go back to 1.5 psp

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by thegame07, Jan 22, 2007.

Jan 22, 2007

go back to 1.5 psp by thegame07 at 2:07 AM (1,864 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. thegame07
    OP

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    how to you go back to firmware 1.5 with dark alexs 3.03 oea do you need to put a 1,5 firmware update anywhere on the psp or does the firmware downgrade itself. thanks for the help.
     


  2. mikesinclair555

    Member mikesinclair555 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
  3. thegame07
    OP

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks a lot [​IMG] i looked at the readme but it does not tell you:(
     
  4. mikesinclair555

    Member mikesinclair555 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't actually downgraded. I've had a 1.5 psp since the start. Just use the search function at that forum, and type downgrading guides or something of that nature. People have made real simple guides to follow for the real beginners. You don't want to brick your psp so be very careful. don't jump into anything unless you are sure. Also join that forum and ask questions there. Just make sure you search first so people don't flame you.
     
  5. thegame07
    OP

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i will do thanks for the reply i used to know everything about psp homebrew but then i fell behind because of the ds. but now i can play final fantasy on the psp im loving the psp again and im catching back up with the psps homebrew scene [​IMG] once again thanks for the replys
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    it's in every readme of DA's custom firmware release detailing how to downgrade back to 1.5 by telling it to run specific eboots at the beginning via recovery mode....I'm suprised at all these people blindly upgrading without reading the readme that's included.
     
  7. thegame07
    OP

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i did read it i would not have done it without reading it. i read it 3 times to make sure i did everything right it must be where i downloaded it from . [​IMG] it tells you how to install it and what changes have been made theres nothing about going back.
     
  8. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    my bad, guess he took it out after awhile. for awhile he included it with the releases but I guess he got sick of repeating the same information in the readmes.
     
  9. thegame07
    OP

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no worrys lol [​IMG] i also heard you can only write firmware to the psp before you cant do it anymore?. is that true or is it a rumour.
     
  10. spas

    Member spas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    389
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its after 2.8 your screwed I think.

    Does anyone no the version where downgrading has became near impossible?
     
  11. thegame07
    OP

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you got me wrong. theres a romour you can only flash your psp a certain amount of times before you cant do it anymore because it fills the flash 0 space or something. and i think the answer to your qestion is 2.71 and there might be a downgrader eventually [​IMG]
     
  12. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    it's not really a rumor, people just speculate how many times you can flash your psp onboard memory before it dies from overuse....pretty stupid because by then the unit will be obsolete anyways. You can fill up flash0 space so you have to be careful about customizations to avoid bricks. Not sure about the writing to psp firmware part you're speaking of....this whole time when you're flashing with whatever you're writing to the firmware.
     
  13. thegame07
    OP

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i see [​IMG] thanks again . started to panick incase i go to flash one day and my flash 0 is broke [​IMG]
     
  14. ajjav924

    Member ajjav924 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    I read something on another site about how to use the recovery. anyone find it?
     
  15. thegame07
    OP

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i know what todo now. you just put a offical sony 1.5 update in the folder (it tells you in the recovery menu what folder) [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  16. bfoos

    Member bfoos GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, DA's custom firmware cleans out flash0, so filling to the point of bricking is no longer a problem. All firmware versions with the exception of the newly released 3.10 can be downgraded. That includes the formerly dreaded TA-082 - TA-086 boards as well.
     
  17. shaffaaf27

    Member shaffaaf27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    london, england
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    so are you saying, if i downgraded, and upgraded to DA custom firmware, i could go back and forth between 1.5 and DA custom without filling up flash0 becuase each time i put the DA one, it will clear flash0
     
  18. bfoos

    Member bfoos GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I forgot about this thread.

    Yes, that's exactly what I'm saying. DA's firmwares now do a logical format of flash0 when when you flash them. I've been bouncing back and forth trying to make up my mind between 3.03OE-C and 3.10OE-A'.
     
  19. shaffaaf27

    Member shaffaaf27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    london, england
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    3.03 OEC for customisation of XMb, or 3.10OEA' for greater psx playability.

    BTW, the flash0 doent get full up, i did research, you only get the error when you have a certain ammount of curuopt files on you MS.
     
  20. thegame07
    OP

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the new update formats you flash drive i found out [​IMG]
     

Share This Page