Getting old Pokemon into D/P

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by arover, Apr 21, 2007.

Apr 21, 2007

Getting old Pokemon into D/P by arover at 2:39 AM (2,191 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. arover
    OP

    Newcomer arover Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Along with looking around and trying to think of ways to do such without buying a flash cart that goes in Slot 1 of the DS...

    I was wondering if you guys could think of any way to transfer Pokemon from a GBA retail FireRed cart to...a copy of Pearl being run off a Supercard CF...I'd guy out and buy the game now, except it's not on shelves yet, and I don't feel like waiting. And I don't think there's any way to transfer a save onto a retail DS cart, so...I want to play with pokemon from the old games...buttt...I don't know how I'd accomplish that without buying either a Slot 1 flash cart or the retail copy of the game, neither of which I can do right now. Anyone have any suggestions?
     


  2. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    you need to back up the save somehow, then link the gba rom to the rom in your SC CF
     
  3. arover
    OP

    Newcomer arover Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    How could I link the gba rom to the rom in my SC CF at the same time, since the SC CF runs in the GBA slot of the DS. In order to transfer a firered, or any gba pokemon to the new DS games, you need to be playing on your Pearl/Diamond copy, and have the gba game in the gba slot of the DS at the same time, at least I THINK that's how it goes. Correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  4. Zaraf

    Member Zaraf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Country:
    Canada
    You can transfer a save onto a retail card using Rain. Rain will allow you to dump and overwrite saves on retail cards.
     
  5. arover
    OP

    Newcomer arover Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Could I use the Passme programmer thing that came with my Passme along with a usb cable to do that?
     
  6. stupidkrazykarl

    Newcomer stupidkrazykarl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    It's my understanding that the Passme was designed to work forwards--not backwards. (Same with flashme although maybe not WifiMe)

    I doubt you'll be able to copy it through the computer.

    But I think the in game PalPark should work depending on the compatibilty with the S1 card.

    I know that the new R4 Kernel added some Slot2 something--and so it wouldn't suprise me to see a feature added to M3.
     
  7. arover
    OP

    Newcomer arover Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    It's not the Passme though, it's the Programmer that you can order with the passme that connects via USB and allows DS carts to be put into it. The problem in my case however, is that my SC CF is slot 2. So is my pokemon FireRed game. So how would I be able to have both in the DS at once in order to get the Pearl on my SC CF to read my FireRed...which only fits in the same port lol. Looks like I'll have to just transfer the save and buy a retail Pearl. Can someone confirm the programmer will work?
     
  8. WangWong

    Newcomer WangWong Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    i heard the m3 supports nds-gba link. anyone try it? my bro uses the m3 lite.
     
  9. Xenophobe

    Newcomer Xenophobe Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Australia
    Use the GBA Union function. In the Supercard patcher there's an option which lets you make the DS game think that such and such game is in Slot 2.
     
  10. arover
    OP

    Newcomer arover Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    THAT'S the answer I was looking for. Thank you so much =) I was wondering if there was something like that. [​IMG]
     
  11. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    that is what I said >__________>
     
  12. Da Foxx

    Member Da Foxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    Canada
    How would this work with people with slot 1 flash cards? I have M3 Lite but I play my games on my M3 Simply.
     
  13. arover
    OP

    Newcomer arover Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Sry fish, I couldn't understand what you were saying. Thx to you as well though ;-)
     
  14. Relys

    Member Relys Master of Computer Science

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    860
    Country:
    United States
    It will only work on sertin games, you can however hack (hex edit) the managers exe fine, and change the name of the games. Sadly that will only work if the two dumps are the same size as the supported game.

    GIVE US AN UPDATE M3 TEAM!
     
  15. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I know on EZ4 you'd just copy the game to the NOR memory, and then it would be detected as whatever that game was. But I don't know a lot about the slot-2 M3 sorry - does it have some sort of internal memory you can copy roms to?
     
  16. celentt

    Member celentt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Australia
    this is what I'll be trying to do, transfer my pokemons from Sapphire via Supercard Lite -> my M3 Simply

    my sapphire savegames are in VBA.

    anyone got any pointers?
     
  17. myclock

    Member myclock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    can you get the R4 to think the same??? [​IMG]
     
  18. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Damm for me... cant transfer my pokemon :'(
    Stupid MMD [​IMG]
     
  19. Xenophobe

    Newcomer Xenophobe Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Australia
    Not unless you had one of these three things:

    1. The original cart
    2. An old style GBA flashcart that had no ROM selection menu (or had that option)
    3. Witchcraft

    If you had a slot 2, then... off the top of my head, use the slot 2 card and get the save like that (I'm pretty sure most slot 2 cards have the GBA Union or equivalent feature) and then transfer the save to your slot 1. e.g. if you had a SCL and an R4, then you get your Pokemon rom onto your SCL, do the Union, get the Pokemon, then use the R4 save convertor then put that onto your R4. Might be a better way, but this should work.
     
  20. Wolfsclaw

    Member Wolfsclaw GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    GBA Union in Supercard has some strange problems... you can actually use the gba rom and the nds rom together, but theres a weird problem: you can actually use one save, either the nds one or the gba one. That is because of the naming, they have to be exact the same -> lol.gba lol.nds and lol.sav
    however, you can't put the second lol.sav on there because there is already such a file..., havent yet found a workaround about that, if anyone knows, tell the world please [​IMG]
     

Share This Page