?

Should I add some Demo Projects?

Poll closed Feb 16, 2018.
  1. yes

    94.4%
  2. no

    5.6%
  1. SjorsMaster

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Mind pushing your project to Git?
    I'll take a look at it for you.
     
  2. XenonHatcher

    XenonHatcher Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's just a simple test involving an animated torus. It has no controls. Just the torus and a camera. I wanted to try and compile a test first before trying to make a game. I don't know how to push projects onto Git, so I've uploaded the project file.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. SjorsMaster

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'll take a look at it for you tomorrow.
     
  4. SjorsMaster

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    Netherlands
    First of all, Haven't had a lot of time to look into it yet, my appologies.

    I wanna check some things with you real quick.

    Noticed that your icon was empty, is this also the case on your end?

    I also noticed that you were using the latest version of Unity for 3DS.
    There were some issues regarding this version of Unity, For example, it doesn't compile the banners and icons properly.

    Does it only happen when you compile?

    If this is the case,
    It might be that the banners/icons aren't compiling correctly.
    You can build them separately through the NW4C_TextureConverter.exe tool (available as part of the NintendoWare for CTR package).
    Alternatively you could also build your project in 5.6.6f2 and grab the CTEX file from <project_directory>\Temp\StagingArea\Banner\Model\COMMON\Textures\COMMON1.ctex.

    I recommend 5.6.6f2 right now in general as it's more stable, sadly, it's missing quite a few features.

    Did you also run "SetupEnvironment.wsf" (C:\Nintendo\<installation>)


    Hope to hear from you soon!
     
  5. XenonHatcher

    XenonHatcher Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've managed to solve the issue of compiling. I ran the "SetupEnvironment.wsf" file. Either that was what fixed it, or adding the 3DSBanner when initially creating the project rather than adding it in later.

    It successfully compiled, but the game's on a completely black background and the torus is completely white. It also seems to be trailing as well.
     
  6. SjorsMaster

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Please follow the 3ds' docs camera setup, don't know it from the top of my head.
    You can find a manual on developer.nintendo.com under the 3ds section, manual, and then "setting up scene". Something like that.

    Pretty sure it has to do with the render distance being too far but I could be wrong at that, and I dont think it can do skyboxes well, the 3ds doesnt handle shaders, well.. at all. and that's essentially what the skybox is.
     
    XenonHatcher likes this.
  7. XenonHatcher

    XenonHatcher Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for helping me. I’ve been trying to find where that Unity documentation was for a long time. Now I’ve managed to get something running involving a full room, albeit at like 10 FPS. (The models are Switch-quality, which obviously causes that.) Still fun to mess around with.

    Thank you again.
     
  8. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Argentina
    wait, do i need to pay anything to be able to use the nintendo 3DS thingy for unity? i develop on unity since a few years ago so if this is free i'll have my games running on 3DS pretty fast i'm super excited plz reply
     
    Tarmfot likes this.
  9. NiHuShu

    NiHuShu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Poland
    No, just go to Nintendo Developer site, register there, find instruction on the page and all needed files are on their site

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Also you can download N3DS for Unity 2.0 which works with Unity 2017.2.5f1
     
  10. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Argentina
    ok i managed to get everything running. A few suggestions to anyone who is just starting:
    • don't turn on the "make CIA on build". That CIA is useless. Use "3DS Simple CIA Converter v5.0". Rename the CCI file into 3DS, and then convert to CIA. That works.
    • use mobile shaders, otherwise everything will look fucked up.
    • make sure to have two cameras, and set up each one for "upper LCD" and "lower LCD". Otherwise by default the upper screen gets copied onto the lower, but with some glitches
    That's about all the advice i can give. Anyone figured out how to use other shaders? i'd like to use an outline shader like in pokemon... or.. have shadows. For some reason i don't have shadows.
     
  11. SjorsMaster

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    Netherlands
    From my understanding, both the wii u and 3ds do not support shaders in Unity.
     
  12. Voxel

    Voxel Master of moonjumps
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    5,358
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That CIA which Unity makes will work. You just need to enable UNITINFO in Luma3DS settings, which lets you install dev-encrypted CIAs. It'll make it much easier than converting from CCI to CIA manually with other tools.

