GC Homebrew on Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by dsliteboy, Oct 10, 2007.

Oct 10, 2007

GC Homebrew on Wii by dsliteboy at 8:04 AM (914 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. dsliteboy
    OP

    Newcomer dsliteboy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Sorry I am new to the WII scene but an old hand at most other consoles ...

    I have read most appropriate threads but could not find my answer, and I need to know it pretty quickly, hence the post

    Basically I bought a pre-modded wii with wiikey yesterday, but it does not seem to load the backups. The seller explained the backups might not have been burned at the right speed, hence the WII error popping up.

    My questions
    1) After reading a thread, someone posted that once you have a properly prepared backup, you can merely make a backup of it, using nero etc -- Mine fails hence I assume the backup is no good - Can someone confirm please ?

    2) I downloaded the wiikey 1.2 disk, and it seemed to boot and get me to the wiikey menu. I am trying to check whether the wiikey is indeed installed. Hence if I can get to the wiikey menu, does it mean the wiikey is present, or can one run homebrew on an unmodded wii

    many thanks for taking the time to try and help
     
  2. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    use imgburn to burn stuff, and burn it at 4X
     
  3. berlinka

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    - Try using good quality DVD's
    - Try using IMGburn to burn the iso's

    That's all I can think of.
     
  4. dsliteboy
    OP

    Newcomer dsliteboy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Hi thanks for the reply will try that tonight

    Can you confirm the second questions please (ie im trying to find out if the wiikey has been installed) - Will gamecube homebrew run on an unmodded wii ?

    thanks
     
  5. darkgunsou86

    Newcomer darkgunsou86 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Country:
    Malaysia
    It will run if your wii's firmware if not 3.0 or above. examples are action replay.
     

Share This Page