Getting a Wii for Xmas, can you guys guide me step-by-step?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by decideonsuicide, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. decideonsuicide
    OP

    Newcomer decideonsuicide Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I am from third world country and am not good with technology. I am not good at modding and don't understand a lot of computer speak.

    I am getting this Wii for Xmas:
    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Nintendo-Blue-Wii-Wii/17450071

    I am planning on using ModMii to play it, and a USB Loader to play games because I can not afford blank DVD's.

    Is it 4.3 or higher? Is there any way I don't have to use games to have ModMii work?
    What do I need to make a USB Loader? I have a 1 TB WD HDD.

    Will I be able to play backup GCN games on it? Through USB loader? If not, are they working on a fix to ModMii to be able to play them soon?
     


  2. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    4.3
    Mailbomb
    You need a compatible usb harddisk. Some harddisks give issues with the wii. You can find websites with compatible harddisks, but they aren't always accurate.
    You will need an sd card as well.
    Backup GCN games won't be possible as this new slim wii model doesn't have gamecube controller ports. It doesn't have gc memory slots either.
     
  3. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,515
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah just use modmii then to hack your wii, you don't need a game for the process and you wont be able to play gamecube games at all, not even retail ones.
     
  4. decideonsuicide
    OP

    Newcomer decideonsuicide Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    My HDD is Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex. Please check for me if it is compatible?

    So no GCN games for that Wii, huh? How far do I have to go back like model in order to have a Wii that will play GCN games? I will buy from craigslist instead.
     
  5. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,222
    Country:
    United States
    the US is not a third world country, but it may seem like it in some of the crappy areas.
     
  6. decideonsuicide
    OP

    Newcomer decideonsuicide Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    with that particular wii, do i still need a game? cause the other guy said its 4.3. Just wanna make sure.
     
  7. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,515
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    You don't need a game, even if the wii is 4.3 it's not needed to get a game, you just need wifi. If you want to play gamecube games still you'll need to go back a bit, no idea if you can still get one...
     
  8. decideonsuicide
    OP

    Newcomer decideonsuicide Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    yes sir. i understand about 4.3 now. but am now wondering about what version of Wii can still play GCN. I am on craigslist looking for old Wii. Can u please tell me what model/s should I look for to make sure it is GCN-compatible?
     
  9. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    Why do you need wifi? You only need the wii wifi adapter mac adress to use the mailbomb.
    It's only the last couple of months that the wii's have mutated to the slim version.
    You can see the difference from the "Wii" printed on the front.
    The older wii's have it horizontal when the wii is standing vertical in it's stand.
    The newer slim wii's have it horizontal when the wii is placed horizontal. They come without the stand to place the unit vertically.

    The best ones are those from before 2008. They have a dvd drive that can play GC backup disks on Dvd-R.
    (Unless they were sent in to nintendo once for repair.)
     
  10. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,515
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
  11. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes, if you go to the settings menu, it shows the mac adress there on one of the pages.
     
  12. decideonsuicide
    OP

    Newcomer decideonsuicide Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I found an old Wii that can play GCN games. Now one more question. In order to play backup GCN games on it, can I use ModMii or do I have to use another modding method?
     
  13. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,515
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Gamecube backups are even more complicated, there you'll need some really old wii or something like a WODE. You can get the software from modmii.
     
  14. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    You can still use modmii. It supports the different methods for playing gc backups.
     
  15. decideonsuicide
    OP

    Newcomer decideonsuicide Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    ok, thank you very much. one non-hacking question though, are there great improvements to the Wii between the vertical one aside from the new horizontal one? also, do i NEED a GCN controller to play GCN games?
     
  16. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    Modmii will hack the wii. Then you need a loader that will play gc games and dvd-r discs to burn to. You really should read the stickies. They will answer all these questions and more.

    You do need a gcn controller.
     
  17. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,515
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    They are no improvements on the new wii, just some cheap removement of the gamecube support, even the ports for the gamecube controller and memory card are still there, just very cheap some plastic over it :P Yeah you'll need a controller and memory card.
     
  18. decideonsuicide
    OP

    Newcomer decideonsuicide Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    lol, so they just covered up the ports for GCN controller and memory on the new ones? that's so cheap. why would they do that?

    okay, thank you everybody for your help.
     
  19. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    They didn't solder the connectors on the pcb inside. It makes things cheaper. Removing the vertical stand also decreases the price.
     
  20. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,515
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany

Share This Page