GCOS as a Wii app?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Jm9760, Jun 15, 2008.

Jun 15, 2008

GCOS as a Wii app? by Jm9760 at 1:17 AM (4,440 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, here's my situation. I have a modded gamecube, but a normal wii. So I have a bunch of gamecube backups that I can only play on my gamecube, but not on my wii. Would it be possible for GCOS to be made into a .elf file and run through the homebrew channel in order to play gamecube backups without a chip?
     


  2. KrashLF

    Newcomer KrashLF Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Germany
    No, the unmodded Wii won't read the burned discs.
     
  3. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    But that's what GCOS allows. On a gamecube you can use a softmod to load GCOS and then it will read the burned games. Is the wii different?...If it was run in gamecube mode I would think it would be exactly the same.

    EDIT: Actually I know the wii can read burned discs because the sd media launcher can be used to run GCOS and then backups on wii.
     
  4. KrashLF

    Newcomer KrashLF Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Germany
    Mkay, these are new information for me. Good to know. =)
     
  5. Arakon

    Member Arakon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Germany
    gamecube software can't be launched as a channel, since channels always run in wii mode.
     
  6. shred6waves

    Member shred6waves GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    United States
    arent ".dol" files gamecube files? they can be launched in the HBC
     
  7. deba94

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If you don't believe him, why don't you just inject the .dol yourself?
     
  8. shred6waves

    Member shred6waves GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    United States
    i dont know anything about that or else id try [​IMG]
    i was just thinking it COULD be possible because the wii can run GCN homebrew, but then again, i dont really know much about coding and all that good stuff
     
  9. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    gamecube homebrew can only be run from a disc, not a channel. so nope won't be possible!
     
  10. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    but can't gamecube games be streamed from SD? (SDgecko that is).

    why not homebrew lol?

    (just making a point, i trust you guys that it isn't possible. besides i dont know why im posting here i don't even have a wii hahaha [​IMG])
     
  11. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    So no gamecube-mode homebrew can be run on a wii unless it's modded? Not even with an sd gecko?
     
  12. Arakon

    Member Arakon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Germany
    .dol is a file extension and a format, it isn't exclusive to wii or GC. that's like saying you can play VC games in doom cause doom uses .wad too.
     
  13. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    AFAIK the SD slots are off in gamecube mode. also, you don't have a network adaptor in gamecube mode.. USB is not enabled, and the gamecube doesn't do wifi so no streaming whatsoever
     
  14. Fat Slaughter Ba

    Newcomer Fat Slaughter Ba Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    SDGecko uses the GC MemCard slot, and yes, there is a program that boots GCN ISOs.
    You need a USBGecko or an SDGecko, I forget which one [​IMG]
     
  15. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    .dol is a Gamecube (Dolphin) executable file. Your comparison to .wad files is erroneous.

    Running GCOS or the Wii's own GameCube emulation to execute as part of a user created channel and read Gamecube backups is very possible, it just hasn't been coded yet. It's possible that the code to read gamecube backups on the Wii already exists and won't be released by those with the knowledge to do it because of their stance against piracy.
     
  16. denzil

    Newcomer denzil Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Please stop making up stuff.
     
  17. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yeah THAT is possible. But that's already in gamecube mode, not in wii mode, so can't run it as a wii app.
     
  18. Totakeke

    Newcomer Totakeke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I posted about a method I heard worked a long time ago, but received rude remarks. People should learn that asking for that stuff here is like putting a red sign on your forehead that spells "FLAME ME." Ironic, given the eagerness of the the majority of GBATemp users to pirate VC and Wiiware games. Just don't bother asking for it. There are hypocrites just waiting to attack you.

    The method I posted about can be found here, by the way, but it requires a Max Drive Pro. Not sure if the Max Drive Pro disc has also been blocked like the AR disc was.
    http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=15482
     
  19. denzil

    Newcomer denzil Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    The method you refer to is about loading Gamecube software, in Gamecube mode, or on an actual Gamecube. Whereas this thread revolves around achieving the same on a fully enabled Wii. It is of no use in this case.
     
  20. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, thanks. I already knew about this but I was just wondering if GCOS, which this allows to load, could me made into an app that could be launched straight from the wii instead of requiring a disc like this or the sd media launcher.
     

Share This Page