Getting error 001 on Zelda Skyward Sword

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Magnusmaster, Dec 13, 2011.

Dec 13, 2011
  1. Magnusmaster
    OP

    Newcomer Magnusmaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Argentina
    I'm getting the 001 error when trying to load Skyward Sword. I already installed and updated all IOS with ModMii, and installed the latest version of Neogamma, but for some reason it still doesn't work. Using Gecko OS the Wii just hangs on a black screen. My Wii has a modchip (but it's also softmodded, I think). Also, I can't use any USB loader, since I don't have a spare USB drive to format, so I can only use loaders that work with dvds.

    BTW, here's my sysCheck:

    Code:
    sysCheck v2.1.0b6 by Double_A
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).
    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.3U (v513)
    Homebrew Channel 1.0.8 running on IOS58
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID: 34665064
    Boot2 v2
    Found 162 titles.
    Found 53 IOS on this console. 4 of them are stub.
    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): NAND Access
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS12 (rev 526): NAND Access
    IOS13 (rev 1032): NAND Access
    IOS14 (rev 1032): NAND Access
    IOS15 (rev 1032): NAND Access
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 1032): NAND Access
    IOS20 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS21 (rev 1039): NAND Access
    IOS22 (rev 1294): NAND Access
    IOS28 (rev 1807): NAND Access
    IOS30 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS31 (rev 3608): NAND Access
    IOS33 (rev 3608): NAND Access
    IOS34 (rev 3608): NAND Access
    IOS35 (rev 3608): NAND Access
    IOS36 (rev 3608): NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 5663): NAND Access
    IOS38 (rev 4124): NAND Access
    IOS40 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS41 (rev 3607): NAND Access
    IOS43 (rev 3607): NAND Access
    IOS45 (rev 3607): NAND Access
    IOS46 (rev 3607): NAND Access
    IOS48 (rev 4124): NAND Access
    IOS50 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS53 (rev 5663): NAND Access
    IOS55 (rev 5663): NAND Access
    IOS56 (rev 5662): NAND Access
    IOS57 (rev 5919): NAND Access
    IOS58 (rev 6176): NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS60 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS61 (rev 5662): NAND Access
    IOS70 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS80 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS202[60] (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222[38] (rev 4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, USB 2.0
    IOS223[38] (rev 4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, USB 2.0
    IOS224[57] (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS245 (rev 21007): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS246 (rev 21007): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS247 (rev 21007): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS248 (rev 21007): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS249 (rev 21006): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250 (rev 21006): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS251 (rev 21007): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10
    Report generated on 2011/12/13.
    
    Also, for some weird reason, whenever I have the Skyward Sword dvd in the console, I can't load any channel from the system menu. Either the banner animation just keeps playing (the discs on the Disc channel never stop spinning), or there's just a black screen. I have to load the game by putting the DVD after getting to Neogamma.
     
  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Please use an updated version of SysCheck and post it correctly. There is a guide in my sig.
     
  3. Magnusmaster
    OP

    Newcomer Magnusmaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Argentina
    How should I post the report?

    EDIT: Oops, didn't see the guide!
     
  4. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Like the guide says.
     
  5. Magnusmaster
    OP

    Newcomer Magnusmaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Argentina
    Here's the new sysCheck.csv

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  6. AzureuzZetsunai

    Member AzureuzZetsunai HAHA, 20!... i punch it!

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Chihuahua
    Country:
    Mexico
    try running on a usbloader. or in ios 222. if your wii keeps complaining then... smash the disk, get a clean iso, scrub it, patch it for error 001, and burn it with imgburn at 4x speed.
     
  7. Magnusmaster
    OP

    Newcomer Magnusmaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Argentina
    I can't try a usbloader, I don't any spare flash drives. How can I run Neogamma or Gecko OS on ios 222?
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    You need to update your modchip.
     
  9. Magnusmaster
    OP

    Newcomer Magnusmaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Argentina
    Can't update my modchip, since I don't even know what modchip I use. But there is hope! It seems USB Loader GX can read isos on FAT/NTFS partitions. I thought you needed to use that weird WBFS filesystem which meant you needed to format. But if it's compatible with FAT, all I need to do is move the iso to the HDD and that's it, right?
     
  10. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I suggest Configurable USB Loader instead of GX. Also, you should use FAT32 and transfer the games with Wii Backup Manger. They will be scrubbed so they are much smaller. You can't just drag and drop an ISO.

    Btw, how do you not know what modchip you installed?
     
  11. AzureuzZetsunai

    Member AzureuzZetsunai HAHA, 20!... i punch it!

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Chihuahua
    Country:
    Mexico
    i use gx, and gx its superb. dont worry on wich usbloader u use, there are made on the same open source code
     
  12. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    They are very different. GX has a very bad history too. Anyway, you'll notice I said "I suggest", not "You have to".
     
  13. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Current usb loaders should support WBFS, FAT32, NTFS and ext2 partitions. To get rid of the 001 error in newer games, you need to update your modchip OR load from usb. Maybe there will be a cIOS update in the future for crappy modchips, but i'm not sure.
     
  14. Magnusmaster
    OP

    Newcomer Magnusmaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Argentina
    My Wii's dvd drive got busted a few years ago due to lots of use. The guy who fixed it had to replace the drive, and with it the modchip. I don't know exactly what modchip he put, only that it must be one from the newer chipsets.
     
  15. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If it was one of the newer chips, you wouldn't get 001 error. Or it's a crappy new one, it happens.
     
  16. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    How about patching the game for error 001 and then burning it onto a disk? I think I remember doing this to get Super Mario Galaxy USA to run on my Jap Wii.
     
  17. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah, you could do that, if there was a known way to patch 001 error on newer games. The principle behind 001 error is still the same(read 2nd/"3rd" layer, if it works, 001 error), but the code to do the check has changed.
     

Share This Page