Going to update soon to a new Flashcard

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by megawalk, Oct 11, 2008.

Oct 11, 2008
  1. megawalk
    OP

    Member megawalk The Legendary SRW Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ok don't go hop around i didnt know where to place it
    but now here comes some questions and answers
    recently i realized DIE R4 DIE I HATE YOU GAH!!!
    so i thought of updating to a new flashcard
    should i buy this one which i plan mostly ?
    or another which has good quality not breaking up in a year or 3 flashcard without corruption or bricking chance ?
     
  2. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the Supercard DS-One is for someone who just wants to get one for cheap, but cycloDS Evo is said to be the best, but I think SCDS1 is tougher, but the recent reports of PSRAM error is scaring me, I got a good one though! [​IMG]
     
  3. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    If you're looking for features at a nice price SC is the best choice. It's second only to Cyclo and costs $26 with shipping included. I got one of the older(3 month old) models which hadn't recieved the housing makeover. Those had no PSRAM errors at all. PSRAM error doesn't seem to be too common and fixes have worked for some. You can wait a while to see if things pipe down but I know a person who got theirs a week ago and have no issues with it.
     
  4. seedvt

    Member seedvt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I agree with Searinox.

    I own a SCSD1, one of the new design ones (two actually) and none of them have any problems whatsoever.

    I love the RTS, but it can get buggy and/or crash if you save in the middle of a fast motion (i.e. switching menus, large animations)
     
  5. rasputin

    Member rasputin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    I like my SC, but there are 2 things that wind me up about it.

    1) No Long filenames for saves. Pathetic that it's not been addressed in the years it's been out now, let's face it, it is just stupid.

    2) Cheat name labels get cut off. Why can't they just let the writing scroll at least ? This makes the most powerfull cheat system out there too hard to use, with an unavoidable need to create your own cheats with very short abbreviated labels so the proper use can be got from the outstanding real-time cheat engine. So everyone just uses the DSTT/Y's sytem instaed. Again, just stupid isn't it ?

    And these 2 annoyances never get fixed, I have been waiting so long now.
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    You can use long filenames. It's just somewhat difficult to get them to work, and from my understanding there's no real set of steps that's guaranteed to let it work. Using an uppercase .SAV for the extension has been known to help for some users. Perhaps the filesystem format plays a role as well.
     
  7. megawalk
    OP

    Member megawalk The Legendary SRW Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ok i got my mind set then
    atleast the R4 is useful for one thing.
    anoying education [​IMG]

    time to get a Supercard since i nearly got enough money by just a little homework
    at the next weak i will have one ordered and one more question...
    can i use my old kingston 1gb microSD from r4 on supercard ?
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I don't see why not. It'll work better if it was made in Japan, but for the most part any microSD card will work fine on the SCDS except with a few specific problem games like Castlevania Portrait of Ruin.
     

Share This Page