    Vertex and fragment shaders are definitely supported on Wii U, the only thing that won't work are fixed function shaders.
    3DS on the other hand supports vertex shaders, but fragment shaders are very limited because they end up being converted into texture combiners (The 3DS GPU has no programmable fragment pipeline, only fixed). Image effect shaders aren't supported at all though, unlike Wii U.

    I will say, on Unity 3DS, sometimes custom shaders don't compile properly at build time, and initially end up only showing up as white on real hardware. I've found re-importing the whole project and deleting the 'Library' folder in the project folder does the trick, but you have to do it every time you make a new shader. This is with Unity 5.4.5 by the way; I tend to steer clear of the new 5.6.X and 2017 versions as the overhaul of the shader system they did had broke a lot of my custom shaders, even when reimporting and deleting the Library folder as I did before.
     
  13. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Argentina
    so how would you go to make any shader that works on 3ds? i don't really know how to write shaders, but knowing exactly what shouldn't be done or used could help to see if the shaders i download or copy from somewhere would work, or how to tweak them into working. I don't wanna do anything fancy. Just a cell shaded look, an outline, stuff like that.
     
  14. LoneDev

    LoneDev Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Italy
    @Keksfresser
    So this won't work with latest Unity 3D?
    I tried installing Unity 5 and Unity 2017 but I still don't see 3DS in build options..
    I made sure to install everything following nintendo dev website tutorial but with no luck.
    I also made sure to activate with correct license code.

    Any idea?
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2019
  15. xXDungeon_CrawlerXx

    xXDungeon_CrawlerXx GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    You need to install Unity 5 or Unity 2017 and the Plugin for your Unity Version.
    You can find the Plugin for Unity 5 in:
    DEVELOPER SUPPORT => Nintendo 3DS => Downloads => Unity for N3DS 1.3.6 (20190613)

    and the Plugin for Unity 2017 in
    DEVELOPER SUPPORT => Nintendo 3DS => Downloads => Unity for N3DS 2.0.1 (20190410)

    If the Build Options still don't show 3ds as build option, you did something wrong.
     
  16. LoneDev

    LoneDev Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Italy
    I followed every step of the tutorial and installed the right Unity for N3DS version.
    I think problem is that I have multiple unity 3d installs and two licenses.. I think that messes up Unity.
    I'll try on a clean PC, thanks
     
  17. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Argentina
    So, i was working on my game and for no apparent reason the skybox started looking like garbage. It looks like crystal shards that rearrange a couple times per second.
    I'm using the 3DS_Skybox shader that a while ago was working just fine, and on the Skybox Example comes with the N3DS SDK (where i got it from), still works.

    I tried a lot of things to see if it fixes and none seemed to work, all i can do is go back to my backup of the project which obviously clears the bug, but as soon as i try to remake the last changes, it shows up again and i can't undo it.

    The changes, if it helps narrow down the problem, are the following:
    • A clock (a couple sprites + script) the script runs a coroutine that moves the clock's pointer every few seconds.. it's a clock duh. And when the hour goes past certain point, it modifies the directional light's color and the rendersettings.skybox.color (also tried with the material.color but didn't work, tried commenting this part but the bug persists)
    • small replacements of one sprite for another on the UI
    • double BGM, one for daytime and one for nightime, with a script that links to the clock and checks if it's already nighttime or not, then turns one volume down and the other up

    Any ideas would be appreciated. I'm stuck here with this bug.
     
  18. lyokohack

    lyokohack Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    France
    Hi

    what are these plugins doing?

    does it have a relationship with the function of the image of a comercial console?
     
  19. BEEMOO

    BEEMOO Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2019
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Sorry I can't help you since this isn't my expertise but it would help if you upload your code to github so people could help you. Good luck with your game! Can't wait to try it, ever haha
     
  20. IsaiahAngnakak

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    Unable to create banner and icon. I need help!! :ohnoes:

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Unable to create banner and icon
    "C:\Nintendo\3DS_Unity_Bulid\SDK\ctr_sdk\tools\CommandLineTools\ctr_makebanner32.exe" BannerSpec.bsf "C:\Users\Isaiah Angnakak\3DS_FINAL_2\Temp\StagingArea\Banner.bnr" "C:\Users\Isaiah Angnakak\3DS_FINAL_2\Temp\StagingArea\Icon.icn"

    stderr[
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Games, Unity,