Getting an EZ-Flash 3-in-1

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by pokemonskool, Jun 13, 2008.

Jun 13, 2008
  1. pokemonskool
    OP

    Newcomer pokemonskool Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering how exactly do I use an EZ-Flash 3 with my R4? Does the EZ-Flash use a Micro SD chip or do I download the roms on my R4 and load it with the EZ Flash 3. I just wanna get to know more about the EZ Flash 3 before I buy it.
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Are you talking about the EZ-Flash 3, or the EZ-Flash 3-in-1 expansion pack?
     
  3. pokemonskool
    OP

    Newcomer pokemonskool Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    the EZ-Flash 3-in-1 expansion pack, sorry for any confusion
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    All expansion packs keep the files on the slot 1 cart. Basically all you have to do is get GBA ExpLoader and some GBA roms, put them on the R4, run GBA ExpLoader, then run a game.
     
  5. pokemonskool
    OP

    Newcomer pokemonskool Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Oh cool. Thanks for your help! [​IMG]
     
  6. Spaceman016

    Newcomer Spaceman016 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    If you are new to the exploader

    run exploader
    L will enable you to write to PSRAM - will not keep game once turned off
    R will enable you to write to NOR Ram - will keep game once turned off
     
  7. pokemonskool
    OP

    Newcomer pokemonskool Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Spaceman. Btw, how many games can the EZ Flash 3-in-1 hold at once? I've heard it can only hold 1 game, then afterwards I have to switch around files to play another.
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The 3-in-1 has two different types of memory that it can use for running games: PSRAM (not to be confused with SRAM, which holds save data) and NOR flash memory.

    It only takes seconds to load a game into PSRAM, but the data is gone when the power is turned off, so you have to load the game each time you want to play it. It takes a few minutes to load a big game into NOR, but once it's there it stays there even when the power is turned off or the cart is removed.

    When the 3-in-1 was first released it could only run games from NOR (the PSRAM was for running the DS web browser, which requires a RAM cart), and you can only have one game in NOR at a a time. This is where the "only holds one game at a time" thing came from.

    Once homebrew authors figured out how to run games from PSRAM that limitation became irrelevant. You can have as many games as your slot 1 cart can hold.
     
  9. Spaceman016

    Newcomer Spaceman016 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    quote/destructobot "You can have as many games as your slot 1 cart can hold."
    Theres your answer.

    I think you were asking how many games can the "3-in-1" cart hold at any one time
    and your answer is 1
    Its very simple with exploader if you do want to play a diff game run exploader again backup your saves
    (think it does it automatically anyway) and copy the new game over from your slot 1.

    Have fun.
     

Share This Page