GCN XENO modchip doesn't turn green light.

Dudumendes

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 24, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Location
Sintra, Abrunheira
XP
25
Country
Portugal
So, I have a Nintendo Gamecube with a XENO modchip installed. A few years ago, the chip worked perfectly fine, but now I've decided to turn on the GameCube and the green light never turns on, only the red light stays on. When I launch an official Nintendo game, it works normally, but after some time, like 15 minutes, an error appears. Can anyone help me?

Duarte Mendes.
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
10,792
Trophies
1
XP
6,347
Country
United States
So, I have a Nintendo Gamecube with a XENO modchip installed. A few years ago, the chip worked perfectly fine, but now I've decided to turn on the GameCube and the green light never turns on, only the red light stays on. When I launch an official Nintendo game, it works normally, but after some time, like 15 minutes, an error appears. Can anyone help me?

Duarte Mendes.
Reflow your solder joints?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kopimist

Dudumendes

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 24, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Location
Sintra, Abrunheira
XP
25
Country
Portugal
Hi, sorry I'm late, but look, I soldered the cables again, and guess what, it worked. Thank you for your help. By the way, my Gamecube can read bigger DVD's, do you think it's considered a rare item?
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
10,792
Trophies
1
XP
6,347
Country
United States
Hi, sorry I'm late, but look, I soldered the cables again, and guess what, it worked. Thank you for your help. By the way, my Gamecube can read bigger DVD's, do you think it's considered a rare item?
Nope as burning disc's is not used really anymore as there is better non hardmod methods now
 

master801

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
485
Trophies
0
XP
1,135
Country
United States
Hi, sorry I'm late, but look, I soldered the cables again, and guess what, it worked. Thank you for your help. By the way, my Gamecube can read bigger DVD's, do you think it's considered a rare item?
Depends. If you have the full size case made by Qoob and Viper, I'd say it's rare since not many were made / sold.

If it's just the top case removed, then definitely not rare.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KleinesSinchen

Hanafuda

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
3,540
Trophies
1
XP
4,560
Country
United States
So, I have a Nintendo Gamecube with a XENO modchip installed. A few years ago, the chip worked perfectly fine, but now I've decided to turn on the GameCube and the green light never turns on, only the red light stays on. When I launch an official Nintendo game, it works normally, but after some time, like 15 minutes, an error appears. Can anyone help me?

Duarte Mendes.


Buy a GC Loader and an SD2SP2. Seriously.

You will no longer have any need for a modchip. Or memory cards. Or even the discs. And you'll have in-game reset / return to game menu on Gamecube. (On Gameboy player, you can reset a game if the original GBA allows the hotkey for it, but AFAIK you have to physically reboot the Gamecube to get back to Swiss.)

I had a XenoGC installed for years. Well, still do, but it's on the optical drive in a box now.

I bought the GC Loader, SD2SP2, and a Retro-Bit Prism for my GC, and now I am playing on it constantly. You can PM me if you want more info.
 

Dudumendes

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 24, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Location
Sintra, Abrunheira
XP
25
Country
Portugal
Buy a GC Loader and an SD2SP2. Seriously.

You will no longer have any need for a modchip. Or memory cards. Or even the discs. And you'll have in-game reset / return to game menu on Gamecube. (On Gameboy player, you can reset a game if the original GBA allows the hotkey for it, but AFAIK you have to physically reboot the Gamecube to get back to Swiss.)

I had a XenoGC installed for years. Well, still do, but it's on the optical drive in a box now.

I bought the GC Loader, SD2SP2, and a Retro-Bit Prism for my GC, and now I am playing on it constantly. You can PM me if you want more info.
Nah, my GCN is now working, I don't need a loader, but anyway thanks for the tip, although I most likely won't use
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Spring_Spring @ Spring_Spring: and post it uwu