Gecko 1.9.3.1 doesn't work on my 4.2U wii???

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Karen2756, Jan 13, 2011.

Jan 13, 2011
  1. Karen2756
    OP

Newcomer Karen2756 Newbie

Canada
    Hi everyone! Newbie here! yaywii.gif

I have a soft-modded wii (4.2U) with HBC and USB Loader and also NeoGamma. I bought EA Sports ACTIVE 2 last week and the game requires an update to be able to even dream playing it..... I know I SHOULDN'T do that update so I went looking for solutions... I discovered your forum!

There is a thread on the subject already but it seems dead, so I try to bring the subject back to life as I REALLYYYYYYYYYYY need your help!

The guys in the thread said that by installing Gecko they could play the game without doing the dreaded update.... So I tried it! But it doesn't seem to work...

I downloaded the latest Gecko (the one I have to use) put it on my sd card and loaded it through HBC... All I get is a black screen.... Nothing happens!!! It doesn't work!

Can someone help me???? Pretty please??? I really need Gecko to make my game work!!!!!!!! angry.gif

Thanks in advance....

2. Shano56

Member Shano56 noobie

United States
    Black screens can mean a lot of things, but usually it means missing IOS. Use dop-mii or a similar program to make sure you have IOS56.

3. Karen2756
    OP

Canada
    ok... forgive the newbie question, but can I download the ios56 as a wad and install it with wad manager??? I do not have Dop-Mii...

I also forgot to say my wii isn't connected to the internet....

4. vpd

Member vpd GBAtemp Regular

United Kingdom
    Yes, use ModMii to get wads of any IOS's you may need.

*EDIT* and use something like priiloader to block updates.

5. Karen2756
    OP

Canada
    Thank you VPD, I'm gonna try this for sure... I hope it makes my Gecko work!!!

6. Lacius

Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

United States