getting bowsers story to work on r4 without ys menu

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by 727, Mar 27, 2010.

Mar 27, 2010
  1. 727
    OP

    Member 727 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    It is possible if someone pulls a soul silver(copy n paste English to Jap rom). but the game has been out so long nobody probably will.

    I could never get ysmenu to work so i guess ill never play it.
     
  2. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
  3. 727
    OP

    Member 727 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    i already know they made it already and only hope for non ysmenu is someone will do it for this game(not happening)

    ysmenu is extremely aggravating to get set up. i know where to get it but last time i attempted it i just ended up getting angry.
     
  4. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    what's with the topic title?

    very misleading.
     
  5. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    It's not really misleading.. just kinda, poorly worded.
    Should have made the topic into a question, like "Can you get Bowser's Inside Story working on R4 without YSMenu?"
    The stuff about Pokemon is more of a suggestion for someone to try putting the (U) text into the (J) ROM.
     
  6. Inunah

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    You could use R4 YSauto to compile YSmenu for you.
    I had the same problem before I found R4 YSauto.

    But when you do that, remember to download the latest DSTT firmware so the game will work.
     
  7. 727
    OP

    Member 727 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    cool that was easier lol.

    so i just pop that r4 custom english where the english folder was?

    it asked number of ways to install it and i said as firmware, that right?
     
  8. TSPhoenix

    Member TSPhoenix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Australia
    Firmware means it replaces your existing R4 menu meaning you will always be using YSMenu. Many people do this, but personally I'd pick one of the other options as there are some games that work on the regular R4 1.18 but not on YSMenu. Better to have both IMO.
     
  9. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    True.

    Maximum Compatibility:
    >> R4's 1.18 Firmware + YSMenu/DSTT 1.17a12 Auto-Run (Default.NDS) + R4li's 1.24 (_DS_MENU.DAT as R4li.nds)

    Maximum Usability:
    >> Moonshell2.09 Firmware + Normmatt's Overlay & Xenon++'s YSLoader + YSMenu/DSTT 1.17a12
     
  10. 727
    OP

    Member 727 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    when it asks me what to install it as, what should i say then? i still like my firmware 1.18 also i just wanna play this as well.
     

Share This Page