry if this is available in some guide or something and have been
    stated here hundred times already [​IMG]

    EDIT:
    Boot to slot-2
    This allows you to use the CycloDS Evolution as a PassMe (or if you're getting technical; a NoPass) and boot to a slot-2 device.
    Unfortunately it does not support booting of GBA games. This option appears in the 'Settings / Misc' screen, and can also be achieved by holding Up on the dpad when booting the CycloDS Evolution.

    From the evolution review on this site. Hmm, does this mean you cant play any gba games on your slot 2 device with the cyclo?
    If this is the case its no good for my use :s
     
  6. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you can boot a GBA flashcart using the Evolution. What it means is that if you have a proper (legit) GBA game in slot-2 the CycloDS won't boot it.

    - Sam
     
  7. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    As stated, CycloDS is the best (slightly better/more expensive than R4, but if money's not a problem, its the obvious choice). R4's the best when money is considered.

    I'd advise a M3 lite Perfect for a slot-2. GBA games work on it. and yes, the cycloDS evo will work to run all (i'm pretty sure) slot-2's.
     
  8. sinful
    OP

    Newcomer sinful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Norway
    After doing some more research and listen to the advice here I've made up my mind [​IMG]

    Ill go with:

    Cyclo Evo
    m3lite perfect
    2xSandisk Ultra II micro SD 2BG

    This shouldnt be making any problems except maybe for Castlevania, right?
     
  9. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Sandisk Ultra II micro SD 2GB do not exist. Look on their website/email them (I've been told this many times).
     
  10. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Castlevania Portrait of Ruin and Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam

    - Sam
     
  11. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think that memory wise, you should just buy two 2gig memory cards(For your slot1 and slot 2 i premuse), doesnt matter what brand because the speed only matters for a select few games.
    A taiwan manufactured kingston microsd or regular sandisk one's are ok.
    And then you should buy a 1 gig Kingston 'SD-C01G JAPAN' memory card to hold speed dependant games. Thats what i am doing. You could store the memorycard in the little keychain that comes with the R4 if you're getting it.
     
  12. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    A 2GB Toshiba in both (like currently in mine) will cover all games except Tony Hawk.

    EDIT: To be honest, it's like a 1/30 chance if you try rush into a portal, and more like 1/100 if you wait for the animation to finish (the rock floating thing).

    From personal tests btw.
     
  13. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I forgot to mention this but Toshiba japan manufactered ones are great also
    Reportedly the Kingston microsd cards are OEM's of Toshiba
     
  14. sinful
    OP

    Newcomer sinful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Norway
    mkek, my bad on the ultra.
    Seems like ill be buying 4sakens m3 and micro sd, and add to this a Cyclo and another sd from some retailer.
    Happy time [​IMG]

    Thanks for the tips guys ^^
     
  15. ssoccerh

    Member ssoccerh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    best option right now would be cyclo ds with a 1gb micro sd Kingston (Japanese)
     
  16. sinful
    OP

    Newcomer sinful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Norway
    Then its done.
    Have ordered a Cyclo + 1GB kingston (jap)
    And 4sakens m3lite perfect and 2GB Toshiba

    Soon to join the homebrew crowd [​IMG]
     

Share This Page