getting ready for G6 real

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by chalupa, Jun 13, 2007.

Jun 13, 2007

getting ready for G6 real by chalupa at 4:44 PM (1,096 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. chalupa
    OP

    Member chalupa GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    Ok my G6 real get's here Tomorrow and I just wanna have everything ready by then so I can put the files on and play.

    First off, I wanted to know what the save type of the G6 is so I can convert my old R4 saves to the proper format.
    Secondly, I was wondering how, if possible, to use my EZ flash 3in1 with it. I didn't get the chance to use it before my R4 died so I have no Idea how to work it.

    I was also wondering if trimming rom's would have any negative sid-effects. I used the RSA trimmer which supposedly keeps the download-play intact.

    Lastly I want to know if it is possible to skin the menu and how to do it. thanks.
     
  2. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I suppose you mean the G6 Real? Then I can't really help you much [​IMG] But I know you can use the EZ 3 in 1 with it. I don't know how it works though [​IMG]

    The only nasty side-effect of trimming (AFAIK) is that it breaks download play. I don't know which trimmer you're talking about though... Link?

    I would love if it would work!
     
  3. chalupa
    OP

    Member chalupa GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    Here is the Rom trimmer . And yup it's for the G6 Real. RSA trimmer
     
  4. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks a lot! Does it also work with the R4 / M3 Simply? I will try tomorrow...

    Edit: I just saw the thread of you and the maker of this program.

    When I saw he thought Download Play didn't work because of FlashMe though he had trimmed his rom I thought he was quite a n00b [​IMG]
    But it seems like he made a rom trimmer that doesn't work Download Play [​IMG] Impressive!

    But, as it doesn't break the RSA signature because it doesn't remove 00-blocks, doesn't it... trim less? The roms have to be bigger... Anyway, I'll try it on my M3 Simply tomorrow. I will also report how much it actually trims.
     
  5. h8uthemost

    Member h8uthemost GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    United States
    I've always used the R4 Trimmer. It's the only one that I've found that doesn't make games unplayable. Then...I found the EZ Trim, that uses the same method as the R4.

    So, yesterday I got my G6 DS Real. And I trimmed all my roms with EZ Trim, and every one has worked perfectly, just like I thought they would.

    That RSA Trimmer is made specifically for the G6 DS? I don't know, I don't see how it can be any better than the R4 or EZ Trimmer. So I'll just stick with that. WiFi has worked still on all the wifi compatible games. So I say give that one a try.

    And give the Save Converter that Shuny made a try. That's one that I used to conserve saves from my R4, and my DS-Linker to the G6 DS.

    http://www.shunyweb.info/index.php

    Oh...and as for skinning the menu, it's very easy.

    The G6 DS Real already comes with two skins. The default skin, and one other. It can hold up to four skins. And the skins are located in the System folder. There is already a skin1 folder for the skin that came with the G6 DS(not the default, but the other skin). So, in order for your other skins to show, you need to make a skin2, skin3, and skin4 folder inside your System folder. And just put a skin in each folder. It's very easy.

    I jsut took some of the desktop images from my favorite R4 skins, and threw them on my G6 DS. There really are not any made yet, since not too many people have this cart. Just give it a couple months, and a bunch of G6 DS Real skins will probably start showing up.
     
  6. chalupa
    OP

    Member chalupa GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    My G6 got here early (YAY) and I found out my rom trimmer is garbage. it left one level in ouendan unplayable [​IMG] so I will use the one's you recommended.

    As for skins, do i just plop on any image just resize it and thats it?
     
  7. ProjectVirtue

    Newcomer ProjectVirtue Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Canada
    which rom trimmer did you use. i used skinny rom. after hearing that ouendan thing it makes a bit more uneasy.
    trimmec at default settings.
     
  8. chalupa
    OP

    Member chalupa GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    I used RSA trim... never using that again.

    any one know any thing about the web browser using the 3in1?
     
  9. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
  10. h8uthemost

    Member h8uthemost GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. Just take an image, and resize it to 256x192, and save it as a bitmap image. And just throw it in a skin1, skin2, skin3, or skin4 folder. Make sure there is no space between the word skin, and the number after it. If there is, then the skin won't show up.

    And yeah, i definitely recommend the EZ Trim. All you do is drag and drop the .rar, or the .zip onto the program. The program unpacks it, and then trims it. It then shows a boxart image of the game. It will also show the original size of the rom, how much you trimmed, and then the size of the new trimmed rom. It's a great program.
     
  11. chalupa
    OP

    Member chalupa GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    Now this is great and all but how do you work it?
     
  12. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    From the instructions in the .NFO file:
     
  13. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It breaks the rom completely... Well, at least I can't get it to work on the M3 Simply anymore...
     
  14. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That patch worked for me with the M3 Simply.

    If you're using the R4, M3 Simply or DSLink, you can just enable the 3-in-1 RAM expansion with the 3in1 Expansion Pack Tool, and not bother with the patch.
     
  15. chalupa
    OP

    Member chalupa GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    kk that worked thanks guys. = )
     

Share This Page