Getting a new xbox as backup (to flash)

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by The_Hulkster, Dec 18, 2009.

Dec 18, 2009
  1. The_Hulkster
    OP

Member The_Hulkster GBAtemp Regular

Hey there!

Well, I decided it might be a good idea to get another xbox as backup. Just in case the current one might break down or something.

I saw a good deal for an arcade with Banjo & Kazooie: Nuts and Bolts.
    Obviously I would like to flash the drive as I did with my current xbox. I own a probe and everything needed to flash it.
    But I'm not tech savvy enough for the new drives I think (haven't really mastered soldering yet)

So I'm looking for an xbox with a liteon drive that can still be flashed with the use of a probe and such.
    I know there are specific versions and manufacturing dates to look for but I'm not sure which. And I don't know where to look either on the packaging.

Googling did not help me find an answer to this question.

Anyway, hope someone can help me out with this [​IMG]

2. FAST6191

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip
    United Kingdom
    You should be able to see the sticker on the back of the 360 for manufacturing date- it is not a sure fire thing but it is the best we have.

The 84xxxxx v1 series appeared in late June and needs nothing more than a compatible sata card (the 7 series still needs a probe which you already have so no worries there).

The 8xxxxx v2 and 9 series appeared in late October and these are the ones that require the soldering and trace cutting.

Oh and picture you want to see:
    http://img5.imageshack.us/img5/9580/dsc04475n.jpg

3. The_Hulkster
    OP

Great! Thank you so much for the info!

So I should be looking for a box with a manufacturing date from before September or something?
    Are there any boxes still out there with a 84 v1 series or perhaps a 7 series?

Or are almost all of them 8 v2 and 9 series?

4. FAST6191

pip
    United Kingdom